We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS HOSTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Del Maple to your Saves list
Posada Del Maple
Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 155 Quito B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“AVOID THIS HOSTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The personnel is helpless, they give you the wrong information about busses and schedules, internet DOESN'T WORK, rooms are barely OK, bathrooms are badly cleaned.
Incompetent, dirty and bad wifi. CRAP!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela G, Propietario at Posada Del Maple, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Google Translation
Me he tomado algunos días para responder ya que la situación fue extrema. El hostal es conocido en el mundo de los viajeros internacionales desde hace más de 22 años y ha sido ampliamente recomendado a través de los años, de tal forma que hemos crecido desde 3 habitaciones a 18 y, personas cecanas tienen 4 hostales que nacieron por nuestra demanda. Nuestras instalaciones mejoran permanentemente porque yo soy viajera y respondo a lo que veo se puede necesitar o mejorar después de cada experiencia nueva. Lamentablemente no se puede complacer a todos y, aunque durante los 22 años de existencia hemos tenido algunos problemas (algunos por situaciones ajenas a nuestra responsabilidad), podemos contar con los dedos de una mano los similares al ocurrido con la señora que escribe la queja. El hostal cuenta con servicio de 2 cabinas de internet y zona wifi, lo que implicó inversión y significa un alto gasto mensual, pero es imposible garantizar el servicio de un proveedor. La pasajera empezó el reclamo porque ese momento (según ella,ya que otros pasajeros dijeron lo contrario) no había servico de wi fi, para luego protestar por todo, entre eso la información sobre buses al aeropuerto (aunque la información está expuesta claramente en carteles en sitios estratégicos). Después agredió a la empleada de turno al extremo de casi llegar a la violencia física. pOr el escándalo acudió el gerente y en respuesta a sus gritos y amenaza de que se iría a otro hostal y exigir la devolución de su pago total de su estadía (3 días), el gerente pidió se le devuelva el importe del día y le pidió abandonar el hostal, lo que llevó tiempo y más agresión. Lo extraño es que la señora había llegado el 1 de abril y se alojó sin ningún problema y con buena actitud, retornó el 5 y recien el 6 a las 8 pm con una actitud totalmemente fuera de lo aceptable, se dió el suceso. Debo aclarar que para poder retornar a la calma y que la señora abandone nuestras instalaciones, se le devolvió el importe completo del día 6, aunque eran las 8 pm y había pagado con tarjeta, por lo que no solo perdimos el día de hospedaje sino el IVA y la comisión que cobra la tarjeta,
Como propietaria del hostal rechazo la agresión y falta de respeto a cualquier miembro del personal, más aun a Judith que ha trabajado con nosotros desde la apertura y ha probado su compromiso con su trabajo y responsabilidades por más de 22 años.
Aprovecho para expresar mi disconformidad sobre el que las personas puedan exponer temas como estos sin firma ni nombre. Por supuesto, sé el nombre de la pasajera pero no he querido escribirlo por principio ético, sin embargo creo que los propietarios y administradores de los negocios deberíamos tener la posibilidad de exponer el nombre y datos completos de este tipo de personas para alertar a otros de negocios similares.
Manuela Gallegos, propietaria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
30
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights and booked via booking.com. We had a really good deal which resulted in good room (private twin) for a few bucks. The hostel is big and you have good internet signal. The staff is helpfull and friendly. Breakfast is very simple, but is enough to start-up. Next to that, the location of the hostel is very goog. It is located near a bus-stop, the nightlife, restaurants.

Room Tip: If you walk to the street where the bus drives, you'll find a good working ATM (which are genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This small hostel is very comfortable, the beds are clean and comfy. The eggs and toast breakfast is a little repetitive, but ample. The place is nice and quiet with respectful people. Not a place to really hang out and get to know other travelers. All the furnishings and decor is a little tired out and worn. BUT! there is this horrible barking dog in the next lot which can ruin a lovely afternoon nap or rest on the rooftop and will definitely wake you for breakfast. It barks loudly on and off for most of the day and afternoon. If the owners could solve this, the stay would be much better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are tidy and clean, the water is nice and hot and the showers are good. Any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I arrived late at night and as arranged there was an airport pick up waiting for me!!! I was delighted the hostel were ale to organise this for me, for an extra charge of USD10 On arrival I had booked the "mini suite" as recommended on other reviews. The room was clean and comfortable if a little dated. Breakfast was ok...fresh orange juice, a piece of water melon, toast and some fairly dodgy scrambled eggs.... I would have preferred just cereal and toast instead of the eggs, however that didn't seem to be available....however for the price it was fine (USD28 for the night....I paid a little extra for the "mini suite" standard rooms are cheaper) Staff were very pleasant and friendly. I left early the next morning, so didn't really use any of the communal areas but they looked nice and had comfy couches and also there was a free wifi!! All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Normally I don't complain, but try to make do with what's dealt to me. But i can't this time.

