We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cultura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cafe Cultura to your Saves list
Cafe Cultura
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Robles 513 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English. The breakfast was eggs and bread. There was nothing super special about this hotel but I would stay there again if I went back to Quito.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCultura, Propietario at Cafe Cultura, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your kind message, it seems that your booking was with American Breakfast included at it is a pitty you didn`t had the opportunity to enjoy one of ours most incredibily tasty and specially prepared breakfast, ranging from tunisian omelette to traditiona english breakfast.
Therefore the next time you come to Quito do please stay with us and take your time and enjoy one of our menu breakfast on my behalf.

Looking forward to hearing from you, wishing you the best in your journeys.

Cafe Cultura Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    40
    22
    11
See reviews for
35
86
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is not a chain hotel. It is totally unique. You know that you are in Ecuador. Every room is completely different. No elevator, so if you are on the third floor you take the stairs, but they will carry your luggage. The beds are comfortable. They supply a pitcher of filtered water and glasses so you don't have to drink the tap water. The ground floor restaurant is excellent and the service is very personal. The dishes are similar to American food but just enough different so that you know you aren't at home. Tree tomato juice is nothing like our bush tomatoes. It is delicious. The owner gave us good off site restaurant recommendations.
The will arrange for a car and driver to pick you up at the airport. He was there waiting for us even though our plane was two hours late. This service is definately worth the peace of mind.

Room Tip: check out the rooms on line and ask for the one you want. Each one is totally different. Our first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was scouting for hotels in Quito to accommodate my (small) groups in Winter and wanted something cozy but refined and here it was ... Hotel Café Cultura.
Located in the Mariscal District, it is a perfect spot to settle in. The owner, an architect, with local artists has transformed this historical home into a beautiful work of art. The dining room has a great menu and the common rooms or salons are perfect for lounging, reading and getting to know other guests. Prices are reasonable and you can get deals during off season.
V

Room Tip: Apparently room number 9 has great pillows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had room number nine and the bed and pillows were to die for. It was our first hotel in Ecuador and the best. We spent more but liked this one the best. The staff was very helpful, Luis spoke his spanish slowly for me as I was learning, Andres was wonderful as a waited and the desk staff was ever so helpful. Only complaint was the restaurant had no wine though it was on the menu and one bottle of beer for us to split. Not a serious things but since it doesn't spoil you would think they could have some always on hand. Location was great. They were out of maps (keeping stocked seems to be a problem) but a short walk to the Hop on Hop off bus took us right outside the Hilton where we asked for directions and they gave us maps and more info. Very accommodating. We would definately stay at the Cafe Cultura again and request room number nueve!

Room Tip: Number 9 has a terriffic bed and pillows. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCultura, Propietario at Cafe Cultura, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dir Sir/Madam,

A thousand thanks for your kind message about Cafe Cultura. It is great to know that you thoroughly enjoy our beds and pillows, and it is a pitty that we run out of wine, it seems that previously to our arrival we had a large group apperantly consumed most of our wine and sinced they wer numorous all 42 of them they did in fact appropiate all of our maps, apparently our printed information is on hide the man.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Cafe Cultura Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo Aussie in Europe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The first thing to strike you on entering the hotel is how beautiful the walls look - all of them, in every room, are floor to ceiling frescoes. The staff are excellent - all were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. They also manned the desk 24 hour per day. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are comfortable, and the restaurant is excellent. The location is great - within walking distance of the Mariscal square, the El Ejido Park and right next to the Artisan Market. The pre-made breakfast packs for people travelling to the airport at ridiculously early hours were a particularly nice touch. The downsides - if they fail to get their delivery of gas bottles (for instance on public holidays) then there is no hot water in the rooms. Also, room 7 is located above a noisy bus station which seems to operate all night long. Finally, they keep the only entrance to the hotel padlocked for most of the time - while it provides security, it means that you always have to get a staff member to let you in or out. Overall, it's certainly not 5-star accommodation, but it doesn't pretend to be.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 7 and 8 if possible, so that you are not located over the all-night bus station. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCultura, Propietario at Cafe Cultura, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I`m pleased to read that you enjoy Cafe Cultura, I wish to inform you you that we solve the gas delivery holiday delyas that your experience while you stayed with us.
Cafe Cultura is private hotel and mean fore our main gate is always closed, allowing guest to feel at home at enjoy the garden as they see fit. I`m terribly sorry that this created a little bit of inconvinience for you but is just our style to doing things.

Hopely in the future you`ll come back to Quito and give us the opportunity to llok back for you.

Cafe Cultura Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Could not find Rent 4 wheel drive on Trip Advisor so am using Cafe Cultura to rate Rent 4 Wheel drive. cafe Cultura is one of The Exclusive Hotels and Haciendas of Ecuador's properties and they also have Rent 4 Wheel Drive. We rented a car for four days, it was a Hyundai minivan with a turbo Diesel engine. Plenty of power for the mountain roads, plenty of space for 4 people and our luggage. Edison Sola, our driver, spoke good English, was a safe driver and while not a guide, was very helpful in explaining his country and leading us to experiences and sites we would not have discovered without him. He was always on time and had a good sense of humor. Jenna Manders the person I coordinated with was very helpful and responsive, even calling me at one point to finalize details. If you are looking for a safe, reliable car and driver in Ecuador, at a reasonable price, contact Rent4 Wheel Drive.
Rent 4 Wheel Drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

day starts early as half the guests depart for galapagas at 6 in the morning.
No elevator, lots of stairs however. Good food in the restaurant. Central location near a large park.
fairly expensive, no place to park a vehicle.

Room Tip: stay at the rabitta instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCultura, Propietario at Cafe Cultura, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dir Sir/Madam,

I`m terribly sorry that we didn`t meet your expectations do to the lack of elevator in our stablishment, you see the fact that we operate from a listed building limits the possibilities from having one.

The next time you come back Quito, we`ll make sure you have a beutiful room in the ground floor.

Whishing you the best.

Cafe Cultura Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cafe Cultura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Cultura

Address: Robles 513 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cafe Cultura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cafe Cultura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Cultura Quito
Cafe Cultura Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cultura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.