We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alameda Hotel Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alameda Hotel Mercure to your Saves list
Alameda Hotel Mercure
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Roca E4-122 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Quito
York Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“very nice hotel,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two days at the beginning of a ten day stay in Ecuador and for one night at the end.The two night stay we had a very large room on thr eighth floor.On our return we had a smaller room but it was quite nice.The wifi was free ,The morning breakfast came with the room and was more than acceptable, I found all the staff very helpful when asking for help of any kind(which appears to be contrary to what alot of people have written).The reason I did not give it a five is two reasons.The first is the location is not near a lot of things you might want to visit,but cabs are cheap.The second is kinda funny.I read on trip advisor that a number of people had trouble getting toilet paper for there room.As soon as I got to the room it was clean but no toilet paper.I rang the front desk and within five minutes it was delivered.

Room Tip: high room at the back of the hotel ,our corner room was bigger than our other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest:
On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    221
    64
    18
    7
See reviews for
51
144
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we spent 3 nights at the Hoel Mercure Alameda in Quito. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were all very friendly. We had the breakfast buffet which was a good size and very tasty. We were able to walk to a very nice museum, shops and restaurants. There were clean cabs in a constant line in front of the hotel so that was convenient when we wanted to go a further distance. When we were headed to the airport we asked the bellman for our stored luggage and he checked out the cab driver and cab before letting us go with him. His thumbs up on our transportation made us feel more comfortable.
The only negative we found was that the wifi signal was weak in our room. better in the lobby.

Room Tip: I would ask if there are rooms where the wifi signal is stronger and get one of those if that is imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant hotel in a fair location. Room service and restaurant was adequate. Sushi bar was good. A bit noisy at night both outside and inside and the school group of noisy teenagers who checked in as we left would have spoilt the stay if we had overlapped!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to our trip to the Galapagos Islands and four nights after the trip. The rooms were spacious and clean; however, there was little ventilation, as only one window out of nine (or so) opened. One other quibble was that several of the front-staff members were not very courteous. All-in-all, we did enjoy our stay at the hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were booked here by our Galapagos tour company ROAM and found the facilities well-suited to the needs of short term visitors with strange hours. Our flight brought us in at midnight; we left at 2:30 a.m. to catch our return plane home. This was no strain on the hotel. Since we booked at a price double the posted rate, we had a large suite with balacony and full service including free WI-FI, which proved useful given Ecuador's high costs for U.S. cell and downloads. Location is handy to a small market, the cultural museum's excellent Inca exhibit and a nice park. Taxi fare to the central historical district is a reasonable at $4. The down side is that the new (only three weeks old during our stay) airport is 50 km away, which can be 45-90 minutes depending on traffic. Flate rate at airport is $26.

Room Tip: Corner suite was quieter than smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I brought my tour group here in January - had stayed here twice before - and was very pleased with the stay here. Check in was fast and friendly. Great lobby area and newly renovated so very pleasing to the eye especially with the water feature and cool new furniture. Staying on the higher floors is a good idea for noise but it is around offices so in the evening it is usually nice and quiet.

They were really accomodating to our group and I know I will stay there again.

Rooms have all you could need and I could not hear anyone else while in my room, very good soundproofing.

Buffet breakfast good and opens at 5 a.m. There is also a bakery and coffee shop.

They have a really nice shop with some beautiful souvenirs there as well.

I was on the top floor and had a lovely large room with separate bedroom. Desk was right by the windo so I could sit and work and look out onto the balcony.

On each of the floors there were lovely floral arrangements and when you are there on a garden tour it is nice to see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Alameda Hotel Mercure, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. We will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a total of 4 nights. First, March 6 to 9 then again on March 16, Saturday night. The service, food, accommodations were all excellent. One issue we had was as a result of having to leave the hotel at 3:15 AM to catch a 6:05 United flight to Houston, Texas. We had the breakfast included in our hotel rate. We asked if a small cold boxed breakfast could be prepared for us to take to the airport. We were told that if that was done we would be charged and that it was not needed as they had coffee and pasties in the lobby starting at 1 AM. In fact you did have coffee and croissants in the lobby. It was better then nothing but it was not adequate. My wife and I have visited 30 countries around the world and have never before been refused a boxed breakfast in a situation like this. Their approach ruined what would otherwise been an excellent stay. To suggest that a croissant and coffee should be enough is not in keeping with a hotel of their quality. Early flights out of Quito seem to be common and as such they should strive to accommodate the needs of their guests.

Room Tip: One recommendation is that you should ask for a back room since it might get noisy in the street at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alameda Hotel Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alameda Hotel Mercure

Address: Ramon Roca E4-122 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alameda Hotel Mercure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 600 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Alameda Hotel Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alameda Hotel Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.