We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT GREEK EXPERIENCE IN QUITO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia

Sophia
Gral. Roca N33-29 & Bosmediano, Quito 170511, Ecuador
+593 2267737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 620 Restaurants in Quito
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant of Greek and Mediterranean cuisine with a unique atmosphere, terrace and good music focused on the most demanding palates.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A GREAT GREEK EXPERIENCE IN QUITO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

had today the traditional Greek Easter Sunday lunch there. Great Greek food !
Love especially the Moussaka ... really recomendable place ... we should have
more Greek Restaurants in Ecuador !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, authentic food and friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had lunch on Greek National Day so there was a special buffet. We showed up too early for lunch -- restaurants open for lunch at 1 p.m. in Ecuador -- but the owner invited us for a complimentary glass of champagne on the upstairs terrace. Everything is painted white like in Greece and it was very relaxing. When the food was ready, we went downstairs for the buffet. The variety of cold dishes was paradise for this vegan. Unfortunately, there were no vegan or vegetarian hot dishes so I just had seconds on the salads. The restaurant opened three months ago and the owners are adding more and more dishes to their menu and I'm sure they would make a special dish for those who don't eat meat. In any case, I was very happy with my meal and my meat-eating husband was happy with his. The owners are a family with Greek, Ecuadorian and U.S. roots and among them, they speak English, Greek, Spanish and German.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in the heart of Quito -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

A great greek experience. I was so lucky to be there for their they had their monthly greek night.. Is the first time in my life I enjoyed traditional greek food and afterwards we ended dancing and breaking plates... Highly recomended!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not to miss while in Quito !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our friends from Europe recommended that we eat at this restaurant when we go to Quito We were very pleased with the whole experience . It was a walking distance form our hotel but the restaurant is in the small street so it is not easy to found it without directions or map.
Great , great food , very nice and modern / elegant atmosphere . They have a beautiful roof top bar where you can sit and watch sunset . Very friendly english speaking staff .
If you like moussaka - this was the best one I ever had . My husband had a whole grilled local fish and for appetizers we shared grilled octopus that was very tasty and tender .
At the end - great coffee and baklava that was very nicely scented with rose water.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.