We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Gold Gold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus

Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus
Benalcazar 562 y Antonio Jose de Sucre, Quito, Ecuador
2581-895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 103 attractions in Quito
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This Jesuit church is a masterpiece of baroque and Quiteno-colonial art with lavish golden altars and gilded columns, making it one of the most ornate structures in Ecuador.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gold Gold Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The use of what must have been Inca gold to decorate the church demonstrates the power and influence of the conquering religion. It is well worth a visit. Cameras are prohibited.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    171
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dripping with gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A fairly typical Roman Catholic church in that it is impressively ornate and seem to be almost entirely clothed in gold. I find that slightly disturbing given how poor Ecuador is. Worth a look though and definitely a 5 for those who admire the style.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staggeringly beautiful, not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The gilded scuptures, decorations, the whole experience of
the best of rococo Spanish Catholic churches in the New World. Possibly the most beautiful in South AMerica, along with Colombia.
I wish we had had more time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible piece of art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited this church in company of our guide Johanna from EQ touring. I have never seen such a construction with so much decoration and gold, this is probably the nicest church I have ever been to. Worth to see it with someone that can explain what you see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Probably the coolest church I have ever been too. I spent a few hours inside climbing different staircases and viewing all the different scenery. There is a separate charge if you want to climb to the top of the two clocks. (I don't know why you wouldn't) Tons of great scenery up there, and good photo shots.

A Must go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus to your Saves list