We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Calama 127 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 154 Quito B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The proprietor, Marcos, picked us up at the airport after a long delay in our flight. We had a large room perfect for our family of four. Breakfasts delicious and were different everyday. THe location was perfect walking distance to many restaurants and city attractions. It is located just off a major bus route for easy inexpensive travel.

Room Tip: Room 33 has a loft and four beds, perfect for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent four days at La Casa Sol while visiting Quito and surrounding areas. Our Friday check in went smooth, and our large party (seven people) went to our three different rooms. The atmosphere was welcoming and safe, with a gated entrance, court yard, and cute little rooms. Unfortunately two out of the three rooms reeked of varnish to an unbearable point. After inquiring at the front desk we learned that they just painted the doors. We requested to switch rooms, but they were hesitant because they claimed to be fully booked. They found two other available rooms, and we switched over (having to pay extra for one). The following three nights went smooth and enjoyable. Until the last night when they decided to paint the door on one of our new rooms!?!? We again had to switch rooms. On the following day, surrounding hall ways again reeked of varnish.

All in all, nice place but some ill advised management decisions (painting the doors of booked rooms on the weekend). The location was great, close to bars, clubs, and restaurants, yet over priced. Next time I'm in Quito, I'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A charming little hotel in la Mariscal. Very friendly. Good value. I would recommend this little place for sure to any of my friends :-)

This is not a 5 stars hotel... So if you look for a swimming pool and to be served like a King that's not your place. This is a simple little place that has the charm of the people of the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed 6/5-20/2013 in La Casa Sol. Channeling the name, this hostel was decorated with yellow, red, and orange. There was wood or tile flooring. The hostel was secure, with a desk staff to lock and unlock the gate. They had a cafe style dining room, a front den, and a back sitting room. It was clean and welcoming. I was in a large group. The rates were discounted.

- There was a lot of construction in the street and area. Room 33 was next to the street (dogs, sirens, and so on abound).
- A few of the beds broke while sitting on them, or boards dropped out of the frames. The staff was amazingly efficient at repairs.
- There was occasionally the scent of sewage in the bathroom. We just shut the door and it lasted about a day.
* There was WiFi available near the desk area (dining room, den, sitting room).
* There was laundry available at $2 per kilo - a large load cost me $12.
* I didn't have many problem with getting hot water; I showered mostly at night, and occasionally early in the morning.
+ The staff are wonderful - patient (especially with my limited Spanish) and welcoming.
+ Fresh fruit, juice, jam and buns every morning. Eggs are $2 - make sure that you get a receipt. I now have a new favorite jam (guava) and juice (passion fruit).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was clean and situated near the Plaza Foch where there are many restaurants. It is within walking distance of the red bus stop and near a main street which i have forgotten the name for shopping.
The bathroom was very small and the only problem we had was the water flow in the shower. It was either a dribble of very hot water or it was cold.The girls on the desk were lovely to talk to and they were very helpful.
The breakfast is a platter of fruit and a roll with jam. Eggs are extra costing $2. Around the corner is a great bakery. We had a few rolls made up daily for our day travels. Walking distance to the markets approx 6 blocks but they are not big blocks. We are in our 60's and it was a good walk there and back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cheap and cheerful and we felt safe. Felt we got excellent value for what we paid. Compact bedroom accommodation and loo and shower fit for purpose. Very pleasant communal area with a range of pastimes available and access to tea.

Room Tip: Try and be away from kitchen area to avoid being woken early .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Cozy B & B 2 blocks from Plaza Foch- near all the restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff is very accomodating here and friendly. I have stayed here for 6 nights and my upstairs , double room is quiet,spotless , has plenty of hot water and has wifi. The staff placed an electric space heater in my room to take the chill off in the night. Daily breakfast is served to you in a sunny pleasant space and consists of cafe con leche, a different fruit juice each day, warm rolls with butter and jam, eggs - your way- fresh local fruit and granola with yogurt if you like.The location is perfect- mid way between the Center Historico and the north part of town with its shopping mall ( the size of a small city ) and its restaurants. I highly recommend Casa Del Sol.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are a little more quiet. Ask for an electric space heater if you tend to get cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calama 127 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, sunny atmosphere will make even the most weary traveler feel at home. La Casa Sol in Quito - it is located 15 minutes from the international airport, inside the most touristic area of modern Quito. Our house was an antique place rebuilt to be a hotel with its own ethnic character, full of Andean identity. Its decorations, colors, courtyards and other services make this house a wonderful place to take a rest, relax, get ready and prepared for your trip around the rest of Ecuador, in the middle of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sol Hotel Quito
La Casa Sol b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.