We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sastify” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sher E Punjab Rincon de la India

Sher E Punjab Rincon de la India
Juan Leon Mera No 26-77 y Pinta, Quito, Ecuador
+593 2-250-5037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 619 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indian Cuisine.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sastify”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We very much enjoyed our meal, the friendly service, and the nice atmosphere.

However, be warned the owners have made some compromises to suit local tastes and due to the unavailability and/or high cost of certain Indian ingredients in Ecuador.

So no basmati rice (the owner said it costs $5 a pound locally), or mulligatawny soup (despite the general love of soups by Ecuadorians the owner said people would complain and send it back as too spicy or strange tasting), and the flavorful heat of dishes has been toned down considerably to not scare away Ecuadorians that have no dishes, even with generous addition of the hottest local aji sauce, that come close to the fire of a real Indian vindaloo.

So no soup for me and the lamb vindaloo I ordered, although tasty was baby mild...the owner said if I return to please them him know that I want it true Indian style and they will gladly add more chili and seasonings.

So my advice to those that expect and enjoy more intense Indian flavors is to just ask that they turn up the heat...and then ask for a mango lassi to cool down.

Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent Indian restaurant that rivals London's Brick Lane. Had a thoroughly enjoyable meal here consisting of (on the table): Vegetable Samosas, Chicken Tikka Masala, Chicken Korma, Lamb Masala and Garlic Naans. Every dish was great and the service was impeccable. By far the best curry in Quito, and a meal for 4 cost just $50.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good indian food in South America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having made many trip to India over the past 10yrs plus with 1-2 month stay I found the food here to be a perfect representative of what you find in India. it's very good and the prices are reasonable. To repeat -- made the MISTAKE OF TRUSTING the location given on the map. The owner says he has advised TripAdvisor but it has not be corrected. First Lonely Planets in Chile now TripAdvisor in Ecuador. If there is a phone # given suggest you use it it validate location if using the walking mode.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great food, great nan and surprisingly inexpensive. Incidentally, the map on TripAdvisor is off by about 10 blocks. It's on Mera and Pinta, a block north of Colon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Quito often and always make a point to eat here. The food is excellent (if you like spicy, try the chicken vindaloo!) and the service is great- especially for a place like Quito. Last time I went, the server offered me and my American friends that he could make our food spicier, since ecuadorians generally don't like spicy food they tone it down to start. They also offered to call us taxis so we didn't have to find one on the street in the rain,and they have extremely comfortable couches! Very reasonable prices, I have loved everything I've tried here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sher E Punjab Rincon de la India also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Sher E Punjab Rincon de la India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sher E Punjab Rincon de la India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.