We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but hard beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dann Carlton Quito to your Saves list
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Republica de El Salvador N34-377 e Irlanda, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but hard beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel is located in a nice part of town, it has a beautiful large lobby, a nice restaurant, casino and business center. We were upgraded for being travel agents to a suite, ample but bed mattress was too hard and bathroom was clean but dated.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    127
    40
    14
    14
See reviews for
36
71
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights while doing business in Quito. Overall, I liked it and would stay again. Having said this, you should prepare yourself when you get to the hotel. I was lucky as my Ecuadorian colleague checked me in. He asked for top floor facing a school. I had room 1103.

The room itself is very nice. I had 2 double beds that's really comfortable. You also get free wireless internet with good speed and the lightening in the room is fine.

However, I gave this star only 3 stars because there were minor annoyances.

1. Air control setting has 2 buttons: "hot" or "cold". You can't adjust the temperature, therefore you don't know what temperature is hot or cold. In the "cold" setting I couldn't get my room cooler than 25C. I called the front desk & they sent a mechanic right away. He turned off the "cold" button and turned it back on. He then said wait 10 minutes. I told him I've had the "cold" button on for an hour already. However, I waited. After another hour, they sent a translator and the same mechanic back. The said they'll adjust the temperature to 23C, but the reality is in room 1103 you can't adjust the temperature. It was better to turn the air control off. Alternatively, there is a window you can open a little. This was nice as you can get fresh air.

2. While I was on the quiet side of the hotel and on 11th floor, the hotel is close to the airport and you'll hear them fly by.

3. Bathroom water pressure is really poor.
- When you turn the sink faucet on, it was like a sprinkler system. However, there's only 12 little sprinkles, but the pressure is high and when you wash anything, you end up spraying water all over the place.
- Shower facet was more like a trickle. I suppose they're trying to conserve water so if I look at it that way, I guess I can't complain too much. Overall, the bathroom is clean and good size.

4. Breakfast is excellent. There's good selection of fruit and juice. However, I agree with other reviewers that it can get a bit crowded. The hotel actually has another eating area across the hall from where the main buffet and eating area is. Even though the room where the buffet was full, the other room was almost empty. I don't think people knew there was another room as strangers were sharing tables to eat.

Since this was a business trip, I didn't venture out so I can't comment on that. However, the hotel is good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Good rooms, friendly service - all you'd expect from a business-type hotel. Two drawbacks though. On both nights I've stayed it's been noisy (there's a concert going on in the park outside right now) and the second complaint is that if the hotel is fairly full the breakfast facilities are inadequate. Queued sixteen minutes the first morning and seven minutes the second for breakfast. The location isn't bad other than it's quite a long way north of the old city which is the usual tourist destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on four separate occasions during my 3 weeks in Ecuador. The rooms are large and comfortable and there is free wireless internet. It's only a short stroll down to Quito's major shoppping complex, Quicentre, which is handy for both shopping and budget eating.
A large buffet breakfast was also included and there were also other facilities, like the gym if you wished.
One time I did get a noisy room (the disco) but then the next time I came I asked for a quiet room and got a suite.
The staff were always friendly, and I frequently used the storage facilities

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed here top-and-tailing a Galapagos trip. It is more swish than we are used to, but tha'ts OK for the experience. The staff were excellent, as was the food. The location is a bit out of the way, but it is close to the Botanic Garden and Herpetarium and park, and taxis are cheap. It also seems to have a tower of rooms that face the flight-path, so on our second visit we were woken by planes going past our window. The second room also seemed to have no air-con control (no air-con?), but you couldnt leave the windows open because of the noise. The first room facing the school was great. Our friends had to asked to be moved from their room because of the noise from the discos downstairs, so if you get a noisy room just ask for a quiet one - there are some. We probably wouldn't go back, but not because it's bad, it's just not us. We preferred the Old Town at 1/3rd the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here before and after our trip to the Galapagos. What an absolutely perfect way to begin and end our trip of a lifetime.
We still can't believe how inexpensive this beautiful hotel is for how much it offers. The rooms are very spacious and incredibly comfortable. The service was wonderful. The concierge recommended Quito restaurants that still remain some of our favorite places to eat in the world. My husband and I travel quite a bit and forget most hotels we stay in unless they were extremely bad or extremely great. The Hotel Dann Carlton in Quito is one of those rare exceptionally great hotels that we have no reservations in recommending.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at the Dann Carlton for one night at the start of Friendly Planet's Exotic Equador tour and for two nights at the end. We had the same room on both stays. It turned out to be a smoking room, but the windows were open on arrival and the room had very little odor. For those real sensative to smoke it might have been a problem, but we were OK with it.

The room and hotel were clean, the breakfast was good and the staff friendly. We used the business center to print our boarding passes for our flight out of Miami and had a little trouble figuring out the printer--the front desk was quick to assist and solve the problem.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is aircraft noise, but most flights are done by 11 PM. Otherwise the hotel was quiet. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N34-377 e Irlanda, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the best area of the city, is surrounded by modern buildings, close to offices and companies such as Bayer, Petroecuador, Petroamazonas, Avianca, etc. Within walking distance of the most important Park in the city, "Parque La Carolina", ideal for walking and exercising, its location allows quick access to the route closest to the international airport, which is 30-45 minutes out of town, the Hotel has two towers of rooms and Suites consists of 210 rooms and suites, with King or Queen beds, a Dann Carlton Suite with all amenities, wi-fi free of charge in all rooms and public areas, restaurant offering a wide variety of delicious national and international dishes, a Cafeteria serving breakfast and lunch buffet daily, Room Service, a European style coffee with delicacies in pastry, bakery, coffee, etc. A full gym with a heated swimming pool with retractable roof, hot tub, wet areas for men and women, Squash Court, the hotel also offers 12 comfortable and versatile meeting rooms/ballroom for social events and business meetings, with all the audio and video support and infrastructure, the staff always offers a friendly and professional kind service to all guests and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.