We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Morales (La Ronda) OE1- 160 Centro Historico de Quito | y Guayaquil, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Quito B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

La Casona de la Ronda is a wonderful property right in the heart of the historic center of Quito. The street on which the hotel is located is closed to automobiles, making it a perfect and relatively quiet oasis in the city. It is a quaint colonial building, beautifully restored and maintained, with tons of character and charm. The rooms are very nice, with modern amenities including wireless, an LCD television, and a very nice bathroom representing the both of best worlds. The breakfasts are outstanding, and the service is superbly attentive in an understated manner. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    63
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
128
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent 2 nights at La Casona de la Ronda prior to meeting a group tour to Galapagos and found it to be a lovely place for exploring Quito. My room overlooked Calle Morales and had beautiful views of Virgen de El Panecillo. The room was lovely and the decor was charming. Breakfast was served in a little room connected to the hotel via a tunnel...they served a variety of good food and the atmosphere was pleasant. I was able to take advantage of a tripadvisor promotion for a free City Tour. Although it was not possible to book the free tour through the hotel's website, I emailed them, and they honored the promotion. In fact, the hotel had someone walk me over to the closest stop (about 10 mins away,) which was really helpful. While I really enjoyed my stay, I experienced some difficulty checking out. Although I had prepaid, the checkout person insisted I pay again for my room. While this may have been due to a language barrier, he still insisted on payment even after I showed him the email confirming that I had already paid. The matter was addressed and I was not charged twice, but the difficulty checking out was an unnecessary bother in the morning that I needed to meet my group.

Room Tip: The rooms on Calle Morales can be loud so request a room in the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed three times in December 2012, before and after various trips to the Galapagos and the Devil's Nose. It is a beautiful building with a peaceful courtyard and extremely friendly staff, and wonderfully luxurious bedrooms. There is a gorgeous patio living space on the top floor with great views. Felt like a home-from-home. Set in a lively and fun street with cafes and musical entertainers. Would stay here again, and recommend highly.

Room Tip: Call them and discuss the options, rather than doing it through an agency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a wonderful place! The location is perfect—right in walking distance of some of the most beautiful historic spots in Quito. The rooms are amazing—giant, comfortable beds, hot showers, and great views of the Panecillo. The staff was particularly amazing. One of our party wasn't feeling well, so they let us stay longer in our rooms while he rested, and even brought him some special soup, tea, and rice. They also helped us call just about every bus and taxi company in Quito looking for the best way to get to Mindo. Such nice people, and such a nice hotel!

Room Tip: Though there's more noise on Friday & Saturday nights, street-side rooms on the top floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spent 5 days including a weekend in Quito while on business. The staff was great, very helpful and welcoming. The property is exactly as the photos show, all the common rooms are spotless and the lounge area is quiet and the wood stove makes it feel very comfortable. My room was spotless and well appointed. Direct TV worked well including channels in English. The vista room on the top floor was a nice quiet room where I sat for a few hours to take a Spanish lesson, but otherwise would be nice to be out of your room but not be around others.

The hotel is on the pedestrian street of the old city. The street is normally packed on weekend nights and busy on others. Some shopping and restaurants, but most cater to Ecuadorian tourists and visitors, so it seems a bit touristy, although mostly not foreigners.

The food was very good, but quite expensive compared to other places I ate. You can eat in the restaurant or at one of the tables below the vertical garden wall or the tables in the lounge area.

My only complaint was the beds seemed a bit short (I'm just under 6') other than that I would be happy to return anytime.

Room Tip: My room was in the back with windows overlooking the vertical garden wall. During my time there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and then 2 nights during our total trip. The hotel is beautiful with excellent friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the pedestrian area is very popluar. We stayed during festival time so was pretty noisy- second visit we were in a room at the rear which was fine with no noise.

The hotel is well placed for visiting the old town and squares.

Free water provided- remember to take a bottle for filling! Free wifi

Only had breakfast there, but this was good quality and plentiful.

Overall, definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: request rooms at the back if you are staying over weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, pa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

In November 2012 we traveled for 3 weeks in Ecuador and stayed at this Hotel 3 times durning our visit. What a clean, nice place to stay. The staff can't help enough, rooms are large and quiet. The breakfast is wonderful! The Hotel is located in Old town and the area has lots of charm, and a short walk to the plaza Grande. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Morales (La Ronda) OE1- 160 Centro Historico de Quito | y Guayaquil, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, easy access, in the heart of the Historic and Colonial Center, walking distance (5 minutes) to many main attractions such as Plaza Grande Main Square, Presidential Palace, La Companía (Golden Barroque Church), San Francisco Monastery, just to name a few.The hotel is located in “La Ronda” street; a narrow, lively pedestrian street full of character with many restaurants, bars and folk stores making it a unique neighborhood that is a ‘must do’ on your visit list. La Casona de la Ronda is a delightful, authentic Spanish Colonial style boutique hotel with a gentle, calming feel built in an old1738 Mansion. The rooms are attractively decorated beyond your expectations featuring hand carved furniture by local master craftsmen, polished fine wood flooring, spacious and comfortable with a deluge shower in the bathroom. Even though it is an old “La Casona” we offer modern services:• WiFi at no charge• Reception 24 hours, tour bookings available• Full service restaurant; buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner, room service available • Transportation to/from the airport upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.