We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Aguila

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Aguila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariscal Sucre 13 - 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca EC010111, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Cuenca
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After driving 10 hours from Banos due to our rental car breaking down, my family with two young children were more than happy to check into this colonial mansion. Despite not having a restaurant that serves dinner on site, the reception helped us to order pizza, which was delivered in 20 minutes. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the lovely courtyard with access to outdoor patios. The hotel had plenty of spaces for the children to explore, and our room was large enough to accommodate a king bed and table / chairs for a pleasant lunch of rotisserie chicken bought at a nearby vendor; with sunlight streaming through large french windows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear RowenaLee

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to Casa del Aguila on your recent stay in Cuenca. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments here.

We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
69
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed over at Hotel Casa del Águila on a Saturday night during a holiday weekend. The staff was very accommodating about storing our bags from the time of our early arrival until official check-in and also from check-out until our late evening departure; they also didn't mind giving us access to the bags to get some things we'd forgotten. The room was well designed for a non-couple, with the beds organized in two separate "wings" that gave a bit of privacy. The decoration is tasteful and comfortable, with an overall peaceful atmosphere. Bathroom with good water pressure and plenty of hot water in the shower (something that can never be taken for granted in a colonial building!). There was no hairdryer or iron but we didn't need them and didn't inquire if they were available at reception. We found the wifi to be reliable and reasonably fast (by Ecuadorian standards). Breakfast, served at an outdoor patio, was varied and satisfying, and even included delicious humitas. The beds were comfortable and the bedding immaculate. The lighting in the room was also very good and indirect, which made for comfortable reading in bed. Our room was on the ground floor, inward-facing toward the patio. Our only discomfort was that we were awakened early by the sounds of a family in the echo-chamber of the central patio (the price one pays for the beautiful, colonial design). Those who are early risers or heavy sleepers wouldn't find this to be much of a problem. The location of the hotel is convenient for tourism in Cuenca; just a couple of blocks from the San Sebastián plaza (nice cafés) and a few more blocks from the central Plaza Calderón or the Tomebamba River walk. All in all, it was a great stay, we would stay again and recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Cheri

We highly appreciate your kind words and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Casa del Aguila. We were glad to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again into our hotel.

Sincerely

Hotel Casa del Águila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Casa Del Aguila is a typical colonial mansion with many courtyards and terraces with beautiful views. It's only a short walk to the center of Cuenca, and is in a safe neighborhood. Room 16 was very nice, with two sets of french windows. I first checked in to Room 18, but had to move because the window did not open. I prefer fresh air.

Daniela at the front desk was very helpful and professional. She spoke perfect English and helped me with several plans. Her mother, Susana, is a certified national guide and gave me the best tour I had in all of Ecuador. We saw the city, a ceramics studio, and an Incan ruin. She speaks flawless English.

There was a gap, though, with two of the night staff. I requested an English speaking guide and driver to visit Chordeleg and Gualaceo on a Sunday, but found the driver spoke absolutely no English. He was friendly, but with my limited Spanish, I know I missed some important things.
Admittedly, I wish I knew more Spanish and am going to study a bit harder before returning to Ecuador.

Request Susana for all your tours and day trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Falk

Thanks for your valuable time. It's really good to know that you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Aguila. Thanks for your kind message and for let us know about the tour. We'll consider this detail to improve our service.

Sincerely

Hotel Casa del Águila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Casa Del Aguila couldn't be lovelier, and thanks to a full restoration, bathroom fixtures are first class as well (often lacking in Colonial hotels). We enjoyed soaking up the ambiance, whether on one of the outdoor patios (located on all three floors), or the inner courtyard. Buffet breakfast is served off the ground floor garden terrace and was delicious. Each and every staff member was welcoming and friendly, and the reception staff provided any help we needed. We wanted to live there!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was quiet with a nice view of the inner courtyard and outside from the terrace, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Mr. Roznken

Thanks for your sincere words and for your time writing them. Each of our spaces was created with the idea of a cozy and relax environment, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed these little places. We hope you can visit us in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Casa del Aguila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with my family for the weekend during our visit to Cuenca. The place has a beautiful colonial charme with an inner patio and very comfortable rooms. The Staff was very welcoming and the hotel location is pretty close to the city center. My only observations are the lack of a restaurant and the pillows were not as comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed staying with us, and we thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We will consider those details that you mentioned, in order to improve our service.

We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!


Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Casa del Aguila is a restored colonial house full of antique furniture and paintings. The entrance is romantic with an interior patio with a fountain in the middle with floating rose petals and candles lined up along the entrance floor. There is also a small charming garden outside the breakfast room and you can eat inside or outside. The breakfast is complete and has a good variety of juices, bread, jams, yoghurt, eggs, sausages etc..
The rooms are small with wooden floors and radiators (worth noting as heating is a big plus) and the bathrooms are spacious and new with excellent showers and nice shampoo and conditioner. My only problem with the rooms is that they only put one bedside table and lamp near the bed so you have to fight with your partner over who gets the lamp. Such a small detail which could be improved.
We stayed at Casa del Aguila twice. The first time we were given a room on the first floor which was at the end of the corridor. Luckily there weren't many people in the hotel or it could have been noisy. We went away to another village for a night and before leaving reserved for the following night. We told the receptionist that it was our honeymoon and asked for the nicest room. When we came back they had put us on the third floor because it was more secluded (though the hotel was empty) and when we opened the door we found the bed covered in rose petals in the shape of flowers, a big bunch of long stemmed roses in a vase and in the bathroom there were petals in the sink, on the toilet lid and in the shower! We really appreciated the trouble they had gone to to decorate the room for us.
The other good thing about this hotel is that there are various communal spaces (all empty when we were there). There are different little rooms and outdoor terraces scattered along the corridors with bookshelves full of novels where you can sit and read and also a computer and printer you can use which we found useful.
This hotel was a little on the expensive side for us but we made the most of it and enjoyed the secret corners and romantic decor of candles, fountains and secret gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We were so glad to know that you enjoyed our different hotel areas and the honey moon details.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time sharing your feed-back and we truly hope to welcome you back soon .

Yours sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Nothing much to see from the outside but it is very nicely restored on the inside. However, we really felt that this was more a museum than a place to stay. We were put on the second floor - with NO lift even though we could see many empty rooms on both the the ground floor and 1st floor as all the rooms have windows opening inwards and all were actually open. Our room was tiny with a double bed squashed against the wall and really not much space atall. Staff were invisible apart a person behind the reception desk and breakfast was a ghostly happening with stuff just laid out for self service. We had dinner up the road in Mangiare which was wonderful and it is part of another hotel called Posada Del Angel which we discovered was slightly cheaper and for us, much nicer. Would not stay in the Cienega again but would definitely recommend the Posada del Angel and Mangiare.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a long way up, try to get a lower one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DympnaBrayIreland

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret that the hotel was not up to your expectations even though you liked the restauration. We would love the opportunity to change this first impression! Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 - 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca EC010111, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Aguila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.