We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in center of colonial Old Town Quit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Francisco de Quito to your Saves list
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Downtown, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location in center of colonial Old Town Quit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is close to most of the major tourist sights, unlike the hotels in the New Town where most of the tourists stay. We stayed in both the Old and New Towns and found the Old Town to be a much better place to stay. There are tourist police on every block, so safety is no concern, although I believe it used to be. We stayed in room 32, the "honeymoon suite," which had windows on three sides offering a panoramic view of the city and the neighboring mountains. The only drawback to this room is that you have to climb five flights of stairs to reach it from the ground floor. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included. Our cost was $58 per night, which I felt to be an excellent value for all that was offered. We stayed here before our trip to the Galapagos Islands, which was our main destination. We stayed in the New Town after returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    116
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
26
112
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

We thought this hotel offered good value, in a central location in the old town. It has a lot of character with the court yard and the staff were friendly and helpful. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful old style hotel. Our room had a small but adequate bathroom/ shower with functioning hot water, which is not always the case in Old Town. The floor and bed were so squeaky, that it woke us up at night.
Internet connection is soooooo slow! Location is in the prime of Old Town, but like everywhere in Old Town it's spooky after 7p.m.
Front desk staff at daytime speaks excellent English and is quite helpful in advice and even with organizing trips. Night staff and other personnel does not speak a word of English

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here three times (in three different rooms) during our trip in Ecuador. First two nights we were in room 23 which had a double bed. It was a very small room but comfortable bed and it wasn't too noisy. We had room 27 after Galapagos trip which had two double beds with a kitchen, microwave, safe and fridge. It was very quite! Then, we had room 12 which was two stories with one double bed and two singles. It was fairly noise and we did not like having a bathroom downstairs. It's around $50 for one night which is a good value for the location. We stayed the last night in Quito at Stubel suites and cafe which is far from the old town and it was almost double the price. I'd recommend Hotel San Francisco if you want to explore the city. If you like to just relax, stay at Stubel.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms first. Each room varies a lot. Rooms upstairs are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The primary draw of this hotel, for me, was how cheap it was ($27/night for a single). For that price, I got a decently sized room that was clean and comfortable--pretty amazing for the price. The view from the top of the hotel (after you climb a few flights of stairs...a little difficult if you've just arrived in the high altitude of Quito) is pretty cool too.

The Wi-Fi works, but is rather flaky. Also, while one of the people at reception spoke English fluently, the other didn't speak any English at all, so be prepared with at least a little Spanish.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel situated in the midst of Old Town had a fabulous location. It was a short walk to both Plaza of San Fransisco and Independence Plaza. The matresses were pretty good and the room was dark. Fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here a total of 5 nights as we passed through Quito 3 times over this past month. Easy and safe walks to several plazas with good restaurants. Also museums, historic churches close by.
Views from the small patio on top of the hotel are great. The rooms vary from windowless quarters deep in the catacombs (we stayed in one with a jacuzzi) to one high up with windows on 3 sides.
The staff was great assisting us with cabs to the airport and a 4:30 AM wakeup call.
2 Computers in the small guest lounge offer internet access.
Breakfast included, coffee, bread and eggs.
Jerry
Boise

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up with windows if you don't mind lots of stairs, getting steeper as you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Downtown, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco de Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.