We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecaudor trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Colon Quito to your Saves list
Hilton Colon Quito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria, Quito, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Collingwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ecaudor trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, before, in between and after 2 separate G Adventure trips. The buffet breakfast was substantial and very good. The rooms were absolutely great - the bed so incredibly comfortable. The concierge was very helpful in terms of recommendations and directions - went out of their way. My only negative would be that one very tired evening we ordered muchies in the bar which came from the on site cafe - expensive and not very good. The hotel is located in a good area across the street from a wonderful park. We would very much recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    260
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
80
199
67
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this hotel among the better Hilton properties. Efficient, well managed and run, central location with very good services and facilities. It isn't the most romantic place to stay in the Ecuadorian capital, but it has its advantages including a spectacular view from the business lounge and some of the friendliest staff I've ever encountered.

Room Tip: Get high elevation floors facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in the hotel for few days because of a Auditing week work.
I realy feel very secure and friendly days.
Food and comodities are really good.
Be carefull with the place where the Hotel is.
Please use always Hotel Taxi to move to another location.

Room Tip: movility to another places, contact only Hotel taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON CAN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour of the Galapagos Islands in early August 2013. I was told from G Adventures via a Flight Centre rep that G Adventures has an arrangement with this hotel to get special rates (presumably if you book a tour with them.) I stayed Aug 2 & 3 and Aug 8 & 9, 2013 in rooms 553 and 463. I booked an extra night both before and after the tour and was quoted a rate of $105 CAD via G Adventures.

The hotel is modern and clean and you get a welcome drink offer coupon voucher when you check-in with your hotel card key.

If you're on a tour with G Adventures, you also have breakfast included, which is a small buffet spread in the little cafe in front of the hotel (up the stairs from the front desk).

Pro:

- Rooms are generally quiet except for the street traffic, and the odd corridor commotion, but otherwise, I saw mostly adults staying here. Not too many families with small children.

- Modern decor, spacious rooms and bathrooms.

- Staff are friendly and accommodating.

- Business: I saw a flight crew waiting for their shuttle the same time I was leaving for my return flight home, and their banquet facilities seem to be constantly in use (I noticed staff every time coming and going from the halls every time I visited the pool, and was asked once where I was going), so I got the feeling this hotel is constantly used by local businesses.

- Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the artisan craft market, and the main "Gringoland" New Town entertainment area of restaurants and nightclubs/bars. The hotel staff may suggest a taxi for you, but it's easily a 15-20min walk. There is also a park next door (across a busy main street) where there are more craft market stalls and locals selling various snacks and drinks.

- There is a little refreshment stand for guava juice, tea and coffee in front of the front desk, by the front door. I know this kind of thing is standard for most chain hotels, but little things make a difference, and you totally notice when they're not there.

Con:

- You have to pay for wifi in the rooms. I was quoted $10 per day when I phoned front desk asking about it. You can get complimentary access in the common areas, but you need to ask for the access code.

- Not all of the staff know English, (this includes the front desk). They strive to have an English-speaking concierge on duty, but it would help if you print off and bring with you some basic Spanish phrases to help bridge the communication gap. Or, download an app with Spanish phrases geared for travel.

- The pool area leaves a lot to be desired in terms of landscaping design, as you won't really get much sun, but there's a hot tub, two shaded tables with chairs and chaise lounges if you just want to get in some reading.

Overall:

I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this hotel to first timers to Quito. Some folks on my tour were backpackers who continued their journey through local hostels once they finished the tour but I was more than happy to stay the extra nights independently, since this was my hard-earned vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Recepción at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hilton Colon Quito.

Thank you for taking your time sharing your experiences and for evaluate our service during your stay.

We take seriously your suggestions and comments, though the front desk staff are well trained in customer service both in English and in Spanish and we will
take actions to improve about your concern.


Once again we appreciate your time and comments, our main objective is to meet the needs of each of our guests beyond their expectations.


Best Regards,

Front Office Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a Hilton Diamond Member, I was afforded the perks that come with the territory, i.e. upgraded room, conceirge lounge privileges, and free breakfast. Most of the staff was bilingual and knowledgable, but I did have a concern with the conceirge who told me that a taxi ride to La Mitad del Mundo, (the monument on the equator) would be $40. each way. I declined the offer for him to arrange transportation, after learning that the 22 mile trip was less than $1. bus trip each way. Hmmm....wonder how that works?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Recepción at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments and insights from his recent visit to our city and our hotel. I sincerely regret the inconvenience with the Concierge Department.
To get to the monument to the equator, a taxi costs $ 40.00 round trip, takes about forty-five minutes each way and an hour and a half visit the museum complex. Our main goal is the safety and comfort of our guests, for that reason we recommend this trip by taxi.
As you mention there is indeed public transportation, it takes to get to that place about an hour and thirty minutes, these buses have a capacity of 32 passengers seated and 20 standing, these buses do not have the necessary facilities, and during the journey make multiple stops to drop off and pick up passengers, it is true that our guests can decide the best way to experience the different forms or transported anywhere in the world. Again, our main objective is the safety, comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

Best regards,

Front Office Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After spending time in Peru in remote communities and a live aboard boat in the Galapagos this hotel really hit the spot. Nice big, clean rooms. Great beds. Helpful staff. Decent food. The only downside is that we had our luggage sent to our room and it took 45 minutes to show up - although that didn't really take away from our stay. Would definitely come back on a return visit to Quito.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel was as you would expect from a 5*. Comfortable beds, good security, etc.

Food was significantly below par. They also seemed to need to check your room for breakfast about 4 times, per breakfast, even after you'd been there for a few days. Bit annoying.

WiFi is only free on the ground floor, which is fine, except that it becomes very slow if too many people are using it.

Only problem which was really quite ridiculous was that our key cards stopped working the day before we checked out - this is a huge problem as you can't leave the reception area. Reception staff seemed baffled by this and it took a while to get back into our rooms.

However, very few complaints overall. Good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quito
#8 Family Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#11 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colon Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.