We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Villa Del Rosario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Villa Del Rosario to your Saves list
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Honorato Vasquez 5-25 y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca 593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Cuenca
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We wound up staying at Villa de Rosario for 16 days! It was like living at home. We were in the 4 person room (2 people) for the first week, then in the smaller shared bathroom. For one night we stayed at an apartment down the street that she owns, but we decided to move back to the hostel because the apartment was too noisy, and she had no problem with that. The location is perfect right in the middle of town and it is not difficult to find (like one review says). It really couldn't be easier to find. The woman who owns the place is the sweetest, nicest person in Cuenca. She even invited us to her daughter's Christmas party at the hostel, we wine and catered food. Rooms are comfortable and clean. She will give you clean towels and soap as often as you want. Kitchen is very functional, and dining area is large. We always had hot water.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa fl
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here in for one night, On the plus side,,,the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable. It is a little hard to find, even for the cab driver...once there, however it is relatively close to everything. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the main square and closer to the river. It is quiet and small...if you want a lively atmosphere there are other options in town. The owners are very sweet...they are still renovating many parts of the historic villa so, there was some minor work going on when we were there. The garden in the courtyard is lovelyThe internet is free and reliable.
On the down side...for a hostel (in Ecuador) it was a little pricey...and while we were supposed to have our own bathroom (shared between the 4 of us)...we did not. Also, we were charged extra for a so-so breakfast which was supposed to be included in the price of the room.We would have breakfasted elsewhere had we known we would be charged.
Quite a few Spanish students were staying here...it is probably a good deal for an extended stay. However for a short visit, I would recommend staying closer into town--it appeared there were other options at about the same price point.
BTW we are fluent in Spanish so language is not an issue but, many of the English only guests had a hard time communicating and asked us to translate as only one of the owners speaks passable English...and she is not there all the time

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stumbled across this hostal quite by accident as we had arrived in Cuenca without anywhere booked, and I can honestly say we couldn´t have found better if we had tried! The hostal is in a perfect location, in a beautiful colonial buiding right in the old town, just a few blocks from the centre two blocks from the river and only one block from the main nightlife area, but far enough away to be able to rest in perfect silence. The people at the hostal were incredibly hospitable, providing us with a room and making us a deliciouseven though we had turned up without warning at 7am. The beds are comfy and the hostal has a wonderful cosy feel with an unlimited supply of tea and coffee free. All for an absolute bargain price! Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samar Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hostal Villa del Rosario for a month and we don't have one complaint. They have different room set-ups to fit your needs- from private bath to dorm rooms. The rooms are all well maintained and clean. There are two lounge areas- one in the back and one in the front. You can access free WiFi from the front lounge area. There is hot water for showers 24/7. They also have free coffee and tea. There is a communal kitchen, with a stove, refrigerator, and everything.

The owners are all very friendly and helpful. They make sure that you are comfortable and they are ready to give you advice when you need it (where to eat, what to see, etc.). It will help to learn some Spanish as they don't speak much English. But they are awesome people.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone who plans to make a trip to Cuenca. It's located in the historic center of town, so it is close to everything.

Rooms with private baths are $10 per person, and rooms without a private bath are $8 per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Villa de Rosario is a new budget hostal (in a 300 year old house) run by a warm, caring Ecuadorian family that lives next door but drops in several times a day to chat with the guests ,and is available at other times as needed. In some ways the Villa de Rosario is like a traditional Chinese courtyard house. I stayed for 40 days in July and August 2011 while studying at the Amauta Spanish Language School (located three blocks away). The hostal is convenient to both the touristy Calle Largo and the central historical district (many restaurants and cafes in both areas), but is on a quiet street. There is a range of rooms, about half with private baths, some with single or double beds and others with dormitory style arrangements. Prices are very competitive with other budget hostal options nearby, but I think the rooms and ambiance are much nicer. There are discounts for long-term, multi-week residency, though Spanish language students should deal directly (by email ahead of time, if possible, or in person, if not) with the family, and not go through their language school, since some language schools will charge students a considerable additional amount per day just for making reservations. Compared with a distant family arrangement I once had in Guatemala, the Villa de Rosario family (both the husband and wife and the daughter) were more than willing to converse in Spanish and share their insights. Most rooms are on the ground floor around either a central garden or a large "backyard" patio with tables and chairs. There are three areas available to talk, read or study, including one looking out on the garden. I stayed in room #3 with a private bath, a good bed, and of good size. Availability of various rooms will, of course, depend on the number of guests on arrival, unless you've booked ahead. But most tourists stay only a day or two, so longer term residents certainly could choose eventually among the more desirable rooms, including rooms with private baths. Oh yes, there is a kitchen for those who want to cook or eat in. You can ask about airport or bus station transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with private baths: #3 or the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Villa Del Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Del Rosario

Address: Honorato Vasquez 5-25 y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HostelVilla del Rosario is located old colonial house that has been completely restored and remodeled. It is situaded on the historical center of the city. Where visitors will fell comfortable in a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Villa Del Rosario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Villa Del Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.