We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amongst the very best in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Gangotena to your Saves list
Casa Gangotena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Amongst the very best in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A truly lovely hotel: central ‘old town’ location, elegant high ceilings, wide corridors, spacious reception rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, quality furniture, fixtures and fitting. Accommodating management, helpful efficient staff offering outstanding service. And lots of special touches; a bowl of local fruit in the room with a leaflet giving descriptions and advice on how to prepare and eat: a plate of ‘petit four’ each night as a go-to-bed treat: a lovely afternoon tea self service in the lounge (all inclusive even for B & B guests) with little savouries, sandwiches, cakes, pastries and scones: extensive packed breakfast for the early leavers.
Two small negatives – some of the food a little uninspiring to the European palate, but the choice, quality and quantity of the breakfast was excellent – if you are a light sleeper you might find the morning bell at a nearby monastery a little intrusive early in the morning.
A charming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
151
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is hard to add anything to the reviews already posted. This hotel is just so good. The staff are amazing. They really do go above and beyond. The rooms are lovely. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Any questions pm me.

If you can afford it, book this hotel because you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This wonderful renovation of a former palace is the ideal place from which to explore the old centre of Quito - a boutique hotel with some of the most wonderful rooms and a staff to please the most discriminating traveller.While not inexpensive, we found staying there provided excellent value with all the food treats and afternoon tea. Dining room was excellent with suoerior value and excepyional and friendly service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
585 reviews 585 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for three separate nights; each night greeted by the same outstanding staff and shown to beautiful, elegant, comfortable and well-equipped rooms. This hotel is up with the best on international standards from the elegant rooms; the service, the attention to detail and the dedicated staff who seem to take real pride in their work. Generous and very good breakfast buffet and a delicious (free) afternoon tea. Dining room menu is fine although the room itself is not the most attractive room in the hotel.
Placed in the old square in Quito t is ideally placed for the main sights although quite a trek from the new airport (until the new roads etc open).

Room Tip: A corner room is good... 108, 208 and I assume 308. On the square but lovely size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Casa Gangotena. The room was spacious and lovely, wifi worked well. Had dinner one night I the restaurant and it was delicious. The staff was gracious and we felt very welcomed at the hotel. I have no complaints about the room or service.
The only concern I had was transportation because of flight schedules ( my friend and I met up in Quito) there were a couple of airport transfer requests and they cost a different amount everytime we went. I would suggest clarifying the costs prior to booking, and suggest that they publish a price sheet so it's consistent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Casa Gangotena in Quito before travelling to the Galapagos. The hotel is wonderful. We arrived feeling pretty exhausted and were greeted by the delightfully friendly staff with a cold fruit drink apparently designed to help with altitude sickness. We were given a quick tour of the hotel, a beautiful old colonial building which retains many of the original features. The hotel overlooks the Plaza San Francisco and the cathedral of that name. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was marble and very large with a walk-in shower. The bed was so comfortable. All the public spaces are very well thought out with small terraces and fountains dotted about. There is a small bar and dining room and the one dinner we ate there was delicious. We could not fault the staff who are some of the most friendly, efficient and helpful we have ever come across. Unfortunately both my husband and I did suffer from some altitude sickness but recovered enough by lunchtime to be able to get out and do some sightseeing. Do visit the Jesuit church in the corner of the Plaza San Francisco - amazing! Everything is covered in gold leaf - never seen anything like it! We also visited the equatorial museum which is interesting and fun and they stamp your passport with the latitude of the equator. Overall I couldn't rate the Casa Gangotena more highly.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as I am sure all the rooms are quiet and comfortable but one bedroom on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated converted residence makes for a warm elegant boutique hotel. Guests seem largely from abroad and vacationing in Quito or in transit to or from Galapagos.
Thoughtful service, good dinning, very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, esq., Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Gangotena 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gangotena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.