We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop along the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homero Ortega P. & Hijos

Homero Ortega P. & Hijos
Gil Ramirez Davalos 3-86, Cuenca, Ecuador
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Shopping in Cuenca
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great stop along the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I am so glad we went to Homero Ortega's shop. We were given a tour of the process to make a Panama Hat and got to spend time in the shop choosing the perfect hat for us. I am so appreciative of the hats now that I know and understand all that went into making them. Their prices are excellent and the hats are all of good quality!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Tour and Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A free tour in English is offered which covers the history to present day production of the genuine Panama Hat. It is very informative and well worth the time. If you are thinking of buying a Panama Hat while in Ecuador, this is the place to go. They have hats for sell for men, women and children. Should you buy one, you will truly appreciate the value of your hat because of the tour. The location is across from the bus terminal, it was a $2.00 taxi ride from our hotel in old Cuenca.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Panama Hats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is the place to buy authentic Panama hats. You get a tour of the factory to learn the history and how they are made. Even offer you an alcoholic beverage. Show room has knowledgeable people to help you with a good fit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“An essential place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

It's better than the other Panama hat museum near the museum. They have a more complete museum and work space, and you get a guided tour with a free local drink. All information is in Spanish and English. They are open on Saturday, but it's better to go on during the week, because you will actually get to see people performing the different steps of the hat making process. You can also buy hats, and they are very attentive to help you find the right size and style. The area seems kind of shady, but we had no problem walking back to town from their shop. The door did look closed when we got there, but someone did come out to open it up, so don't be put off by the bars.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“true Panama hats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very interesting to see how the hats are made, a lot of work and the shop you can buy hats or local silver jewellery or crafts. It's a nice looking factory a few minutes out side the city centre. The hats range in price $25- $1000, lots of colours. Bring water, you might be there a while looking around.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homero Ortega P. & Hijos also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Homero Ortega P. & Hijos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homero Ortega P. & Hijos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.