We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant Hotel with wonderful accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alameda Hotel Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alameda Hotel Mercure to your Saves list
Alameda Hotel Mercure
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Roca E4-122 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very elegant Hotel with wonderful accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is very upscale and wonderful. The staff is very accomodating and there for your every need. The rooms were clean large with a nice desk area as well as a small balcony. This is located in an interesting part of Quito...lots of neighborhood shops and the HUGE market is just a couple of blocks down, where you can spend hours if not days shopping, picking up lots of souveniers and trinkets...everything from clothing to leather goods. People watching is great here too, but rather crowded. Totally safe feeling though.

Room Tip: All rooms were located in a rather quiet area, as the building is built on an angular shape. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Quito, December, 16 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    221
    64
    18
    7
See reviews for
51
144
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions. First time had a nice, two room suite on an upper floor. The second time had a Mecure "preferred" room on a lower floor, which was actually nicer then the suite. It was definitely renovated, felt comfortable with nice decorations and newer amenities (robe, better bathroom offerings, etc) the suite didn't have. Both rooms were acceptable, although lacking heat-a heater was promptly brought up by the staff. Hotel was clean, public spaces nice, breakfast adequate although lacking water (you could pay for it.) Wifi was clear in lobby but often went out in rooms (had to get a password-which was free-but didn't stay connected). I did find connectivity better on the lower floors.
One thing that bothered me was the lack of concerige service provided by the hotel. If they don't want to staff a concierge, okay-but your front desk should then be knoweldgeable of the area. We wanted to find this amazing market we stumbled upon on our first stay that was close by-the desk stared at us blankly then at the map when asked. No one could recommend a store to by cigars or a place to shop. Very odd.
Other then that, in a good location near a lot of places to eat, drink and shop (and ATMs). Safe area (I was worried based on stories I'd heard), which made me feel a lot better.

Room Tip: Lower floors seemed to be renovated and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed as part of Gate 1 Tour. Hotel has a upscale reception area, with a seafood as well as a bakery/pizza style restaurant, couple of meeting rooms, computer terminals and a gymn (on 5th floor). Our room was decent with a flat screen TV, safe, fridge and decent fixtures. It also had partial city views. Breakfast for vegetarians included some very delicious fruits, many breads, scrambled eggs, pure fruit juices (no water or sugard added) and some Ecuadorian items (hot).
WiFi worked well.
There is a Pizza hut within a few minutes walk and a square with many restaurants and lots of night life reachable in 10 minutes (2 blocks right, 5 blocks left from hotel and then right on Fosch).
The only problem during our stay was that the room had no fan/AC that one could control and some noises carried from other rooms/outdside street (even on the 9th floor).

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Quito, November, 25 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
842 reviews 842 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The Mercure Alameda in Quito bills itself on its website as one of Quito's finest hotels. It isn't - by a long way. The public areas on the ground floor have been modernised and look really modern and smart, but the rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. The bed is comfortable and is huge, but the bathroom is old and tired, the shower is either scalding hot or freezing cold, the toilet needs to be flushed 2 or 3 times, the lights didn't all work, the staff were not so helpful (though were friendly), and although the breakfasts were excellent, the general sense we had during our 4 days here were that this place is in need of a lot of modernisation. The gym was a joke - half of the equipment didn't work and was easily 10-15 years old... Out key-cards only worked half the time too. Try other places in Quito for higher standards.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The room we got has a good separate hall, just like a Jr Suite. Service was good and food was nice as well and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. It is situated in the New town and very close to a few artesanal market just 2 blocks away and just a few minutes walking to the park. If you are here for meetings at the government offices, this hotel is very near to them.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a tour. Good quality hotel. Lack of AC strange but no problem in October for us. Service good. Spicy restaurant more than adequate. Location good, close to artisan market (3 blocks) Foch Street Square restaurant area (7 blocks) Need a taxi to go to the historical town centre. Would stay there again. Any hotel in the same area is a long ride from the airport. (90 minutes average)

Room Tip: If facing Amazonas Street get a room on top floors esp. if you like an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Quito, November, 19 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of Quito but a two hour drive from the airport. Could not believe there was no AC, first hotel I have stayed in with no AC ever.

Breakfast was barely average but ok. Reception was good and concierge helped us with directions etc.

Very busy for traffic, and I sure wouldn't want to live here regardless of the cheap costs. They kept telling us how safe the city was but...............police everywhere and all places had bars on windows????

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Quito, november, 19 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alameda Hotel Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alameda Hotel Mercure

Address: Ramon Roca E4-122 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alameda Hotel Mercure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 600 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Alameda Hotel Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alameda Hotel Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.