We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real Audiencia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Real Audiencia to your Saves list
Hotel Real Audiencia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolivar Oe-3-18 | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Quito. We were pleased with the room and the view of the plaza from our window. The hotel was perfectly placed to meander around Old Town colonial Quito. It was a bit noisy to be on the street but we thought the view and access definitely compensated for a little noise (and when you closed the window you could hardly hear anything.) We took advantage of the restaurant on the fourth floor of the hotel both nights. The menu is limited but our food was quite good, though the complimentary breakfast was a bit sparse. The bellhop helped us get a cab and negotiated prices both days as we traveled around the city and also to the airport at the end of our stay. Our ride to the Teleferico was $5 and to the airport was $30 (and took 1.5 hours)

There were some downsides: 1) there was no safe in the room, but we used a secure lockbox that we accessed in the admin area of the hotel to secure valuables. 2) The wifi didn't work in our room, only in common areas. However we were able to sit in the restaurant for a few hours each evening, on one occasion only ordering one round of drinks while we played cards and checked email. The small annoyance of not being able to check email in our room was countered by the kindness of the staff and the view from the restaurant. There was also a common computer in the lobby for any guest to use, which we also took advantage of. 3) We didn't speak much Spanish and there a few staff who didn't speak English well, and these language barriers caused some confusion and could be considered as "poor customer service" by others.

Even so, the hotel is well priced that we overlooked these issues and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Beth S.

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are pleased to heard that you enjoyed our privilege location in the old town in Quito, also our restaurant and it's food.

I'm really sorry to heard that you had problems with the wifi in your room, I have send your comment to our Maintenance Department, so this won't happen again. Please receive our apologies.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Quito, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    87
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
77
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Don't expect frills. There are three floors and no elevator. The WiFi worked only occasionally. After having difficulty getting connected, we were told that the password had been changed. You'd think the staff would let the guest know of the change. The restaurant was convenient and the view from the top floor was exceptional. Sorry, we can't say as much for the food or bar. The location was the best part of this hotel. It's centrally located within Old Town Quito. The street noise was overwhelming - bring ear plugs and a sleeping mask.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are really sorry to heard that our receptionist did not tell you about the change in the password, please receive our apologies.

Thank you for your feedback about the restaurant, this helps us improve. I will forward your comments to our Food and Beverages Department.

We are pleased to heard that you enjoyed our privileged location, close to most interest places and the view from our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEX
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fortunately I only stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The guy who is in the front desk during the afternoons has a very bad service attitude. Wifi is not good, it is pain to connect to the network and every 30 minutes the Internet connection was dropped. In the nights there was not hot water. The response I get from the guy of front desk was "you need to wait until the hot water comes" I spent more than 15-20 mins and hot water never came. Breakfast is just regular. Beds are horrible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and for taking the time to write about your stay. I am really disappointed to heard that your experience with us was not up to your satisfaction. Please receive our sincere apologies.

We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your next visit to Quito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We chose this hotel based on TA reviews. The hotel is in a lovely old building and pleasingly appointed. The first room we had, 205, had the most horrible, rock hard, slab of a bed one could ever want. Avoid at all costs unless you like having a view and don't mind sleeping on cement.

The front facing rooms also are going to be noisier than interior rooms.

Bathroom is modern, you do have hot water, which many hotels dubiously claim.

The hotel graciously moved us to an interior room down the hall from the restaurant, and thankfully so. I think people avoid the "interior rooms" which clearly don't get as much use, and the bathroom was in much better shape, softer bed, better linens.

We found an online price for the Patio Andaluz for $110, and to be fair, for $35 more that hotel was 100x nicer.

The other plus for this hotel is that it has a wonderful restaurant. Finding restaurants in Old Town, for us anyway, seemed challenging.

All in all, not quite what I was expecting for $75, seems high, but Quito's hotel prices seem far above what the hotel worth really is.

Room Tip: avoid Room 205 at all costs, unless you like cement floors for a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to heard that you enjoyed our hotel's location and restaurant.

