We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Gangotena to your Saves list
Casa Gangotena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Orkney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right off a central historic square. Everything looks brand new and is very clean. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rainfall shower in the white marble bathroom is something to look forward to every morning-I didn't want to get out! Lots of little touches that make this place special- the fresh fruit in the room on arrival, the handwritten welcome note from the concierge, the chocolates and cookies left by the turn down staff in the evening were all apprciated. We didn't eat dinner here but the buffet breakfast was wonderful- lots of local cheeses and fruits guaranteed a healthy start to the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
152
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our recent trip to South America we stayed at this hotel in Quito. It was booked by the tour company we were travelling with - lucky us! We had three consecutive stays and each one was as good as the other. The staff in all areas were helpful and friendly and put up with our lack of Spanish. Each time we returned we were allocated the same room and welcomed "home". We all agreed that we would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We thought everything about this hotel was wonderful (had there been a pool we would have been in paradise) but the fascinating town of Old Quito gave us plenty of other distractions. The buffet breakfast was wiothout doubt the most amazing we have ever experienced anywhere in the world - including 5 star resorts in Bali.

Room Tip: WE were in Terrace 1 - spacious and luxurious with a huge terrace which although accessible to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautifully restored and well thought out former private mansion right in the heart of Quito's lively old town. Our room had been upgraded and was spacious and comfortable - very lux! A beautiful bathroom with a lovely soaking tup (as well as a nice shower area) with upscale ammenities. Cozy beds......They serve a complimentary high tea in the afternoons (quite often in the covered inner courtyard) and it should not be missed. The dining room is lovely - but since we had so many meals there we wished they would have changed the lighting in the evening (it was bright) to change the mood of the restaurant. The breakfasts were ample and delicious - great choices including eggs cooked to order. The staff were all amazing - and they actually thought about our needs before we did. The hotel manager offered to move us to a quieter location when he knew an event was going to take place on the sqaure the next day. Very thoughtful! A friendly and safe environment in what can be a noisy and busy city! I would recommend it to anyone - from business travelers to honeymooners. Since it's the overnighter for most trips to the Galapagos, I'd recommend staying an extra day or two here. Loved the trip to Otavalo to see the country. And the inner courtyard gardens of Quito's old churches - beautiful!

Room Tip: The rooms over the square can be a bit noisier - but things quiet down at night. I did not see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our stay at Casa Gangotena was amazing. The service is first class. It is very well situated on the Plaza San Francisco which makes it easy to visit this beautiful city.
We had a gournet tasting menu at the restaurant and the chef had chosen a great variety of flavours with an Ecuadorian touch.
We would like to thank all the staff who go out of their way to make your stay very special.
This is a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is located on the Plaza San Francisco, the most beautiful square in Colonial Quito. The hotel very beautiful and luxurious. We stayed at the hotel on two separate evenings while passing through Quito. Both rooms were very, very nice and very comfortable. Our first room was located off the garden courtyard and was very charming to wake up to in the morning. The second room was very nicely appointed and in the main building. The breakfast buffet was very extensive. We had to depart very early on the morning of our second stay and the staff prepared breakfast for us at 4:00 AM. This was an extraordinary effort on their part.

if you travel to Quito, do not miss this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the courtyard rooms with private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We cannot thank the staff at Casa Gangotena enough for an amazing trip. We've never stayed at a hotel where you instantly felt pampered, relaxed, and so at home so quickly. We are planning other trips to South America just so that we can spend a few more days at this wonderful hotel-- it was that terrific.

We took the Chef's tour with Chef Andres and highly recommend it. It was like being on a Travel Channel food show, with the nicest chef you could imagine. We learned not only about cooking, but about culture and living in Ecuador. That evening we had the benefit of enjoying some of the items we purchased with Chef that morning, and he explained each course to us. We also had a lovely conversation with Sous Chef (also) Andres during tea. I could go on and on about how amazing the food is and be unable to do it justice. I'm a total foodie and they met every expectation and then some. Be sure to sample the local chocolate as well as the fruit in your room and all of the goodies at tea. I'm still dreaming of the hot chocolate. Afternoon tea is so wonderful that we planned our day around it.

Wagner the concierge was amazing. Without my knowledge he coordinated a surprise for us with family at home, and overall just made us feel taken care of. Whether it was running after us to make sure the taxi driver knew where to take us and wait for us, or arranging for tea for me to combat my altitude sickness, he went above the call of duty, which is exactly what Casa Gangotena is all about. We also extend our gratitude to our waiter whose name I don't recall but who was wonderful as well.

Simply put, Casa Gangotena is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: Loved our room overlooking Plaza San Francisco-- took amazing photos from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Gangotena 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gangotena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.