We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal de La Rabida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal de La Rabida to your Saves list
Hostal de La Rabida
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Calgary Alberta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a one night stay between arriving back in Quito and departing to Otavalo. Our room was very clean and comfortable, a great nights sleep. We had supper and breakfast at La Rabida based a lot on previous reviews. The food was not exceptional, it was okay. Based on our room, I would definitely recommend the hotel to others but not the restaurant.

Room Tip: We chose a second floor based on other reviews and were very happy with our choice, room #2 which al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    92
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
131
51
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I thought the hotel was a little pricey, but I also knew that I was getting what I paid for - a clean room in a central location. I was tempted to look for less expensive accommodation but the service was so good I kept returning.

The hotel was recommended to me by a friend and I can see why. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We have had a wonderful stay at La Rabida thanks to the quality of staff. special mention has to go to the wonderful Gloria. Good location for restaurants, bars and night life. Small but nuce clean rooms and good breakfast. Would have no hessitation in visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've stayed in many types of hotels and Hostal de La Rabida was one of the best. Not the fanciest but the most comfortable, clean and pleasant. The staff were incredible, so helpful and always available, the rooms were cozy and clean and pretty and the living room with a fireplace was a wonderful place to settle in and read and rest.
Food was very good, dinner delicious, the rabbit adorable and the outside courtyard great. We could easily walk to two different sections of town with many restaurants and bars and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hostal de La Rabida is a comfortable, friendly retreat with an excellent location in the "New Town" area of Quito. The rooms in this small hotel are spotless and cozy. The food is superb, both for breakfast and the small, elegant dinner that is an excellent option. Our favorite activity was sitting on the overstuffed couch and chairs in the common room, reading and catching up on the free internet by the blazing fire. The service is personal and first rate, and the value for the money provided by this little gem is unparalleled in a capital city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was a challenge to book a room at La Rabida, and now that we are here, I completely understand why. For what we paid per night, our room is cozy, lovely and spacious, our bathroom (and shower) is a great size, the staff is incredibly hospitable and friendly, and the location is terrific. I love the sitting room in front of the fireplace and a sunny patio with a cute, soft bunny to pet. I wish that we had been able to stay here for our entire stay in Quito.
We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was good for a hotel restaurant.

If you are looking for an affordable, and above average hostal experience, book ahead of time so you can stay at La Rabida!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

If you like the experience associated with staying at an establishment that in no way resembles the chain hotels then here is the place to stay. While the rooms are on the small side they are kept sparkling clean with comfortable beds.
The breakfast while having a limited selection was excellent, especially the quality of the coffee they serve.
Staff goes out of its way to make you feel at home and truly value their guests. Without a doubt I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal de La Rabida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.