We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional to your Saves list
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cordero 1342 & Ave. Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Quito
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“decent hotel, good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a decent hotel for tourists and even for business travelers. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean. The only thing that seriously bothered me was the excessive security with their wireless network. On my IPhone I had to enter the password on a special web-site every single time in order to connect. This does not make sense. Other than that it was ok. Beware, the area around the hotel can get noisy at night. Location is good if you want to visit La Mariscal, the tourist district of Quito, otherwise known as gringolandia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
36
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nothing spectacular here. Probably when the old airport was operating, this would have been a good location. Now it is quite noisy, but interior rooms are quieter. Room was clean and A/C somewhat worked. Hot shower in the morning which can be a bit of a luxury item in the parts of Ecuador we visited. For the money, in this part of town, there isn't much else to compete with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a group as our original hotel was fully booked. Really great rooms, with, tv and wifi. Food was great, breakfast buffet was open until 1030 so could get a lay in too!!! It's a short walk to the nightlife and restaurants. Never felt threatened when drinking and the local people were amazing in the bars. Also a short walk to parks with traditional markets, so an ideal place to stay.
We also came back here as was one of the only hotels to let you walk straight to a room late at night, only trouble expensive for people travelling, but came in for me in an emergency.

Staff were excellent and helped lots with booking taxis and city attractions, great place to stay

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, NZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having read reviews on this hotel was expecting it to be fairly noisy but didn't realise the extent. Stayed here three times for two or three nights with a week in between. This is a Peregrine hotel in Quito, so if you go to the Galapagos or the Amazon you will always come back here before you go out again. As a previous traveler said they need to replace their windows. From every room we had we heard taxis tooting, cars revving and tooting, sirens howling, people yelling and a disco thumping away near by. This is the noisiest hotel I have been in! The staff seem quite pleasant and willing to help. I thought the restaurant was ok, nothing wrong with it. Breakfast was also reasonable. We had no trouble with our luggage, it appeared very quickly. I didn't think the location was fantastic. Laundry service was also excellent. Same day service and cheap.

Room Tip: Haven't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a real find in Quito and a great value. It's a business hotel so there are not a lot of amenities and really for Quito it's totally adequate. The area can be a bit sketchy at night but there are a number of excellent restaurants close by. Be sure to use the staff to call your cab. They monitor which cab picks you up and which one brings you back which can be a real help. I mention this because the standard procedure when you get a cab is to tell them where you want to go and ask how much it will cost. Our cabbie simply pointed to the meter which every cab is supposed to have but few do. Our previous experience with a metered cab had been excellent so we thought we were set. WRONG! We went to El Panecillo a common viewpoint where you can overlook the city. When we got there he asked if we wanted him to wait because he said cabs don't generally come up there so we asked if there was an additional charge and he said no. We spent about 25 minutes walking around and returned to the cab. We went back to the Hotel only to find the fare was $50.00! YIKES. We paid but when we went into the Hotel we checked at the desk about the fare and they said absolutely not and called the cab company right back. On check out about 30 minutes later they gave us a $27.00 refund in cash and apologized for the problem. Outstanding!
We had requested a room on an upper floor which we got. It was room 908 which was away from the street and high enough that traffic noise was not a problem. The room was spotless, linen excellent, and the minibar while expensive was very well stocked.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rlecaros, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We actually stayed there twice, about a week apart. Very friendly staff, but extremely slow. It starts when you check in. DO NOT LET THEM TAKE YOUR LUGGAGE. They will argue with you, but sit on it if you have to. If they take it, it will be _hours_ before you see it again. The Bar/restaurant in open 24 hours, but it is not clear that anyone actually works there 24 hours. Ordered a simple dinner, Water with ice, milkshake and banana split (the weather was hot, the hotel is not air-conditioned, and I wanted only cold things to eat). After about 20 minutes the bottle of water came. Half and hour later, the glass of ice. After another hour, the food still had not come (I was told the 'ice cream technician' was busy). At which time we decided to give up and go to bed. After some arguing I finally got the charges for the food we never received removed from our bill. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough, but a bit noisy. I would probably not stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Was with a group from 21 -26 MARCH 2013 all the previous reviews very helpful...I got a corner room hi up 602 and had an awesome view of the intersection & Copaxi (sp) Yes the streets were noisey, yes the restaurant service slow but the location can't be beat, the one unfortunately speaking english receptionist m ale was so accomodating and helpful he was multitasking all the time...I'm a city girl so the street commotion just didn't bother me but others in our grp hated the noise...I would return there if I evr get back to Quito--tripadvisor reviews you rock so helpful--anyway was agreat place to stay before or after galapagos PS tp can get water bottles cheap at little snak mart around the corner for your room

Room Tip: get a big corner room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional

Address: Cordero 1342 & Ave. Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Amazonas Internacional Quito
Rio Amazonas Internacional Hotel
Hotel Rio Amazonas Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.