We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Ocean Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandido Brewing

Bandido Brewing
Jose J. Olmedo E1-136 | San Blas, Quito EC170113, Ecuador
+593 2-228-6504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 583 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We are a small microbrewery located in the old town of Quito. Our Tap-room functions primarily as a place to hang out and try some delicious beer but we do offer a limited pub style menu. HAPPY HOUR! We have happy hour Monday-Friday 4-7pm.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Tropical Ocean Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Are you sad and lonely in Quito? Craving an escape from the otherwise barren beerscape that is Ecuador? Journey no more, wayward traveler, Bandido Brewing is the oasis of kindness and quality craft beers you seek!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great change fro Pilsener and Club!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I went to Bandido's two or three times right when they were starting to open up and test out their beers on the customers (back in October I believe). I've lived in Quito for about two years and after so much Pilsener Pilsener Pilsener it was AWESOME to have some real beer for a change. They had 5 or 6 selections on tap each time I went, ranging from IPAS to porters (the chocolate porter is not to be missed!). I love this place and can't wait to go back.

My only complaint is the location. It's in one of the sketchiest parts of Quito. The problem is that the street is very isolated and there is not much else around, making it easy for you to get caught out there alone. If you're going to come here, come and leave in a taxi and in groups, and you'll be fine. It would be great if they were located near the Foch, though.

Cheers guys, I'll be back soon =)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“need to improve .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

well, I congratulate the initiative to open this place, and certainly a different proposal ,but, the location is not good at all, is not is a nice or save part of the city, and is difficult to find it, there is no sign out wich makes almost impossible to get in. Is necessary to improve the place, looks like is not clean or well maintained, tables are not comfortable at all, bathroom isn't clean, the are not napkins in tables, more on, there is nothing to eat, when we went there the kitchen was closed and we were starving, as I said at the beginning is a different proposal, but you need to invest to give a better service. Wasn't a good experience .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandido B, Owner at Bandido Brewing, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We have a sign now! We would like to congratulate you on passing a navigation test all of our first customers were subjected to. Bureaucracy in Ecuador combined with UNESCO regulations is a nightmare for any fledgling business, so we are thankful it only took us three months to get a sign. Either way, give yourself a pat on the back as only the savviest of patrons were able to find us in those first months.

We regret that you didn’t have a good experience. We know that an unfamiliar part of town in an already unfamiliar city can seem intimidating, but we assure you that there is nothing wrong with our part of town. In fact, the municipality recently installed LED streetlamps that make it seem like noon 24 hours a day. Additionally, there are 4 or 5 very popular travelers’ hostels in the area that all experience a lot of traffic. The Mariscal (the tourist zone of Quito) may seem like a safer place because it often feels more familiar to travelers, but it is actually the contrary. After living in Quito for two years, we assure you the crime rates are higher there than in our section of town.

As we clearly express, beer and brewing are our priorities. We would be ecstatic to be listed under tripadvisor’s tap-room category but alas, it doesn’t exist. The kitchen was closed during your visit because two of the three owners traveled home. We are sure you understand the desire to see loved ones during the holidays. Furthermore, as a very young business, we have not yet reached a point in which we can hire employees.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your trip to our establishment and we are constantly trying to improve the quality of our patron’s experience.

We appreciate the feedback, we hope if you return in the future we are able to provide a more enjoyable time. Feel free to email us at bandidobrewing@gmail.com and give us any more suggestions that you might have.

Sincerely,
Bandido Brewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Seems the five star reviews here are friends of the owners. Now, for a more objective view. First, this place is hard to find (a sign would help!) and it's in a bad part of Quito. (I know, I live here). But most importantly the beer runs from a pale ale that is tolerable to two IPAs that are terrible. Also, they need to open their kitchen, as their only offering at this point is beer. It is a good effort by well meaning and friendly people, but a little capital investment is definitely needed to make this place work. Improve the beers. Give the place a brighter, more uplifting appearance, fix and clean up the bathroom and place a sign outside the establishment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandido B, Owner at Bandido Brewing, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hey tbanAnkara,
Thank you for both your subjective and objective reviews. We apologize for not having a clear sign; because our tap room is in a UNESCO protected world heritage site we are LEGALY limited to what we can and cannot display to the public. We have been working for months to get a proper and legal sign and finally, after many a lost traveler and more headaches than we care to count, we have been approved and we installed a sign (there is a picture of it in our gallery).

As to the quality of our beer, we cannot apologize for the fact that your pallet is different from most of our customers. However, we do regret that we could not find at least something you enjoyed, or that you didn’t approach us to give us your opinion in person. We would have been more than happy to exchange your beer for something else, or to give you a refund. Please remember that in any establishment the owners would rather have you express your opinion to them in the moment than hear about it later.

Our first priority as a brewery and tap-room is to brew and serve beer. We would like to be able to serve more food but, unfortunately, during your visit only one person was here running EVERYTHING as everyone else was visiting family abroad; we are too nascent of a business to hire full-time employees. All things considered, we think that he did a pretty admirable job.

We appreciate your suggestions and are doing our best to make the brewery as welcoming, comfortable, and tasty as possible. We hope that one day you come back to find everything more to your liking.
Oh, and if you have some “extra” capital for investment lying around be sure to let us know.
Respectfully,

Bandido Brewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tries hard, but comes up a bit short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Granted, it is a bit difficult to rate a restaurant without having eaten there (which makes one doubt its inclusion on a restaurant list to begin with), but Bandidos makes a solid attempt at being an attractive microbrewery in the previously beer-poor capital of Ecuador. The ambiance and friendliness of the staff is really outstanding, and if you are staying in the colonial heart of the city, it is extremely well located. As for the beer, it is better than the regular boring lagers that you get almost everywhere else, and better than most of the 'craft beer' offerings you get in the city. The styles are unique and ambitious, and you can tell effort is being made to create hoppy, flavorful beers. However, the end product still comes up a bit short, with all beers available at the time being on the watery side, and some unexpectedly sour (which I enjoy, but others might consider a batch gone bad, (just as some visiting the UK and find 'real ale' to be beer gone bad due to its flatness)). I agree like the others that this may be the best brewpub in the city, but it can be substantially better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandido Brewing also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Bandido Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandido Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.