We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great use of time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Walking Tour Ecuador

Free Walking Tour Ecuador
Pedro Fermin Cevallos N6-78 and Olmedo, Quito 170130, Ecuador
+593 98 996 7689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Activities in Quito
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet up in Pedro Fermin Cevallos and Olmedo from Monday to Saturday. Meet up 10.20am. Tour starts 10.30am. Rain or Shine! We provide a free walking tour of Old Town Quito. During the tour we will visit plazas, churches, candy shops, and much more! Come check out the hidden Quito gems with us and learn about it with Ecuadorian guides!
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great use of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We started our Quito adventures with this one, and we were very pleased with it. Ovi was personable, enthusiastic, and a pleasure to have showing us around the town.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ovi Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great way to get your bearings in Quito and learn about the Old Town. Ovi was extremely knowledgeable and a great guide. I attended the tour my first day in Quito and could not have starting my trip any better way.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I was not staying at this hostel and after my cab got lost, the people at the hostel helped me figure out exactly where Ovi would be. He was an excellent, laid-back tour guide who is clearly passionate about his city. We got lots of good insider info about the city to go along with the awesome tour. So glad I went. Don't miss this!

Tip-if you aren't staying at the hostel, give yourself PLENTY of time to find it because cab drivers don't always know where it is.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best walking tour in South America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Once we found the Community Hostel near Plaza Marin we were immediately made to feel welcome and offered coffee and told to sit on the balcony with a stunning view of Quito.
Our guide Ovi introduced himself when it was time to go. He was very enthusiastic, obviously loves the city and the job even more! His English was exceptional - even able to hold a conversation using medical terms!
The tour was really interesting, lots of great historical information without getting boring. Also lots of stops for fantastic local food - all at incredibly reasonable prices.
After the tour finished Ovi told us he was going for a local Ecuadorian lunch and we were welcome to join him, so we did - and the food was fantastic and cheap - lovely fish with sauce and rice or a dish made with cows stomach!
After lunch Ovi even took us to the Quito Museum of Culture and showed us around, explaining things here too.
The next day we went to the Equator and found Ovi with another group he had guided that morning - he remembered us by name and let us join in!
Clearly nothing is too much, and Ovi loves showing off his country and does it very well!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best introduction to Quito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at Community Hostal (Which I would recommend to anyone!) And on our first morning we went on Ovi's free walking tour.

It is an absolute must on your first day in Quito. We got a great feel for the city, saw some of the key sites and got good tips on where we should explore in more detail for the rest of our trip.

The tour is informative, fun, and will be the best way to start your trip in Quito.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Walking Tour Ecuador also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Free Walking Tour Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Walking Tour Ecuador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.