We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so secret.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Secret Garden to your Saves list
The Secret Garden
Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Chester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not so secret.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

You could stop in worse hostels on arrival, staff are friendly and helpful, beds are comfortable, food is good. Nice hot showers, a book exchange, laundry opposite doing same day turnarounds and an excellent tour company located on the ground floor who do a good free walking tour around the old town.
The downsides....
It's expensive, whether 'staff have to be paid' or whatever, there's no getting away from this fact, you can get a basic room of your own in a cheap Ecudorian hostal for the price of a dorm room here.
Reception is at the top of a 4 floor flight of stairs and bizarrely enough forms part of the kitchen.
Location... good or bad depending on what you want, San blas is a quiet area a good walking distance to any decent shops, bars, nightlife etc.
A lot of non-Ecuadorian volunteers/paid? working here (and they're friendly enough) so with all the backpackers it's very gringoland-ish, not an authentic Ecuadorian experience.
No kitchen or fridge for guests

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    83
    62
    39
    24
See reviews for
12
100
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here when I was travelling in Ecuador. It is very comfortable and the staff are great! The roof top terrace has amazing views over Quito, and the breakfast is very good too. The travel agency below is awesome too, offering trips to Cotopaxi etc.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this hostel.
The location is great and the roof top is very nice.
The dorms are ok, but (as very often in South America) no pressure and hot water in the shower...
The food is ok but quite expensive in comparison with the restaurants of the country ...
The advantage of the hostel is that there is an agency on the ground floor which is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not sure why but in a high altitude city like Quito they put the reception on the 4th floor meaning a lot of stairs! The terrace/reception/kitchen does have good views and internet though. Initially had a dorm bed which was in a good size room with lockers. Got moved to a twin room so even quieter and nicer. Bathrooms were plentiful and clean. Free tea and coffee is good. Dinner/catering offered was also nice. Good traveller vibe with top travel agency underneath. They also offer a free walking tour and appears to be only one in city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 7 nights during our 1,5 month in Equador. I am a bit surprised with some other reviews but here is mine:
We had a great stay here. We always had a private twin room (33$ with taxes). If you stay here I would recommend you to ask for having a look at the room before to take it. Some room are bigger, with or without window, in a quite or noisy area. For us the best quite room were the B4 and E4. The shower we had were always warm.
Internet is sometimes not working that good.
Breakfast is nice (choice between 2). Free cup of coffee and tea all day long.
Nice staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

the best thing about this hostel was..
1. fire pit with robert as the fire tenderer!
2. the booking travel agent on site PAUL with CARPEDM
3. the owner who goes the extra mile to get you into his neighboring secret garden location in cotopaxi!

the worst things about this hostel:
1. the volume of people that go thru and the amount of food they cook it is served stone cold and at expensive price for dinner ,,,,but the breakfasts are really cheap and i think that is true because we mostly book a hostel to cook our own meals and there IS NO KITCHEN!!!!
2. the value for the money is a bit overpriced and there are much cheaper hostels with your own bathroom every other doorway available, but on the other hand you meet soo many more people on the beautiful veranda overlooking the city with the ambiance of a FIREPIT tended by the best pyro himself...roberto!
3. the $5 shuttle up to cotopaxi to the other secret garden location is AWESOEME< but beware, it costs $40 to get back!
4. the coffee was never ready and when it was, it was waaaaay too weak...just need a couple of the larger NEW ones with the volume of travellers going through...the workers seem to be talking with one another and it is hard to get their attention to ask a question sometimes and then they do not seem to be too intent on the answer. like directions are really bad but it may have just been a language barrier. we got pretty lost.
the location in the old town is hard to find places to find ANY food, so the cooking turns out pretty good even if served stone cold.

Room Tip: just ask to see accomodations before accepting what they have. we had to change rooms because the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Secret garden in Quito because it had a very good reputation. The place was clean and the staff were helpful. However, there are some aspects of the Hostel that you should know if you wish to stay.

We had a double room and shared bathroom which we thought was not good value at $30 per night plus 12% tax. The ground floor where we had our room the first night smelt of rotting vegetation. When it rained the noise from the plastic roof was so loud it kept you awake. The bar was closed at 10.30pm but people continued making noise well into the early hours of the morning in the lounge area. Due to the nature of the building every sound echo's. During the day not a problem but at 1am it is. We complained to the owner who said it was an inexperienced night staff. So why did the owner not come to the hostel and sort it out? Offered no compensation for the lost nights sleep. Double beds were not comfortable. The lounge area was very cramped and the furniture had seen better days. The double rooms had no windows on the ground floor and were like cells.

There are cheaper and nicer places in Quito. It would appear that the Secret Garden in Quito is trading on the reputation of its sister place at Cotapaxi. I appreciate that people will still come to this place, especially the dorm stayers but even the dorms are expensive compared to other hostels on the same street.

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the inner court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.