We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but too expensive for personal trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Colon Quito to your Saves list
Hilton Colon Quito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria, Quito, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Belllevue, NE
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice location but too expensive for personal trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Colon Quito is safe, in a good location, and up to Hilton standards. However, unless your company picks up the tab, there are other less-expensive and more representative of Ecuador hotels to choose from. The hotel has all the amenities you would see at any Hilton. Give yourself a day to acclimate to the elevation (9200') before using the fitness center. I would stay at the Colon for business trips but not on family vacations.

The Colon itself is about half way (1 1/2 miles) between the Old City and Quito's first-rate mall. There are many stores and restaurants nearby with varying price levels. Meals are very inexpensive while the beverages tend to be priced like in the States. There are many tours and things to do in and around Quito. The nearest volcano is accessible (to the base at least) by a cable car in a park about 2 miles from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    298
    89
    32
    17
See reviews for
93
235
74
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is in downtown Quito, currently a short drive from the airport - but a new airport at least an hour away is about to open (due Feb 2013, a little delayed). Traffic mid afternoon can/will double travel time - 35 minutes even now.
The hotel has two "wings" - the original and the new. We were in the original tower; very tired room, no toiletries until we asked, no air conditioning, noisy etc. Not Hilton normal standard by a very long way! At ground level, there is no indication that there are in fact two towers, accessed by lifts in totally different parts of the lobby area, and the lifts themselves give no indication as to which rooms they access! Fantastic if you have alot of luggage, going up in one lift only to discover that your room number is not accessible from the lift you innocently entered.

Only one restaurant, which meant queing guests from 1900 hours - we guessed that might happen so started our meal at 1830. Beware!n Prices very reasonable, but food very TexMex rather than genuine Ecuadorian.

Thje food itself aws good, the service typically South American!

Room Tip: Specify the new tower for your room! Get down for dinner early - you cannot book a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I appreciate the review of your stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here on business for seven days. Very nice hotel but expensive. Of course, as with most expensive hotels, nothing is free. You even have to pay to use the gym!!!! Pay for local calls, pay for $20 for the hotel transfer to/from airport (the old one) when a cab is $5. The Exec lounge was poorly tended and the snacks were often 'missing'. When the concierge was there, she was very helpful and nice, but rarely there. In-room internet was horrible, and yes you have to pay for that. Free internet in lobby and lounge worked great.

Staff was friendly and the hotel very crisp and clean as were the rooms. Beds were very comfortable. As others mention there is no heat in the rooms, only A/C. But even if I changed the thermostat, the room temperature seemed too remain the same. But it was a comfortable temperature (69-71).

Room Tip: I stayed on both sides of the hotel (with THE view and without). There is an extra charge if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. We do everything we can to make sure our guests have an exceptional stay. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Oasis in a chaotic big city. Great location. Everything you need is at hand. Lower rooms that are streetside can be noisy. They really keep this place up and aim to please. Super close to artisan market and park across street for outside exercise. Walkable to ex-Pat area for evening fun.

Room Tip: Go for a high room if choosing view toward Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Colon Quito on my first visit to Ecuador in January, 2013. The hotel is located in new town section, but you are only a short cab ride away from old town. My room was on the side away from the busy road, which I would recommend requesting if you are a light sleeper. Front desk personnel and concierge spoke English and were most helpful. I would especially like to compliment Oswaldo, concierge desk, for his assistance and advice. Breakfast in the upstairs lounge came with my room, and I found very adequate. Only problem was getting coffee refills, as there was just one attendant. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi were nice, as was the well equipped gym. Another plus is the executive lounge at sunset. A nice view, along with beverages and snacks.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request a room away from the busy road that runs in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed in a suite (300usd a night) in This 5 stars Hilton Hotel in the high part of the Andean Mountains at 2,800 mts above sea level,and I found out that they do not t have central air heater.
The weather was around 8 or 9 centigrades at night and no central heater.
I complained and they sent me a small old electric heater.
It continued to be cold and they sent me another heater.
The second heater made a lot of noise and couldn t sleep.
At night when it got too hot I had to stand up and unplug the heaters, next it got cold and I had to get up and plug the heaters again.
Next morning I went with a headache (because of this low quality heaters) to complain in front desk and of course they defended their position, telling me all kind of reasons why they didn t have central heater.
So I realized i was wrong and they where right, according to the people in front desk a 5 star hotel in the Andean mountains at 2,800 mts should not have central air heating system.
They told me no hotel in QUito has central heating, I found out this is a big lie.
Asked them to return my money to go to a good 5 star hotel, and they told me it was impossible.
Finally I changed to Hotel Le Parc, where I m staying at room 702 and having a great time.
They have great service and high quality air and heating system and I m paying around 200 for a better suite.
Look when I go to a 5 star Hilton I expect to push a button and be completely comfortable.
Hilton will never see me again, they have such great competitors, JW Marriott, Sheraton, Four Seasons, Intercontinetal, all over the world.
Why would I go back to a Hilton?????
They should supervise their franchisor and have them meet a standard of comfort and quality.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite (300usd a night) in This 5 stars Hilton Hotel in the high part of the Andean Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us. I understand from your review that you were disappointed with some of issues at our hotel. I truly apologize if we were not able to accommodate your needs by not having a central heating unit available. Our main priority is for all our guests to have an exceptional stay with us and I can assure you that we are currently looking into this issue. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our in-property experience.

Again, I apologize you went through any inconveniences and hope that you will consider saying with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Amazon basin and on the way back. The bedroom was excellent, with very comfortable beds. I was disappointed by the breakfast, the food was tepid and lacking in choice. However we had much better food brought to our room and in the coffee shop.
As others have mentioned the location is good, opposite the park and with a good market nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quito
#10 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#12 Family Hotel in Quito
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colon Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.