We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic historical hotel in the old town center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Gangotena to your Saves list
Casa Gangotena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fantastic historical hotel in the old town center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights at this fantastic hotel. One of the early century properties that used to belong to Gangotena family and was converted into a boutique hotel. The historically significant Italianate mansion was befitted with all the modern facilities and located right on the Plaza San Francisco. Although we didn't have a plaza view room, we were given one of the two terrace rooms on the third floor which has a stunning view of the Angel of America from the window and the private terrace in the back. To view the plaza, we could simply stepped out of our room into a front terrace shared by the hotel guests although we never ran into any other guests during our stay. From there, the view of the plaza and the colonial cityscape was just breathtaking.
The staff of the hotel was extremely attentive and the daily replenished in-room fruit and desert plates was a very personal touch. The included breakfast went way over our expectation as the restaurant in the hotel was reputed to be one of the best in the old town. They also included afternoon high tea which just topped off everything else and made us feel really welcome and well taken care of.
Although there is no pool or gym on the property because it is after all a historical building, the location and the service made it up. Why do you need those anyway when you have an amazing colonial town at your door step to explore on foot?

Room Tip: go for one of the two terrace rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
151
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent hotel all round, in a great location overlooking San Francisco Square. There is a great view of the square from the roof terrace. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Excellent buffet breakfast. Charming and helpful service.

Room Tip: The Plaza View rooms, as the name suggests, have views onto the Plaza San Francisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I began our honeymoon with 3 nights at this beautiful building, placed near centre in Quito's old town. We haven't got enough praise to give; the staff were helpful be it with info about the house or finding a taxi, and seemed genuinely happy to have us there no matter the hour we saw them, the food was superb and so varied that choosing our courses on the one night we opted to eat in proved to be the only stressful part., and as for the building itself- magical!

We returned to casa Gangotena for one more night after spending 3 nights in the napo region rainforest, only to experience a different bedroom somehow more beautiful than we'd departed to take our 'jungle' jaunt earlier that week. The only shame was in that we had an early transfer and so went straight to bed. Even with this the staff were such a help as we dragged ourselves up and out the door in the pre PRE dawn hours, offering either a packed lunch or a breakfast 'station' in their reception rooms.

Casa Gangotena is obviously a top end hotel in Quito, but hotel and staff are worth every penny.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a wonderful hotel in the center of the old town of Quito. We stayed here three different times over a 2 week trip to Ecuador that included Quito, the Amazon and the Galapagos (see other reviews). The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and professional. Anything we wanted or needed was taken care of immediately and with obvious pleasure. Beautiful room, great food, perfect location. One of the highlights was being on the roof garden/lounge and witnessing the inspiring Palm Sunday service held in the plaza below, truly amazing! My husband enjoyed the music coming from the church in the plaza and asked the staff if it was possible to get a CD. Later that day one of the staff members found us on the roof enjoying the beautiful view and delivered the CD to my husband! Very nice, extensive breakfast is included and the afternoon tea was a perfect way to relax at the end of a day of sightseeing. My only complaint was the cost of having laundry done at the hotel. I expected to pay more than at a local laundry, but I felt $4 for a pair of socks was way out of line.

Room Tip: Unless you ate prepared for the cost, get laundry done some place else. Plaza view rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our daughter is living and working in Argentina. When we vacation, we try to head to that part of the world to see her and for the 3 of us to see things that are new to all of us. This last trip was to Peru and Equador. The last of many hotels stayed at was this one. I have stayed at many high end hotels, but this one stands out in some unique ways. They truly went out of their way to determine what we needed and exceed our expectations. The hotel chef took us on a 2 hour walking tour of the local stores and markets as he purchased the day's foods. He then served us delicious examples of the foods that we had helped to select at lunch and dinner. He also gave us a private tour of the kitchenThe hotel is elegant and right on the main square. We departed to the airport at 2am. They spontaneously prepared a gourmet buffet for us knowing that we would miss the usual excellent breakfast later that morning. You cannot do better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is difficult to add much to the superlatives already given to this hotel in other reviews, but it certainly deserves them all based on my experience. Everything is top class with no expense having been spared in the recent refurbishment. The food was equally top quality (breakfast, dinner and the amazing tea), all backed by excellent service.
One of the very best which you should just not miss!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here and were truly blown away by how good it is. We actually decided that the food was so good in the evening that we dined there two nights running. (Usually we try to eat outside of a hotel). A mixture of international and local dishes. Breakfast was good as well, with lots of choice. And as for the free afternoon tea, there was so much to eat we had to leave some of the amazing goodies offered!!!!!! The garden courtyard was lovely, although we didn't get outside due to the rain. Staff were polite and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Gangotena 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gangotena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.