I believe your displeasure about the bed is based on taste, which also we appreciate, However, most of our guest love the bed of room 205, in fact they ask specially to stay in that room, but others prefer other rooms with softer beds. We are really sorry it was not of your approval.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, Northern CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived at 1 am and stayed only for one night.

+ Our room was adequate--small but clean, and with a huge bed, which was a blessing, given our late arrival. We didn't have any disturbances are night and slept until 8:30 am.
++ The location was great, walking distance from the old-town monuments.
++ The views from the restaurant (where we had breakfast in the morning) were amazing, with the Plaza de Santo Domingo and distant houses.
-- Breakfast was the worst--there was a variety of items (eggs, sausage, fruit, milk, cereal, yoghourt, juices, coffee, bread and humitas--similar to the Mexican tamales), but each was bland, lacking flavor. (We found that throughout our trip in Ecuador, juices are watery, they seem to be 50% juice and 50% water.)

+ Other pluses of the hotel was free wifi and a safe deposit box. We toured the city during the day, leaving our belongings in the hotel until 8 pm. The hotel staff was courteous and helped us arrange the taxi to take us to our next accommodation (a room by the airport, as we were flying out early the following morning).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are delighted to heard that you enjoyed the room, the view, the location and our front desk service.
In the other hand we are sorry you did not like the breakfast, your observations will be analyzed on our Food and beverages department.
We really appreciate your constructive feedback, this gives us the opportunity to constantly find ways to improve and also measure the quality of our service.

Thank you very much for the great picture taken from our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had a nice stay here. I read the reviews on trip advisor and was expecting it to be poor. However, I was pleasantly surprised. It was a very clean room with a modern bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the location was great. Most things were in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am so glad to heard that you enjoyed our hotel features as well as our privileged location.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Real Audiencia for your stay in Quito. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

it does have one or two disadvantages, the main one being the noise from the streets below. But let's start with the positives. The hotel is ideally located to explore the historic district; the rooftop restaurant is a delight providing a marvellous first view of the city when one has arrived from the airport at midnight the evening before. We were greeted by a very courteous night porter at that late hour who promptly assigned us to a small twin bedded room with a view of the central service area through one window and another window onto the landing! We'd ordered a "matrimonial bed in a room with a view" and with only a small moment of hesitation we were re-assigned to number 105, a spacious accommodation on the first floor with a delightfully large window, clean refurbished bathroom and coffee maker etc. But oh dear, what a mistake that proved to be as the police and/or ambulances announced their presence several times during the night, the dawn chorus of a flock of lovely little pigeon-like birds on nearby windowsills started as the sun rose over the church on the other side of the square and pedestrians and traffic in serious volumes determined that further sleep was not to be, tired as we were after our long flight from Los Angeles. After two nights we'd had enough and requested a second room change and found ourselves in a quirky little twin bedded room on the top floor with a second pair of beds on a mezzanine tucked under the eaves and accessed by steep staircase and hiding a window at roof level that could be opened to provide us with a plentiful supply of fresh air without the noise! It is what could be best described as an interesting old hotel, it does indeed need a touch of TLC, but as other reviewers have already noted it is clean, the plumbing is good with excellent hot showers, the breakfast is more than adequate even if somewhat unimaginative, the staff are helpful and polite and the location cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor if you want a reasonable chance of undisturbed sleep. The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHRA, General Manager at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Taran H,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our rooftop restaurant view of the Plaza and the Panecillo (virgin of Quito in a hill at 9.842 ft.). This is definitely one of the hotel pluses.

As you well mentioned, our location is unbeaten, this because of it's closeness to different interest places such as churches, plazas and museums. But, since is in downtown sometimes is a little noisy (ambulances and/ or police), unfortunately this is out of our hands, but for this reason we have rooms with view towards the street (with no-noise windows) and internal rooms with view towards the internal patio, for all of our guests preferences.

Thank you again for your observations, this is really helpful for us to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real Audiencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Audiencia

Address: Bolivar Oe-3-18 | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real Audiencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Real Audiencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Audiencia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real Audiencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.