We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Hostel Inn

Chicago Hostel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Hostel Inn to your Saves list
Chicago Hostel Inn
Los Rios N11-142 y Briceno | San Blas. Pichincha, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Quito
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stay: 12/2008

Located close to the Centro Historico. Room: clean and we had hot water but towards the end of the shower it got cold. One thing that I found very inconvenient is that back then (not sure if this still applies) they only took cash -- $20 bills or smaller. We almost lost our plane because we only had $100 bills and they flat out refused to take them, making us go to the bank to change it (which took longer than the 10 min they said it would).

Although initially they were very accommodating, as we did arrive in the middle of the night, I think this is something you should ask and take into consideration if you do stay to avoid having the same issue we had.

I feel this is a nice little place though and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment and recommendation.
Just to make clear: We take hundred bills or fifty if you will pay a bill of 50 usd or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
29
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly staff clean rooms. There is a nice roof top terrace, which is great for socializing with other travelers. They sell beer for a reasonable price at the reception desk. There is also a refrigerator and kitchen on the roof. We stayed in a double with one twin and one full bed, and a private bathroom with hot water. The view from our room (Room 4) was amazing, as is the view from the terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street may be a bit noisier, but the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your comment, we really appreciate what you think about our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I agree on most positive comments, but like to hint on some other things..
Consider not going to this hostel if:
- you plan to leave your Bags there for a Night or more - they will charge you for this. Free Storage only goes till 2 p.m. on your checkout-day
- if you checked out and want to use the kitchen...you have to pay.

We never experienced this rip-off tendencies in any hostel in peru, bolivia, chile or ecuador - be it a cheap one or expensive.

If you stay here and dont agree on this hostel-philosophy, let them know!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Manager at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your comment, this let us improve our services.
I want to clarify some points:
I am sorry what I am going to say: We charge USD 3 after 2pm because there are several people who take advantage of our free facilities until 10 pm without buy anything in our bar or without leave a tip. Every hostel on the world has check-in time and check-out time and if you want an extended use of facilities, you must pay for that. We do not only charge for leave your bags, we do charge for all the facilities used after check-out including the luggage storage service.
If you never experienced these policies in other countries or city maybe it is because that business are not managed for their owners or they do not realize how much money they lose if some guests use their facilities after the check-out time or maybe it is because that other places have bars or restaurants where you must spend your money buying drinks, food, etc. or maybe it is because in the room rates are included this. So it is not so free how you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room for four nights in May 2013.

Pros:

- Great breakfast - although it is not included, it is very good value at just $2 for a cheese toastie, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and tea or coffee.

- Clean rooms and comfortable bed

- Really lovely, knowledgeable staff

- Decent location near the old town and metro bus stops

- Decent guest kitchen which stays open until late.

- Cool roof terrace with good views, also the venue for breakfast

Cons:

- Wifi was a bit sketchy and we could hardly ever get signal in our bedroom, even though we were told we would be able to when we checked in. However signal was strong in the lobby and on the roof terrace

- Really thin walls - unfortunately the person in the room next to us had a habit of hawking up disgusting amounts of phlegm first thing in the morning and before he went to bed - not what you want waking you up!

- Many of the rooms don't have external windows (although they are very clear about this when checking in)


Overall, I would recommend this hostel, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your opinion and I just want to clarify a few points:
Regarding the WIFI signal, our hostel has 3 wifi routers and 1 wifi repeater just to cover the whole main building and every of these devices are located in different points of our hostel trying to cover every area of our main building.
We just have 3 rooms in the main building without external window. Two of these have window to the corridor. The rest of my rooms have external windows.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and we really appreciate that you stayed happy in our place. We try to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a hostel located on Los Rios near Calle Caldas. This is a very small hostel with 9 rooms which are over three floors. There isn't an elevator so keep that in mind. The room I had was a single with exactly that a single that had a shared bathroom next door to my room. The rooms are no-frills yet forward, clean with a small dresser & mirror, a bedside table & light. There isn't any A/C or Heater as this is Quito. It covered what I needed at quite a reasonable price. The breakfast is offered at $2.00 USD. The rooftop has great views of the city especially the lights of the rolling hills at night. The hostel sits on a top street in the neighborhood so by foot a little uphill walking will be necessary. Old town is 1Km away so within walking distance. One might consider a cab at night in this neighborhood It's a family run hostel that has a pool table in the lobby, television with cold drinks for sale. The staff was quite friendly the Manager 'Xavier' was happy to assist me in confirming my booking of my flight to Colombia over the phone. They can assist in booking tours as well. I was sent to this hostel after the booking I made at the Colonial House which could take me just 5 nights during the week I was in Quito. Keep in mind that the lobby does close at 10PM (22:00hr) which means so does the rooftop terrace in which you're free to store any perishables in the refrigerator or cook a meal on the terrace.

Room Tip: Just remember there isn't an elevator so you may have to walk up three flights of stairs to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your comment and I just want to clarify some points:
Our address is Los Rios N11-142 and Briceño and our hostel has two different buildings with more than 9 rooms. We are located in the Old Town, into a traditional neighborhood called San Blas, maybe 1 km is the distance between my hostel and the Tourist area.
Thanks again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was big and comfortable with a nice ensuite. We loved the rooftop terrace with views of Quito. The only downside was the noise on our second night from other guests, not something the hostel can really help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your words, we really appreciate your opinion. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for over a week, after we fled from The Secret Garden around the corner.
The rooms are spacious and clean. You can use the kitchen on the roof terrace that looks out over the city. Staff is nice, they helped us out a lot when we were moving on.

- yesmads.com

Room Tip: When you get a room on the first floor, Internet will work in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostel Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear, Thanks for your rating and your kind words. We hope see you soon around here. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Hostel Inn

Address: Los Rios N11-142 y Briceno | San Blas. Pichincha, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy hostel is conveniently located near all major public transportation, inside a traditional neighborhood of Quito called San Blas since 2003, in the border between the Old and New Town. Only 8 minutes away to the main square "Plaza Grande" and 20 minutes away to La Mariscal (walking distances). We are only steps away from famous historic sites and all of these monuments to Latin and Ecuadorian history and culture have culminated in making our neighborhood a UNESCO heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chicago Hostel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Hostel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.