We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish someone cared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Quito to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Orellana 1172 y Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pure Magic Promotion
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Quito
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wish someone cared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this marriott before and after my Galapagos cruise.
The hotel is beautiful The restaurant La Hacienda was excellent.
Our first room 349 was excellent.
BUT on our return visit we had room 337. There was a endless noise of either a service elevator or a power drill. I am clueless to what this noise was.
I complained to the front desk to get a different room. The clerk said sorry and no rooms.
Perhaps it was a language problem. But it was a sleepless night leading to an early morning flight.
My advice....stay away from room 337!

Room Tip: request a quiet room. NOT 337!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest:
It has come to my attention your comments in relation to your stay with us. We are glad you found pleasant your stay with us also we regret that you were unable to properly rest the second stay, Corrective actions have been taken regarding room assignment. Please accept our apologize
We Look forward to receive your visit in a near future

Sincerely

Edison Riofrio
Quality Coordinator
JW Marriott Quito
Edison.riofrio@marriott.com
5939 99547818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    240
    69
    13
    3
See reviews for
141
282
42
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our flight was delayed two hours and the hotel held our reservations as we strolled in at 2AM. The rooms were superbly appointed (we had a traveling party of 4, so had two rooms)--the front desk folks were gracious and made us feel at home. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but not included in our room rate. Still, a bargain. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the JW Marriott and were very happy with the room, the service, and the personnel that we had interaction with. We had use of the Executive Lounge and it was great. The breakfasts, the snacks, the drinks, the deserts, and the people there were just great.

I did have a bad experience with dinner one night and the way it was handled separates the JW Marriott, Quito, from the pack. I ordered dinner at the main bar and it was not good. The remedy was not good. They were very busy (during a World Cup Match) and in the end I decided to not eat anything. The staff did not charge for the food and gave my three companions a discount on their food. At no time did I ever identify myself; it wasn't important.

An hour after we left two of my companions, who were in another room, received a call from the restaurant manager asking for my name. She declined. The next morning there was a knock on my room door and when my wife opened it, a staff member had a gift package of Ecuadorian chocolate for me, with a very nice, personalized note, from the restaurant manager apologizing for my experience. As I said, I never identified myself and so it took work and perseverance on the part of the staff to find me and then the note and the gift were beyond what was required. It did not stop there. Later that morning I had breakfast in the dinning room and the manager came over to my table and personally apologized for the previous evening's experience. We never met before and I do not know how she identified me. Like I have said, I never gave anyone my name at the time of the incident and I never complained to anyone beyond rejecting the food.

I am impressed. The efforts were beyond what was necessary and they were carried out with class and quality.

Would I stay at the JW Marriott, Quito, again? In a heartbeat. It is a wonderful facility, the rooms are very comfortable, and the staff are first rate.

I had a bad experience with dinner, but more importantly I had a great

Room Tip: Get access to the Executive Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed there for three nights recently, nice ish hotel but does need a little TLC, a little past it's opening day glitz and glamour I feel.

Alcohol pricing at the bar are at another level, this is eye watering to say the least, best plan is to hop over the road and drink in on of the many bars that are within easy walking distance.

Restaurant was totally deserted, probably due to the prices charge, nice food but again wow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Location of the hotel is very convenient, in a very safe part of Quito and conveniently located to visit the city and move around.

Rooms are very big and comfortable with a big bathroom as well. The only negative aspect I would say is the hotel is starting to be slightly old and so is the decoration of the rooms and aircon can be noisy. In any event they do not lack any comfort at all.

Restaurants are nice and so is the breakfast buffet. Hotel facilities are very nice albeit some starting to age, such as the spa. The outdoor pool is fantastic.

Service is very helpful and smiley.

In terms of quality/price this hotel ranks very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very good service. I think that's part of the Ecuadorian culture. For Ecuador, this is probably one of the best hotels but, by my standards, it is a 3 star. First, hotel did not show up to pick us up at the airport. It cost us $55 for a taxi (an hour drive) to the hotel. It's a fine hotel, just not terribly clean. Our room smelled like tar, the furniture was old.

Room Tip: Get high up, even though you're already at 10,000 feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are confident that with your feedback we can improve our service.
let me inform you that we have not found any pending transport request.
In order to personalize your reservations and service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely
Edison Riofrío
edison.riofrio@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great hotel. Clean, safe, modern and with friendly staff. The location was in a safe neighborhood, too. The staff are helpful, so take advantage of that. There is a beautiful pool, ATM on site, restaurant and business center with computer and printer access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#6 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Quito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.