We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good for just an airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita to your Saves list
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Andrango, Via a Pifo, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too good for just an airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We appreciated staying at several family-run haciendas on our recent trip to Ecuador, and La Jimenita is a wonderful example. The owners genuinely enjoy meeting all the interesting guests they have had since turning their old family place into this hotel, and we genuinely enjoyed meeting them. It turns out they are famous architects in Ecuador, so their buildings and grounds are beautifully designed and proportioned.
Although it's quite close to the new airport, it's a good half hour from downtown Quito, for a $20 taxi ride. And the weather stays a bit chilly year round at 9000 feet elevation, so bring warm clothes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
133
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a day & night in October, 2013. It is a family-run B&B fairly near the new international airport, so it is convenient for stays when you don't wish to go into Quito. It takes only 10 or 15 min. to drive to the airport.

On the plus side, it is a lovely compound, the rooms are great, & you will get a real sense of what rural, family life for the well-off Ecuadorian is like. That alone, is worth a 1-night stay. On the minus side, you are captive on a rural compound, with no possibilities of taking a "cab to town for dinner", etc. You should be aware of that before staying. Your meal possibilities will be limited, & relatively speaking, expensive (in 2013, $15/person for lunch & again for dinner; breakfast is included -- for comparison purposes, one can eat at a high-end restaurant for that price).

We had to check-in early, as our flight arrived at 9A.M, and were allowed to do this at no extra charge. We were immediately offered breakfast. We had a very interesting guided tour of the property; then we ate lunch at a separate table while the whole (extended) family ate their big meal of the day at the long table. (There is not a restaurant as I had imagined there might be.) We did some more guided walking, rested for a while in our lovely room, & then were served dinner where we ate with several members of the family. I believe all the family speak English.

It was all very interesting, & we learned a lot about Ecuador. We enjoyed our stay very much. That being said, I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic get-away or for when you'd like a good deal of "down time" for yourself, etc.

You will be "staying with a family" in a house in which you have your own room. So it kind of reminded me of my student days. The house is lovely; the members of the family are all wonderful & ready to please. One of the family owners picked us up at the airport, & delivered us back at 4A.M. --- and the father & dog got up to see us off. We were personally escorted on a long walk around the property.

Room Tip: The up-stairs room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

nice and verv friendly place to stay in the green. good for going to airport or to papalacta spa. perfect breakfast with fresh fruits and juices & menue dinner were served. hugh garden with flowers from oriente. humbling birds to watch. owner very friendly and real looking after you he can tell a lot about the country and his flowers. good choise in well decorated rooms. we will go back for the next trip.. . . . we lllllllllllllllllllllllllllLoved the place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A relaxing place, excellent room, good food and amazing familiar atmosphere. As I enjoyed a lot my staying in this Hotel, I'll come back to "La Jimenita" on my next business trip to Ecuador .
Hopefully I'll be able to share a motorbike tour together with Diego, next time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

wonderful stop over after we arrived at Quito international airport late in the evening. the staff was able to pick us up at the airport and in 15 min. we were in a beautifully gardened hacienda.
This is a small, family run operation, and they make you feel as if you are a long lost friend, coming to visit. Quite a relief for my wife, who was nervous about traveling to Ecuador on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed with the Cruz family in November 2013. The hotel is amazing, my bedroom was very spacious and comfy. The grounds are gorgeous and Daniel the owner took me on a great walk with the adorable little dog in the grounds . Breakfast was very nice and taken outside in the sun. Diego took me to a lovely volcanic spa for the day which really made my trip.

I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hey Nat, I had a great time at the volcanic spa! It was worth the ride, even though it was too short. Next time your group will stay with us and we wont have this time issue again. It was great to meet you and talk good conversations. Wish you the best with your research of animals for your tv show in London. And hope to see you soon. Keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were fortunate to stay with the Cruz family for an afternoon and evening and had a wonderful time. From the time we were picked up at the airport by Jemina, until Daniel dropped us off the next morning, we were in good hands.

The hacienda is gorgeous and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. Our room was very nice with much attention given to details to make guests comfortable. Oh the delight of a roomy hot shower with thick towels! The bed was so comfortable.

We had a wonderful lunch seated outside in the courtyard and then we decided to explore the grounds and found a series of trails that brought us to great views of the gorge. We noticed a cave with steps leading down and decided to go back to the house to ask about it. We were treated to a tour by Emilio and he explained about the history of the Hacienda and the tunnel. It is thought that the tunnel dates back to Inca times. We followed the steps down the tunnel in the dark until we emerged into the sunlight near the edge of the gorge. We felt a little bit like Indiana Jones!

We made our way back and had coffee in the courtyard with Emilio's grandmother, a delightful lady. It was getting chilly so we went inside and Diego was busy building a fire in the huge fireplace. What a treat to sit by the fire reading our books.

We had a delicious dinner in the dining room and had a chance to chat with Daniel. Before we knew it, it was time to retire. After such a great day we had no trouble falling asleep.

The next morning we had a very great breakfast and then it was time to say goodbye to everyone and head back to the airport.

We had a delightful stay. We didn't feel we were in a hotel but instead, we were in a family's home and we were treated as honored guests. We can't wait to visit again, there are still more trails to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Kathy it was great to meet you as well! Thanks for sharing your experiences in Ecuador. Although we didnt meet for long, It was great to have you around. Well wait for your next visit, once the other suites are available! You and your family will be welcomed always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita

Address: Barrio Andrango, Via a Pifo, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located 11 km or 15 minutes from the New Airport of Quito in Pifo Sector. Its a natural paradise; great for a romantic getaway, relaxed vacations in the nature and close to the airport. We have fantastic views and landscapes to Cotopaxi, Ruco and Guagua Pichincha, Ilalo and other mountains. We are surrounded by 50,000 m2 of vast forests of eucalyptus, orange and lemon trees, gardens, private trails and adventures sports.Currently we have 4 luxurious suites and 4 under construction, all of them are built with traditional materials, chimneys, and are design for comfort of the turists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.