We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joaquin Pinto E 4 376 y Juan Leon Mera | sector Mariscal, Quito 170118, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
LIVE MUSIC EVERY SATURDAY
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Safe haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Mariscal neighborhood of Quito is a little crazy at night, a lot of partying and drinking. The Casa Joaquin was a lovely safe haven from the streets: Clean, quiet, well managed, tasteful. The breakfast is good, homemade granola with yogurt, rolls, fruit, cheese and salami. Excellent strong coffee. The staff was always super helpful. The rooms are not large, but adequate size, very nice hot showers. There is a safe in the closet. Our room got a little hot at night, but there was a window we could open and that solved the problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your appreciation of our installations.
We plan to install fans in the rooms to improve the ventilation.
See you soon,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    48
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
92
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I spent one night here before joining a tour group and found the boutique hotel to be quite a surprise. Airport transportation was quick and priced reasonable; they were waiting with a sign when I arrived. I paid the driver direct once I reached the hotel, as was requested in advance. My room was tastefully decorated and the hotel's interior was attractive. The room was on the second floor (two floors above lobby), had a large bathroom, and was OK in size. The bed was comfortable, linens were clean, and bathroom towels were soft. There is no elevator, so expect to take the stairs. I walked to local attractions and the area seemed adequately safe even for a solo female traveler. The breakfast was continental with breads and cereals, but freshly cooked eggs were also available. The staff was very helpful, and the front desk personal spoke English. I booked by reservation online, and found that process to be easy and my reservation was accurate. I paid via cash, and they offered a 10% discount for cash. It was as nice as the Hilton, where I stayed with a tour group later in the trip, and Casa Joaquin was half the price of the Hilton; it was a good value. I enjoyed the stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us.
We are always trying to improve our service and form our crew.
If you come to visit Quito again we 'll be here to give you an even better service.

have a nice day,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

After a very tiring journey, it was so wonderful to be met at the airport and transported to Casa Joaquin where I crashed out for 14 hours. Awaking refreshed in the morning, I was delighted to find myself in such a charming, interesting location. My room (31) was spacious, quiet (in spite of the lively neighbourhood) and the bed and pillows comfortable. The hotel is a little European haven in the heart of the Mariscal, tastefully decorated and beautifully clean. The staff were always courteous and helpful, even though their English is sometimes a bit basic. I extended my stay from 2 to 5 nights and was joined by family members who also very much enjoyed their time in such convivial surroundings. Next time in Quito, this is where I will be.

Room Tip: Had very positive experiences with rooms 31, 26 and 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We can't wait to have you back here.
Have a nice day and
kind regards,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a great one-night stay at Casa Joaquin in mid-March between a Galapagos tour and a highlands tour. We arranged to be picked up at the Quito airport through the hotel. The driver met us with a sign and efficiently navigated through heavy traffic (Mettalica was performing the night we arrived) to the hotel. The $50 price for 4 was about the same as a taxi ride but much more relaxed. Our room was quite large, nicely furnished, with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was abundant. The location is convenient to old town. And all of this for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, very much apreciated.
Looking forward to see you againm

Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The staff and accommodations are second to none. There is nothing the staff won't do to help and make you feel right at home. The room was extremely clean and modern as was the rest of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quito.

Keep up the GREAT work!

Paul Maiorana

London Canada



London Canada

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, General Manager at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Customer

It was a privilege to visit in our hotel, our house is characterized by its distinctive designs in comfort and good service staff. We are a team to provide excellent service for visitors to our home.

Waiting for a future stay in our house from you.
Thank you so much for your visit and your commentary That help us to grow to give you the best service.

Best Regards
Team Casa Joaquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

extremely friendly staff. Rooms were big.Breakfast was small but adequate. The unique aspect of the breakfast was Italian Illy espresso. I dont recollect ever having an espresso with free breakfast offered by top notch hotels elsewhere. Easy access to downtown restaurants, some within walking distance. The only drwaback is that it is located in one of the noisier parts of the city with lot of late night dance clubs nearby. We stayed in the kitchenette suite whihc was more than adequate for 3 of us. The hotel also arranged for a private cotopaxi tour which was fun

Room Tip: select the kitchinette suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, General Manager at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Customer

For us it was a pleasure to serve you at our hotel at all your stay
Our hotel is characterized by its distinguished designs, comfort and location. We are a team to provide excellent comfort for our guests.
Waiting for a future stay from you in our house.
Thank you so much for your visit and your commentary that help us to grow to give you the best service.

Best Regards
Team Casa Joaquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

A great front desk, ready to help the hapless traveller. I lovely loft room, well appointed and tranquil. Plenty of action in the neighborhood including excellent restaurants. Good breakfast. Excellent airport van service. We'd definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Joaquin H, General Manager at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Customer

It was a privilege to visit in our hotel, our house is characterized by its distinctive designs in comfort and good service staff. We are a team to provide excellent service for visitors to our home.

Waiting for a future stay in our house from you.
Thank you so much for your visit and your commentary That help us to grow to give you the best service.

Best Regards
Team Casa Joaquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel

Address: Joaquin Pinto E 4 376 y Juan Leon Mera | sector Mariscal, Quito 170118, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Quito, Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is a small oasis of comfort, peace and tranquility. It is a delightful mix of European tradition and contemporary trend. The Casa Joaquin-team welcomes you in an authentic colonial house with newly decorated guest rooms. Year round, your affordable and luxurious starting point for pleasure and for business in enchanting Ecuador. Located in the historical city center of QuitoHotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is located in a safe neighborhood in the heart of the historic city of Quito. The touristic hotspots, business centers, markets and the popular “La Mariscal” barrio are at walking distance of the hotel. In this area you can arrange any trip of adventure you have in mind or submerge yourself in the rich nightlife and enjoy the splendid culture and art this country has to offer. The hotel is 45 minutes away from the airport. We provide a pick-up and shuttle service. Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" has 14 brand new guest rooms, designed with taste and dedicated to a peaceful and comfortable stay. Our excellent beds with orthopedic mattresses and pillows with anti-mites treatment, guarantee a good night’s rest. All rooms have a private bathroom and meet to 4-star European standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.