We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unagi teppanyaki & sushibar - CLOSED

Unagi teppanyaki & sushibar
Eduardo Crespo Malo (Subida de la Cuadra) Edificio Terra Segundo Piso | Calle Secundaria: Gran Colombia (Zona Rosa), Cuenca EC010114, Ecuador
+593 99 679 4933
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is by far the best sushi place in Cuenca!! The sushi is creative and the fish is fresh!! I also like this restaurant because they are always happy to accommodate my toddlers eating habits. She loves sushi but they make her rolls using only the fish and vegetables she likes. It makes going out that much of a nicer experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“On a roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This sushi restaurant is far and away better than Sakura which moved but did not improve. The special the night we were there was 2 for 1 traditional rolls. They were fresh, large and served by a young man with excellent English. The udon was freshly made and very traditional. The next time we visit this restaurant, which is just down the hill from the Quadra edificios, we will try the tempura appetizers. Even with a half order, the udon soup was very filling and tasty. The presentation of all the dishes was first rate. The early bird specials from 6 to 8 is a real deal. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unagi Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is hands downs the absolute BEST Japanese restaurant in Cuenca. They have limited raw fish offerings, but what they have is fresh and EXECELLENT! Great selection of rolls, many of which include cooked items. I am a hard core sashimi lover and that of Unagi is GREAt! I live in Cuenca and have tried all the Japanese restaurants, and none are even close to this one!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good sushi, decent value, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We tried this place and sakura while we were in cuenca and definitely preferred unagi for food, service, atmosphere and value. We spent more or less the same amount: at Sakura we got two rolls, at unagi four rolls, a tempura appetizer and, due to the Wednesday promotion, two glasses of wine.

The rolls were fine, not the best I've ever had, but after not having sushi for months it hit the spot. The atmosphere and service were good. The rolls at unagi tended to fall apart, but the ones at sakura were primarily rice with very little filling.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitou Springs Co
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I love sushi rolls and this restaurant is good. We enjoyed the food and those serving us. They were all very nice. I think their prices are fair and presentation is very pretty.
Much better than Sukura.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago V, Owner at Unagi teppanyaki & sushibar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We really appreciate your comments, we are trying to be better every day for our clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unagi teppanyaki & sushibar also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unagi teppanyaki & sushibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.