We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Cuenca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Aguila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Aguila to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Aguila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariscal Sucre 13 - 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca EC010111, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cuenca
Claremont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in Cuenca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here with my parents for three nights. We all loved the hotel; it was clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The shower was great with hot water plenty of pressure. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear client

Read your comments make us feel good because you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Aguila. We are glad to hear that you and your familiy had a lovely stay, and we wanted to thank you for your opinions, for recomend us and for choosing us.

Kind regards.

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
89
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This 250 year old colonial house has been restored into boutique hotel close to the center of cuenca. Beds were comfortable, and rooms were spotless. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor in the back. The staff was helpful in giving directions and information on the sights of Cuenca. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Homer W.

Thank you so much for your important comments to our hotel. We highly appreciate your opinions and we'll be pleased that you visit us in a future ocassion. Don't hesitate to contact us for more information and thanks one more time.

Sincerely

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely hotel that looks and feels slightly more upscale but not too expensive for what you get. Just on the edges of the inner-town centre of this lovely little city (nice and quiet, 5 min walk to town). Just good quality. Good beds, amazing service. Breakfast is nothing special but probably better than in other places in Ecuador. Service with a smile though.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms can be nice but the front courtyard may be a bit noisy (although we had no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelAguila, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinion. We appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that you had a wonderful stay here. We hope you can come any time in the future. It was a pleasure to assist you.

Cynthia Chacón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Unique and with an amazing location, Casa del Aguila was a great surprise. Stayed there for 2 nights, right downtown (close to churches, restaurants and bars) loved the decoration of the hotel, the room was amazing and breakfast was delicious. The guys in the front desk can help you with maps, recommendations and tips in Cuenca, nice guys.

Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your important words. For us it is very nice to know that you enjoyed your experience here at Casa del Aguila, and that you liked the hotel decorations. We'll be pleased that you visit us any time in the future and that you can have a wonderful stay.

Sincerely

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

During a short stay in Cuenca we stayed at Casa del Aguila which surprised us very pleasantly. We highly appreciated the nicely preserved and tidy Hotel with its very helpful staff from the first to the last minute.
When booking through the hotel's website (no disclosure of credit card data required), you may get a better deal for having the breakfast included. Try to get room 18 (third floor), even though the neighbor's roosters may disturb you in the early morning hours...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Client

We highly appreciate your opinions and we also wanted to thank you for them. The entire staff was so glad to assist you and we look forward to have you here again.

Have a nice day.

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is very quaint and if you like the quiet this is the place for you. There is no TV in the room and hot water is iffy at best as we only got luke warm water for our shower this a.m Breakfast was good and beds and linen were comfy and clean. The only exception would be the neighbour's rooster that woke us up around 4:30am the first night. Just to let you know this Rooster is a local resident and not owned by the hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms without TV, be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear client

Thanks for your comments, these are very important and valuable for us. As regards the rooster we have solved that inconvenient with our neighbours who kindly told us that there won't be any problem with it. We thank your opinion and please don't hesitate to contact us if you require information.

Kind regards

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We decided to splurge on our trip in Ecuador for Christmas Eve and Day, so we booked the suite online based on the photos. It was a truly beautiful room, but in terms of what you think of when you hear "suite," it is quite different. While the room was beautiful and much larger than the other rooms, it was just a room. The room doesn't have a true bathroom, it has a toilet room when you first walk in, and then there is a stand up shower behind a decorative room divider on the other side of the room opposite the bed. The "suite" cost more than double the standard rooms, and we thought this was really overpriced compared to our experiences elsewhere in Ecuador. We talked with the owner and ended up negotiating what we thought was a more fair price after a bit of a struggle since it was Christmas Eve and we had nowhere else to go. So, we really did appreciate that he was willing to meet us in the middle. The hotel overall is truly beautiful, the lounge areas are stunning, but if you're going to stay here, just book the regular rooms unless money is no obstacle. If you're looking for a suite it would be worth looking into one of the other more upscale hotels nearby. As a side-note, the beds here were really comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear client

Thanks for your words and comments. It let us kow what things can be changed and what is neccesary to improve in our service. We're always open to any suggestion and thanks one more time for your valuabe opinion.

Greetings

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 - 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca EC010111, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Aguila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.