We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quito - December 2009” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alston Inn Hotel

Alston Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alston Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Alston Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Leon Mera N23-41 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Lebanon, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quito - December 2009”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Very small, local hotel in the New Town section of Quito. Very basic room with no luxeries. No air conditioning or heat in the room. Hotel staff was very friendly.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
9
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
md, us
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Spent one night on the way to Vilcabamba and one night on the way from Vilcabamba.
All staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Johnny, the owner, was most amiable and funny...bi lingual too which helped. Had internet cafe across the street, close to main throughfare that's closed off on Sunday for bikes and walkers so plenty of shopping and restaurants close by.Very comfortable lounge area with fireplace and books.
Definitely my place to stay when going thru Quito.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

I stayed at the Alston Inn Hotel last November 2006 for two nights. My room was on the ground floor - there was a pungent odour when I entered the room and there was no hot water. The water that did come out of the hot tap was yellow . It was located in an area subject to continuous traffic noise but was near to the shops and internet access. The staff were friendly and it was generally what you would expect from a budget hotel.

  • Disliked — no hot water
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

I stayed at the Alston hotel with my wife Jenny in a big, spotless, room with two queen size beds, private bath, lots of hot water and even they had parking for the car we rented for only $24.oo and I even paid with a credit card and they didn't charge me any extra fee like most places do.

The place is great, we enjoyed the fireplace and the book exchange, even sports on their cable tv at the lobby. The staff is so useful and nice, always ready with a smile, specially Johnny the owner, a fine young man that is always worried if we are feeling at home, he's so funny and helped us a lot.

I wouldn't change "mi casa lejos de casa" never. If we go back to Ecuador, we'll stay there for sure.

Thank you folks!

Mike and Jenny

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alston Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston Inn Hotel

Address: Juan Leon Mera N23-41 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alston Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Alston Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alston Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.