We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional fresh food, beautifully presented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuchara de San Marcos

La Cuchara de San Marcos
Junin E3-121 y Manuel Jijon cul de sac at end of Junin | Barrio San Marcos, Centro Historico, Quito EC1701, Ecuador
+593 2-295-1713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 583 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Ecuadorean, Organic, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the emerging neighborhood of San Marcos along Old Town Quito's traditional Junin street, La Cuchara de San Marcos is a new green endeavor in Ecuador. Our restaurant features vegetarian, gourmet twists on traditional Ecuadorian dishes using organic ingredients from local farms, as well as fusion plates using organic chicken, fish, and meat. La Cuchara is also home to an art gallery and store featuring jewelry, accessories, and crafts made with recycled products by local artisans. We are also a nano-brewery, focusing on hoppy ales and the occasional Belgian, while featuring other local craft brews.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“exceptional fresh food, beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We ate there our last 2 nites in Quito. It's in a nice neighbourhood about 15 minutes walk from the Plaza Grande. the food is delicious, organic and quite innovative for Quito and they have micro beers plus their own delicious pale ale. They also have a small art gallery and a gift shop with all kinds of beautiful jewellry made of recycled materials.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Located in Old Town about a 20 minute walk from the Presidential Palace and one block from the Plaza San Marcos. The food was exquisite and service impeccable. The colonial style building surrounds a pleasant outdoor patio. There is an art gallery and gift shop that feature recycled products. The food is primarily Ecuadorian and vegetarian but they do serve fish and chicken. The full bar features many hard to get liquors as well as home brewed beer made by the owner Kevin. What a great place to kick back and relax in a really cool setting. You will enjoy the food and atmosphere as well as the local culture.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Even after assuring our hotel doorman that he knew how to get to this restaurant, the driver of a "hotel car" (as opposed to a taxi off the street) took over an hour to find it! On the way back to the hotel, the drive took only ten minutes!

More importantly, the food just didn't live up to some of the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. The other couple who joined us needed vegetarian options --- and, indeed, their menu had a number of choices that looked good. That being said, the food that three of the four of us had was disappointing-- I had their "signature chicken option" --- it was relatively tasteless and on the dry side.

That being said, it is located in an interesting building (originally an apt building?) and it was very quiet; the service was prompt -- no complaints there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All around terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a delicious restaurant in a lovely little section of old town. The walk is easy and relaxing and the food is delicious. The beer selection is one of the best in the city as well, so plusses all around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How do they do that with Chicken?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Really. I had their signature chicken dish and was blown away by the texture, the buttery goodness...the overall wow!

And on top of that the hand crafted beer is excellent. If you're lucky they'll have a triple IPA - but if you're not lucky then you're still in LUCK with their standard IPA. Yum! Just what I needed whilst enjoying the exotic wonders of Quito.

I also want to put a hand up for their fair trade store. Not only did I pick up some stellar gifts but I learned a lot.

This is a great restaurant - and a great resource. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuchara de San Marcos also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to La Cuchara de San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuchara de San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.