We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Quitumbe to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mariscal Sucre y Condor Nan (Corner) | In Front of the Bus Terminal Quitumbe, Quito EC170718, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable and Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Except for the South (Quitumbe) Bus Terminal there is nothing in the area. I stayed here because I was leaving the next day on a bus for the south regions of Ecuador and it is an easy walk, even with luggage, to the station. The room was quite small but the staff quite courteous. Because of nothing in the area I ended up eating a few of the snacks placed in the room and there was a moment of confusion when I explained I had already paid the other gentleman the required price.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

First the good - the room was clean, it is a 5 minute walk to the bus station. Wifi worked fine.

The not-so-good - there is nothing in the neighborhood around this place. We arrived at night, and there is literally no place to get food. We had to buy some chips and bread at the bus station. There is no hot water.

The bad - We had to wake up early to catch our bus to Banos. It seemed as though there was no one staying at the hotel. Unfortunately that was not the case - around 2am people started talking, fairly loudly, and the voices carried all through the hotel. This went on for at least 20 minutes before it stopped. Pretty terrible. There was obviously no attempt by staff to quiet things down. Have no idea if it was hotel guests, or staff, or whatever, but regardless it ruined our sleep.

Also - place seems kinda pricey for what you get. This is not a central location and the hotel is pretty basic. However there are not many options near the bus station.

If you need a place to stay for a night and you need to be near the bus station - this place will do.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Here's the thing with Quito, the new airport is one hour away from old Quito. I had to spring for a $40 cab ride to get to this hotel. One thing that is great is that this hotel is near the train station. At least from what I can tell. It is a nice and clean place. A four dollar cab ride brought me to Old Quito. They serve a nice breakfast for two dollars two.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dulce
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Located close to the Quitumbe "Terminal Terestre" (bus terminal), Hotel Gran Quitumbe is a very convenient place to spend a night while waiting for the bus.
Rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable, and the bathroom has a good shower.
The hotel is extremely clean, and, while the front facing rooms are a bit noisy, the ones facing the back are quiet (I was in room 7)
Staff was very friendly, as everywhere in Ecuador it seems.
At 20$ a night (plus 2$ for breakfast), it's excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing back, the front is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks, friendly staff clean rooms, hot showers, the downs are small rooms, no storage for your belongings, rest only open for breakfast, which is good for $2, can be noisy as on a main road. there is no terrace or garden as stated. there is free wifi in all rooms. nice easy walk to main bus terminal.

Room Tip: if traffic noise disturpes you ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear mandinga 2013

We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again.

The Hotel Gran Quitumbe made ​​a large investment in soundproof windows which allow you to keep your wonderful views and large windows now are the nicest rooms we have.

Glad to know that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Best wishes
Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was absolutely the worst hotel experience I have ever had and I have traveled all over the world. They ripped me off on my credit card, they deceived and lied and overcharged for a "shuttle hitting me for $ 70. They then refused the return shuttle, charged my credit card $ 80 without permission or adequate explanation. The room stunk like urine, dogs barking all night long, traffic noise continually all night. I am missing things from my luggage. The owner/manager has a bed right behind the front desk. What a dive. The "bell boy" took our luggage, then told the cab driver to overcharge us for the airport taxi ride. This was confirmed by the taxi driver who could not believe that they would act that way. There was evidence of rodents in the room and the place reeked like bad body odor. The "double bed" was actually a single and the single was more like a cot. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE. IT IS NOT SAFE.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Google Translation
Señor

blueskydreams

Lamentamos mucho su comentario que es muy suspicaz y es el único que no es verídica y una pena que usted se exprese de esa manera.

El cobro se realizo en base a la reservación que usted hizo que fue por una Habitación Doble Twin cuyo costo es 45 dolares, su reservación era modalidad pago en destino usted tenia que pagar por la misma en el Hotel pero lamentablemente usted pensó que por los datos de la tarjeta de crédito que proporciono al momento de realizar la reserva el pago de la misma ya había sido efectuado pero usted no supo asimilar la explicación otorgada por los miembros de nuestra recepción.

Usted se molesto por el servicio de traslado del aeropuerto al Hotel que nuestro hotel le facilito pese a que no ofrecemos este servicio, usted realizo una llamada en donde se le informo la tarifa del mismo que cuesta el valor de 35 dolares que es el mismo de un taxi común y corriente como lo puede verificar en la pagina web del aeropuerto.
http://www.aeropuertoquito.aero/es/transporte/taxi.html

Un servicio que se le ofreció en una VAN exclusiva para usted y su familia se le espero a la hora exacta del vuelo y ustedes fueron cómodos todo el trayecto.

Usted había tratado de muy mala manera a la persona que le presto el servicio obviamente la misma se va ha rehusar a servirle otra vez para el traslado del hotel al aeropuerto.

Con respecto al resto de situaciones usted había exclamado de forma muy grotesca y amenazando al personal del Hotel que haría un pésimo comentario en Tripadvisor por mas que nuestro personal se esforzó en darle alguna explicación usted lanzo su tarjeta de crédito y su pago fue firmado por usted en Ecuador si una persona no esta de acuerdo con el pago simplemente no la firma y no hay manera de realizar el cobro del mismo.

Nos da una pena que un comentario tan suspicaz y mal intencionado conste en nuestra pagina por el simple hecho de que usted no verifico de manera correcta su reservación.

Si tiene alguna pregunta o duda con gusto le atenderé como siempre nuestro equipo estuvo dispuesto a atenderle

Que tenga una buena vida

Atte.

Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an early start from bus station, it is a $1 taxi ride or walk. Very friendly staff but tiny rooms, well ours was, room 17, and agree with another reviewer, the towels were hand towels not bath towels. Bed was also tiny. No breakfast so we walked again to cafe around the corner where we had a good breakfast as was dinner the previous night. Renovations going on so breakfast may restart soon. All in all for $35 it was very good for a one night stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear georgemacl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing.

Have a very good life

Atte

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Quitumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Address: Avenue Mariscal Sucre y Condor Nan (Corner) | In Front of the Bus Terminal Quitumbe, Quito EC170718, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Quitumbe 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In his new and modern facilities Quitumbe Gran Hotel, located in the south of the city of Quito, at Av. Mariscal Sucre and Condor Nan corner, Waterfront Bus Terminal Quitumbe strategic area for the movement of travelers. For the terminal goes all public transport in the city and bus lines to travel to all potential destinations as the Cotopaxi National Park, the Ilinisas, Banos, Equator, Otavalo, Ecuador's rainforest and coast . 2 Minutes from the hotel is that of Quito "Quicentro South" and the convention center Quitumbe largest shopping center. The Great Quitumbe hotel has easy access to all parts of the city by the great Simon Bolivar motorway, 40 minutes from Mariscal Sucre Airport. At an appropriate place to rest, its 40 rooms have beautiful panoramic views of Volcan Cotopaxi, Pichincha Volcano entire south of the city, equipped with twin beds 2 1/4, hot water 24 hours, cable TV, WIFI high speed and minibar with different types of snacks. Our hotel features 24 hour reception, restaurant / cafe, disabled access rooms, phone rental, parking lots, and under agreement shuttle service from the airport.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Quitumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Quitumbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.