We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vieja Cuba to your Saves list
Vieja Cuba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Quito
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

A small friendly hotel near the old town of Quito. Close to shops and restaurants. Excellent staff nothing seams to be to much bother. Good breakfast of eggs, cereal, ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt tea & coffee + fruit juice. Room we had was a bit on the small size but this did not detract from our stay. Did not have dinner in hotel but cannot comment.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
78
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for four nights over a 10 day period in July 2014. I was with a school party of 32 staff and pupils so not the easiest to cater for. We were looked after very well. The hotel is very well situated for local restaurants etc. as well as other attractions.

The rooms were very nice and well appointed. Very helpful (English speaking) staff. The only problem we had was that showers above the ground floor were not great.

Breakfast on the first morning was excellent - lots of fresh fruit plus choices of cereals and then eggs with ham, cheese, toast and plenty of tea and coffee available. It was a shame that by the last morning the standard had fallen quite a bit - not enough places set, not enough cutlery, no fresh fruit, ham or cheese. Not the end of the world it just seemed a bit of a let down.

Overall - I would go back and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahía de Caráquez, Manabi, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm in Quito quite a lot and this is the only place that I will stay. The staff is very professional and if you need anything they try to accommodate, whenever i need a taxi they make a call and have one there with in 5 minutes. I've seen almost all the rooms and they all are a little different. The Loft room is pretty cool. They are all clean and the mattress are comfortable. Great WiFi. The location is great, lot's of different places to eat around the area and a 3 minute cab ride to plaza foch and Bungalow 6. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: They have a loft room that is pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel Vieja Cuba is a nice hotel and many tourist stay there. The front desk staff speaks English and are courteous and helpful. It is located near shops and restaurants. The rooms are small especially # 1, but #6 is larger and has a balcony.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back or choose # 6 for a street view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here with the family, this is a quite unusual hotel with quirky rooms, lots of wood and interesting design features - definitely not the typical hotel. Great breakfast sets you up perfect for the day and staff very helpful. Hotel is conveniently located near Park Carolina and lots of cafes/restaurants though I would be careful walking around here at night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first trip to Ecuador and this was our first hotel in Quito. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great experience. Great good location, walking distance to Plaza Foch, $4 taxi ride to Old Town. The hotel had a great ambiance with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean with good wireless internet access. The breakfast was really good with a lot of healthy options to choose from. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed 3 nights altogether in this colonial style hotel. Quirky inside, with lots of little nooks and crannies. Good sized rooms with small but clean bathrooms. Staff friendly. Breakfast OK, cereal, fruit, cheese, ham, eggs and toast. Good location, not far from Botanical gardens and only a $5 taxi ride to the Old Town, Basilica, cable car etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vieja Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.