We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing way to unwind and detox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa

Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa
Paseo de la Guadalupana, Cuenca, Ecuador | In Parrish Banos, Cuenca, Ecuador
7 2892496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Activities in Cuenca
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A relaxing way to unwind and detox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I, along with two friends, went for the day and were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed the experience. We plan to go back once a month or so to detox and relax. It was very clean, and although we went on a day when they were working on several sections, we never felt stressed. A person is assigned to each person/group to walk them through the 2-3 hours experience (for the whole package), and we felt very well taken care of. The surroundings are beautiful. Only one thing we would change: There are no private showers, which is something we'd appreciate having.

We had lunch there and enjoyed their version of vegetarian ceviche, a sandwich and mushroom soup. Our friend had a massage, which he enjoyed and helped to finish up his relaxing experience.

We'd recommend bringing your own small lock for the lockers. Although the staff will lock your space with a zip-tie, it's nice to be able to access your stuff when needed. You can take your valuables to the front desk and they will take care of them for you. Also, as is detoxifying, it's important to drink plenty of water during the day and after, so your body can properly flush out the toxins. It's also very important to rest as needed.

All-in-all, this is something we plan on repeating as often as we can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    38
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Package good but DONT pay for massage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After backpacking for quite a while, this should have been the day for a real treatment. As it was my boyfriends birthday we booked the 30$ "SPA" package including a 20$ partial massage. First, they sent us to the massage. As my boyfriend had back tension we asked the reception about the background of their employees. The assured, the only have well trained therapists. We went into a cave were we both got our massages. I was quite satisfied with my massage, not the best ever, but okay. However, my boyfriends massage was worth nothing. As i could also hear, because we shared the same room, he asked the "therapist" several times to go "mas fuerte". Would you spend 20$ for a "therapist" who just puts some lotion on? I think, there is another review which refers to the same problem. If you really feel like having a massage here, ask for the name of the "therapist" and do not accept a lady called Veronica/Valeria.
We let the lady at the reception know about our experience, requested to have a chat to the management. We got a free cake as a sorry and probably also because of my BF birthday. It was not possible to talk to the management instead they gave us the general e-mail we can write to. Which we did and even after 1 week, there is no answer.
However, the second part of our stay was worth the money. Just a hint, do not take a nice swimsuit with you because there is a red mud pool and even tough we tried to get the mud out of our suits at the end of the treatment, we were not able to completely remove it.
All in all a nice day, with a big disappointment in between.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just what was needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We are backpacking through Ecuador and this spa day was just what we needed to relax our muscles and clear our mind! We bought a package which I can highly recommend doing. The alternative is to pay 10 bucks for just 3 pools. But since the pools are outdoors and cuenca is quite cool, I definitely recommend the steam rooms and saunas plus the mud baths which are just amazing. The service is wonderful! The people are so friendly and customer orientated. Do watch your step - the rocks are either a bit slippery or plain sharp.
There are lockers but you need to bring your own lock. We were really happy to be one of the few ones there today. At some point there was a group of loud and obnoxious retired tourists. Luckily they didn't stay too long!! Even though there are signs to please be quiet no one seems to read them
In any case ill definitely recommend my friends and also look forward to going back one day again soon!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was just as relaxing as a day being pampered at my favourite day spa in Vancouver. The atmosphere was amazingly calm and we were taken very good care of. The staff speaks English. It was a great family outing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Terrace

Thank you so much for your kindly title, in fact many tourist in Cuenca come to Baños to enjoy a "must do" experience in Piedra de Agua.

We hope to be referred to your friends and why not, to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everyone should spend a day here. One certain days it's only $10 per person. Just walking up to the spa is fun. There are tools and other things placed in the walkway...it was fun going from one to the next to see if we could find them all. The spa was wonderful. The steam bath was great. The warm and hot pool felt great...the cold pool was a challenge but at least I can say I did it! We will be going here a lot more. We took the bus for .25 cents. Can't beat that!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Tania

Thank you so much, we hope to have you here again soon, if you enjoyed only the pools and the exterior thermas, we strongly recommend you the entire spa or even better our packs. We garante that you will find the most relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa also viewed

 

Been to Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piedra de Agua - Fuente Termal & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.