We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Colonial Center Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Francisco de Quito to your Saves list
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Downtown, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Quito
skpke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Colonial Center Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Hotel San Francisco de Quito. Great location in the heart of colonial Quito, 2 blocks from Plaza Grande and Plaza San Francisco. $38-42 per night. Best room is near the observation deck, about $52 a night. Worth it but you have to climb several sets of stairs. Do ask for room on the upper patio floors, away from the desk. Helpful staff, stored belongings during our comings and goings to the Galapagos and Amazonia, no charge. Very clean, beds very comfortable, very safe, some street noise, bring ear plugs. Spanish language only on the TV, no CNN. Restaurant on premises not so good but lots of options in the area. Or take a $2-3 cab ride to Mariscal section for more choices. We enjoyed Fruiterria Monserrat for fresh fruit and cream, and the pizza place next door to it, both about a 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. Also El Maple in the Mariscal for vegetarian food. Hotel San Francisco de Quito is a more typical Ecuadoran establishment. If you'd like a US style hotel, try the Radisson, for $58 a night, clean, comfortable, CNN, generic.

  • Disliked — Location in historic district
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    115
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
26
111
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

we stayed in this hotel twice. The first time we had a large room in the upper patios: very nice and comfortable. But when we came back a few days later, despite a long due reservation, we had been changed for a smallish "double" room , nb 4 or 5, behind the entrance desk. We could'nt sleep the whole night, and they refused to change room for the following nights. We had to change hotel, fairly upset and disapointed.

  • Liked — surroundings and location
  • Disliked — very noisy rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Stayed in the highest suite, so I can not comment on the regular rooms. The hotel has a lovely courtyard, and free internet access (only 1 computer, so frequently occupied). I found that this hotel was the best priced in the Old Town. Many Old Town Hotels seem to be dingy or very expensive. This one was quite clean. The highest suite was around $60, I believe, and the views of the city were amazing. The room had a kitchen, very tasteful decorations, and lots of windows.

On the down side:
-The breakfast was not great at all. Included eggs, but they were greasy. The restaurant that serves them doesn't give much service.
-The bathroom was very small.
-Some of the windows were only covered with a sheer layer of curtain, and people could see through at night. It was a little difficult to feel some privacy for that.
-The bathroom mirror was hung so low, that it made it difficult to turn on the water for the sink. Just bad forethough.

  • Liked — Location in Old Town
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Overall, this is a pleasant hotel which is deceptively large, spreading over a number of floors and stages. We were there for two days before we learned there was a turkish bath and sauna.

Two nights in the room with windows overlooking the reception desk had us recalling the advice of other travelers on this site in relation to many hotels: Don´t accept a room close to the lobby! The noise of constant phone calls, late and early guests and the buzzer from the front door were too much. We changed rooms to something smaller but considerably quieter (with the promise that the adjacent turkish bath machine would be turned off at 9 pm).

The rooms are clean and the water hot. The staff are pleasant and helpful. As to the facilities in general, guests have access to a safety deposit box and there is one PC for internet access. The TV in the room is barely operational but a large screen TV with cable is available in the guest lounge. The staff contend cable will be installed throughout the hotel by July 2007. Breakfast can be taken in the lovely courtyard but is a bit basic. However, the hotel is well located in the historic centre of town and is therefore a short walk to better options.

Strangely, our first room had two half sized pillows that would hardly qualify as a head support even when folded over. A request for additional pillows was met with a very bulky chunky pair that barely fitted into their covers. The next room had perfectly acceptable pillows that might appear in any hotel - hard to understand...

Great location - close to sights, transport and good cafes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port townsend
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

This was a very convenient and pleasant Hotel with free Internet in the lobby and lots of information available about the area. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the price was great. I would stay here again. We particularly liked the rooms with the lofts/spiral staircases. Be sure and go to upper balcony for the view.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Downtown, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco de Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.