We told them we would be arriving late, they sent a taxi in advance to meet us at the airport, but when we got to the hostel and showed them our reservation, they didn't have what we requested. Instead we were put into an attic room with the twins tucked under the angled roof.

The next day they did move us to an appropriate room, but the bathroom was small and moldy. The breakfast was lousy. The next two days we choose to forego their free breakfast and eat out.

And the wifi never worked, even in the common area where the signal was strongest. It simply wasn't connected to the internet, and no one was ever there to correct it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela G, Owner at Posada Del Maple, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Google Translation
Es imposible hacer felices a todos aunque tratamos. Las casas son adaptadas para el servicio de hostal a diferencia de los hoteles construidos para ese propósito, por lo que nuestras habitaciones difieren la una de otra. Hacemos mantenimiento permanente y pintamos rotativamente las habitaciones, aunque por nuestro alto nivel de ocupación es complicado. Reservamos de acuerdo a la disponibilidad y solicitud de tipo de habitación, si no tenemos disponible la solicitada, explicamos cual hemos reservado. Me sorprende que nuestro desayuno no haya sido suficiente: café, té, chocolate, leche, tostadas, mantequilla, mermelada casera, huevos, fruta, jugo natural, ya que nuestros huéspedes felicitan este servicio, además de tener una cocina comunal equipada y con auto servicio de cafetería permanente. Respecto al servicio de internet, a pesar de ser un hostal de precios medios contamos con grandes espacios comunales, 2 cabinas de internet, 1 de ellas con Skype y WIFI, todo gratuito. Desde de hace unos meses estabamos en el proceso de cambiar de proveedor de servicio porque no cumplía con la calidad de servicio requerido a pesar de su alto costo. En días pasados pudimos concluir el proceso y esperamos poder cumplir con las expectativas de nuestos cliéntes. Sugiero incluir fechas de estadía y nombrres de pasajeros para poder contestar con mayor exactitud a cualquier queja. Manuela, propietaria,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Virginian
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after we arrived in Quito just after midnight. The hotel arranged for us to have a taxi waiting at the airport, which was a relief as we didn't have to think about picking a safe taxi, insisting they use the meter/negotiating a price.

The hotel was also quickly responsive by email.

Other than that is was pretty average. It's in a nice residential street within easy walking distance of a couple of restaurants. The room was clean but the bathroom ceiling was covered with mold. The bathroom stayed humid long after showering, even with the window opened so I imagine that is the reason for the mold. But the shower was hot and all the parts you would touch in the bathroom were clean.

Breakfast is eggs, toast, a banana, cereal and coffee or tea.

The room was really cold at night and unlike some other places we stayed there was no space heater or fireplace. Also, you are counting on other guests to be considerate of the noise they make because you can hear most of the other noise going on around the place. The biggest negative here was actually that neighborhood dogs bark....and bark and bark and bark, all morning long. There's nothing the hotel can do about it, of course, but it would lead me to pick a place that has better noise insulation in the future.

Their courtyard and common areas are nice but the staff cleaning used some horrible chemical on the floors that smelled like straight turpentine. A diesel-like smell permeated the place for hours afterwards and made it unpleasant to hang around.

Wi-fi was spotty in the room but worked in the dining area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Posada del Maple is located on Juan Rodriguez, a quiet, tree-lined street in the heart of the Mariscal that manages to be close to everything, but feel tucked away. There are lots of other hotels on this street, but almost all of them are pricier than Posada del Maple, which has nice common areas, clean & comfy rooms, good breakfast, and wifi. It's a great value for the price, especially if you can book the mini-suite (room #18).

Room Tip: Room #18 (the mini-suite) is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Del Maple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.