We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Crater Hotel to your Saves list
El Crater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirador de Pichincha, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at El Crater with friends for a night in March 2013. We wish that we could have stayed longer! We all agreed that it was a great experience. All the staff members that we met were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the view is incredible. It is a very peaceful location and a great place to relax. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely go back, and I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
71
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at El Crater in January 2013 (2 nights). The views from both sides of the room are truly unbelievable. In the mornings 2 llamas are brought to graze, which for me is a bonus. Roberto the manager was very friendly, competent and really helpful when I need it most. On my second night there, I became sick and he came (at 2AM), reassured me and brought me some very nourishing drink and a medication. I liked El Crater so much that I am coming back on May 3, this time for 3 nights. I am going to walk around and enjoy nature which is unique there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So, the descriptions on TripAdvisor were accurate. The small hotel (8-10 rooms) sits on the edge of a long-extinct volcano about 75 minutes north of Quito's Old Town. It's peaceful, safe and VERY quiet. The clouds seem to roll in and then roll out continually. One day, we walked to the hotel restaurant and it was sunny, with stunning views of the farmland on the crater floor below. By the time we finished eating, the entire property was enveloped in thick fog. This variability made the experience more interesting.

We saw a few American families when we were there who had elected to stay there for a feeling of greater safety. The kids seemed to LOVE the place - especially the llamas that are used as lawn mowers!

Be sure to take the short (30-yeard) path up the hill from behind the restaurant to a small promontory. The views of the crater are even more stunning!

The team that runs the hotel is superb. This is a small place, so don't expect a staff of 20 to be taking care of your needs. In fact, there isn't a front desk per-se, just the two concrete room buildings plus the building that houses the bar & restaurant about 40 feet away. The food is EXCELLENT by the way - do plan to have lunch or dinner there. Once dinner is over, the lights go out and that's pretty much it. You will need to entertain yourself in your room after that. Try to get one of the 4 rooms on the top floor for the best views.

The only real problem we experienced - and it was a small one-time problem - was the rooms were not well serviced. When we checked in, there was no toilet paper in the bathroom, there were a couple hairs in the shower (yuk!) and a partially-used bar of soap. My guess is the maid had gotten distracted after he or she finished cleaning the main part of the room prior to our arrival.

You should not stay here if location to the center of Quito is important to you. With no traffic, it's just over an hour to downtown and 1.5-2 hours to the new airport depending on traffic. Getting TO the hotel isn't a problem - as long as you know to tell your driver that the entry to the hotel is 5-10 minutes NORTH of the equator monument, just before the entrace gate of the Pululuhua Volcano Park. If you arrive at night, don't be alarmed by the dark, lonely drive up the hill, seemingly to nowhere. It is a somewhat remote spot, way off the beaten path.

The hotel offers a driver if you want for side trips, but the charge is $15/hour. (They offer transportation to or from the new airport at $60 per direction). The driver we had, Juan Carlos, was amicable and careful. If $15/hour is not in your budget, beware that it is nearly impossible to find a taxi at the hotel entrance. Most taxis you see are dropping people off to visit the crater, but are waiting to bring their passengers on to their next desitination. If money is an issue, you can walk 15 minutes to the bottom of the hill and board one of the blue buses. It's 25 cents / 5 minutes to get to the Equator monument, where you can find a taxi, or you can continue on the bus to the terminus in northern Quito.

PROS for this hotel: the view, the team, the food, the atmosphere & far form everything.

CONS for this hotel: far from everything, rooms not completely clean & transportation.

Bottom line is - stay here. It's a great escape from the hustle & bustle of Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is an elegant and beautifully appointed hotel strategically perched on top of a spectacular blown out volcanic crater. The rooms are situated so that you have a view of the crater on one side and the valley on the other. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and it is obvious an artist was involved in the design process. Everywhere is a feast for the eyes, from the scenery to the local high quality art on the walls and in the gallery. We were pleased with the food, which was a bit pricey but unless you have a car it is the only place to eat, and we thought given the isolation ( and the blessed quiet). the prices were fair.The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. They arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, and he was right on time. This is the place to go if you need to relax and unwind and you are tired of the city vibes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

this is a beautiful location and can be reached by metrobus from quito to la mitad la mundo and then taxi to hotel (should be 3 dollars we were charged 10 dollars by taxi in front of la mitad del mundo. the taxi driver couldn't find the place and when he did there were no signs for check-in and we finally found someone who pointed us to the adjoining restaurant to which the hotel was attached. we found our room and went for dinner which was fine. the next morning we went for breakfast at 7am, but found no one. finally we tracked down someone working there and she got us breakfast. the same thing happened at dinner. we showed up at 6 and finally tracked down a workman who found the manager and told us we could have dinner at 6:30. i think the problem is that it is a hotel attached to a restaurant. The other problem with the location is that while la mitad del mundo is close by it is not very interesting and the only other location to visit is Mindo a typical town with a butterfly reserve, a bird reserve and an orchid reserve all run by local people who are very nice, but the trip of 90 minutes each way was hardly worth it. Our visit was the second week in February and was very foggy and rainy. In sum a great getaway and lovely room with great views, but not a place for a tourist on a limited schedule.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived with a heavy fog and a warm welcome. Rooms were very large, clean, big picture windows with stunning views, comfortable bed and bathroom. Dinner and breakfast were good. The owner pays friendly attention to his customers. The staff were friendly especially Christian. Hotel arranged transfer to Quito with a lady driver who was a well known painter. The journey was short but we acquired insight into the art scene in Equator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funk
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would have given this place higher ratings but Trip advisor only goes to 5! This hotel is located a half hour North of Quito on the rim of a volcano. If it is good enough for the Presidents of Ecuador,, Chile, and Columbia, Gloria Estefan, and Miss Universe it is good enough for us. None of Quito's noise and smog and a breathtaking view of the lights of the city and the crater on opposite sides of your room. None of the pictures posted do justice to this property. Llamas graze on the ground. Stay here and ask for a room on the top level.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Crater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.