We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Large studio flat in Cuenca's historic district

Cobblestone courtyard and garden
Cobblestone courtyard and garden
Cobblestone courtyard and garden
Stairway to the second floor studios
Spanish-style portal
Part of the garden
The listed studio and its balcony
Cuenca
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
751Robert...
Guayama, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Pumamaqui Accommodations is a beautifully-restored Ecuadorian home in the middle of Cuenca's historic district where we received a warm welcome by owner Stuart White and wife. The large, single king-size bed, condo flat with kitchenette and bath met and exceeded our expectations for the price range. Stu is a great host who will go out of his way to make you feel at home--he will welcome you with a beautiful bouquet of fresh flowers! He will introduce you to the other guests at the house and you can get acquainted in the cozy interior patio. Our stay was memorable. We will definitely return to Pumamaqui in the near future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The architecture created a warm, tropical environment even though the temperature never rose above 65 degrees.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike, really, although older travelers and people with disabilities should inquire before booking as three of the four apartments are on the building's second story and there is no elevator.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Richard R
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“At home in Cuenca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
7
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a month in one of the four very comfortable suites that form part of this beautifully restored building. Ideally located for exploring El Centro and at the same time perfect for providing an oasis of calm in the vibrant and busy city.

Our suite was well appointed with a comfortable bed, inviting linens, a comprehensive kitchen and good wifi and TV connections. Even a comfortable armchair that appeared out of the blue one afternoon.

The courtyard garden immediately transports guests to an Andean mountain meadow, and provides a great venue for reading, contemplation, sharing a bottle (box) of wine and meeting other guests.

It was all grand, and it all pales in comparison to the hosts, Patricia and Stu. Great couple who are determined to look after your needs.

Don't look any further, this is the best place to stay in Cuenca. My wife and I hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Phil A
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Location and Best Vacation Rental In Cuenca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Behind the door on a charming street in El Centro, you will find this wonderful vacation rental. The building was fully restored housing several apartments around a beautiful courtyard. We rented one on the second floor with a fully equipped kitchen, cozy living room, and a loft bedroom upstairs. The owners Stu and Patricia used adobe brick to completely restore the building. The apartment had so much character; it was cool, hip, and comfortable all at the same time. One other added important feature. The compound has a large washer and dryer which is free to use anytime and the owners even provide the laundry detergent. We took full advantage. When we arrived, Stu was gracious enough to provide us some cheese, bread, cookies, and a bouquet of flowers. How nice was that?

The location in Cuenca could not be better. We were surroounded by great restaurants, bars, and within short walking distance to all the sites in central Cuenca. We had a delightful time and you will too if you decide to stay there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Amenities and the location
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ssf_papea
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place and Wonderful Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This studio apartment was ideal for my stay in Cuenca. It has all the amenities, charm, and terrific location in the historic center of the city; and is nicely sized as well. The gallery in the front of the house is an added plus. The owner is an exceptionally thoughtful man, especially because i injured myself while in Cuenca, and he checked on me daily to see if there was anything i needed. Stay here - you'll love it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mick
Il
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DAG814
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This small group of studio apartments around an absolutely glorious courtyard was everything you could want - ample space, a full kitchen with everything you need, a wonderful bathroom - a totally comfortable home away from home. And owner Stuart White was extremely gracious - changing out light bulbs because I found some too dim. And ever providing me with a comfortable armchair just for asking. You know you're in the right place when you arrive to find a fresh loaf of French bread, cheese, and biscuits/cookies -- plus a lovely vase full of fresh flowers. Add to that a location in a very quiet section of El Centro within an easy walk to the center or town, to grocery shopping, plus bus and taxi service just steps away. Thanks, Stuart - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and beautiful courtyard
Liked least: Stairs without railings
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HansnIngr...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looks amazing on-line, even better in person!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at one of the lofts for 16 nights. The location is perfect and within walking distance to Calle Larga and the downtown core (Parque Calderon). The set up of the building is like a courtyard, and is welcoming from the second you walk in. Stuart has thought of absolutely every single detail for his guests: from a small flash light on the key chain to kitchen gadgets like a cork screw and can opener. Stuart even came with cold medicine when we told him I got sick! He is happy to share information and give suggestions. The immediate impression we got was that it was cozy, extremely clean and well thought out. We are a well traveled couple and I cannot think of a single recommendation I could make to improve the loft. It was perfect, we had friends visit us at the loft and they too were impressed by it all. When we go back, this is the only place we'd consider. It was worth every penny.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$41
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Stuart W
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Nov 2013
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a week
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing