We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reina Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reina Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Reina Isabel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Amazonas N-23-44 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$85 (USD)
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Elmira, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We initially stayed in a cheaper hotel tucked away somewhere but moved to this hotel after returning to Quito from an excursion to the coast.
It was a blessing! Very friendly and helpful front desk. The street noise was loud during the day but got better after dark. Lots if hot water!!
We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    153
    45
    3
    8
See reviews for
38
104
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Close to restaurants and bars so you can easily find somewhere to go. We had a large room which was very clean with all the usual amenities. The staff on reception were helpful and pleasant. WiFi was a good speed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very modern hotel inside, although outside doesn't look promising... We were upgraded to the suite - it was wonderful! The only downside - Wifi was not working... I was there only 1 night but during THAT night it was not working. Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed on holidays at Reina Isabel from February 19th until the 23rd and I can only praise the installations and all the staff.

The location is perfect; it is set right in the neighborhood were all the excursions leave from and near nice restaurants that you can just walk to. I had initially thought the old town would be better but I consulted with my colleagues from our Quito office and found out this location “la Mariscal” is better for tourists.

The room I had booked was far larger than I expected, I looked over to the mountains, the bathroom was huge and the shower was strong. The mattress was perfect and everything was super clean. I had loads of international channels too. All the reception staff were always super nice at all times, during the day Sabrina was great and the two other male receptionists were also great and were always eager to help. For instance, they informed me that there is a tour bus (hop on and off) that goes by the hotel so I just bought the ticket right there at the reception ($12) and they made sure the bus stopped for me; it was really easy; plus taxis in Quito were really inexpensive, so you can be in the old town within 10 minutes and for something like 5 dollars. Also the handcrafts market is right there, like 3 blocks away from the hotel, so it’s a great location to be at.
My colleague from Quito was so well impressed with the hotel that will now start using it.

I even met the head coordinator (Marisol) and the commercial manager (Bianca) as one day the hotel had to make some repair works in the room over mine so they approached me and upgraded me to a suite that was brand new. All was done with a big smile and an amazing attitude, everyone in Ecuador strike me out as super nice and I guess loads has to do with how nice everyone at the hotel was! The suite had an amazing Jacuzzi that was just what I needed after trekking for three hours in the altitude of the Cotopaxi, so that made my stay even better!

In sum, I greatly advise the hotel, take the suite it’s really worth it and try booking directly with the hotel because then you can apply at the airport for the tax return on the 12% vat paid.

Room Tip: Rooms with Jacuzzi, and or view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Secure, beautifully appointed and wonderful rooms, but if you need anything beyond the ordinary, the staff will not help. They will show you absolutely no consideration other than the most basic greeting. My wife returned early to the hotel from our exploration of Ecuador because she had become quite sick, and the staff refused to give her a room. She had her passport, money, and a reservation. We had stayed there for 2 nights just 10 days earlier. Instead, they made her lie on a couch in the lobby in her motorcycle clothes until I arrived. She told them she did not feel at all well, and the extent of their help was to suggest that she go to the street and buy a bottle of Gatorade. (Which she did.) They stand by this behavior, refusing even to apologize. To me, it was unforgivable, rulebound and evil - not the way a decent hotel (or human being) treats others. My experience says to find a friendly hotel that cares about its guests - Quito has many.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, be sure to get a room in the new tower. But first, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

That's the first time I rate an hotel with the best note, but when everything is perfect, no choice.
I spent several nights in several rooms following a tough schedule. The service and attention has been always perfect.
Most of the rooms are large suites, everything works well.
Ofently full, tht's understandable! Booking in advance is mandatory.
Restaurant is a bit expensive, but there is a large choice in the area and the place is safe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a great hotel! I immediately felt the luxury upon walking in.

Quito has nice buildings and ugly buildings right next to each other, instead of entire good and bad neighborhoods. After walking on some ugly side streets, it always felt great to come back to this hotel and leave any ugliness behind me.

The breakfasts are so-so, they are putting some flavor in the scrambled eggs that aren't great. I wish they would make them plain.

Warning-- MUST READ!! The only negative is that when you ask for a taxi, the hotel picks cabs at random instead of using a partner taxi company. So when you taxi back to the airport, be sure to work out the route and cost with the driver before putting your luggage in. Ask for a newer cab with a toll pass.

When I arrived to the new Quito airport and got in the taxi line, I was lucky in that the next cab for me was a new Sonata with a nice driver who took the fast and smooth toll road for $25 total. He had the electronic toll pass and it felt like a 25 minute drive. I paid $30 with tip.

However, when I asked the hotel to call me a taxi for my flight out, they randomly found me an old guy with an old car. I made the mistake of assuming he would take the fast toll road and that was the only way. This idiot instead took me on winding back roads and one long strip with traffic lights.

So instead of a 25 minutes drive, this moron drove for almost an hour just so he wouldn't have to pay tolls. It didn't occur to him that with the time he saved he could have gotten another customer and doubled his money that hour. He tried to lie to me and tell me it was the only way to the airport. I told him I knew the difference and did my best not to yell at him and call him a moron. I told him congratulations, now he can go to McDonald's with the $3 he saved in tolls. I told the hotel is cab number. (by the way, it's Taxi# 10514, don't ride with this moron)

So the point is, when you go back to the airport from this hotel, only agree to use them if they drive the toll road, and set the price at $30 that already includes tip. Ideally the taxi will have the electronic toll pass like my first one did, so you don't have to stop at each toll. Tell the hotel this when they call a cab for you. Odds are an older cab driver will take the only way he knows, and that is slow annoying back road way.

I won't let the bad taxi experience affect my review of the hotel, you will have to tell the hotel what you want from a taxi. Else the rooms were excellent and I felt great being at this hotel.

As for the neighborhood, stay on the main road (Amazon) when walking at night. Else take a taxi to go to the bars and clubs. Especially when coming home, if you stumble like you've been drinking and are alone, thieves may target you. I did not have any problems with this, but a local gave me that advice.

Enjoy your stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Isabel

Address: Av. Amazonas N-23-44 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Business Hotel in Quito
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Reina Isabel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reina Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.