We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding........” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Dios No Muere

Cafe Dios No Muere
La Esquina de Flores y Junin, Quito, Ecuador
+593 2-257-1995
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 675 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Organic, Cajun & Creole, Coffee Shop, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Classical traditional Cafe located in the 17th Century Monastery of Santa Catalina. We also own a farm 2 hours from Quito and grown our own lemons, yucca, papa china, camote, bananas, oranges, coffee and cacao (chocolate).
quito
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not sure how this restaurant is rated so highly by tripadvisor compared to other wonderful Quito restaurants. What a disappointment!!!! Do not, I repeat, do not go here and waste an evening in Quito. The other restaurants listed are deserving but this one is a total disappointment. I have to wonder who writes these reviews of this place. BEWARE!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    46
    17
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No idea how it became number 1”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had lunch here couple of days back. Tiny place, had to walk up narrow steps to the top, not the most comfortable place to have a good meal. Had Salmon, Prawn sandwich and a bread pudding. We initially thought the food would be great given the many good reviews, but surprise surprise. Salmon was burnt and dry. Prawns were fried so much that it was way too hard. The entire bottom and edges of our bread pudding was burnt. The chips were the best part of the meal. Maybe it was a different chef that day or something but it was bad enough for me to write my first review to warn future travelers with high expectations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for writing and congratuations for being the first to give us a ONE for the restaurant. First of all.....the Salmon is called BLACKENED for a reason.....we burn it and from what I hear....it is actually quite popular in the USA now after Paul Prudomme from New Orleans invented it when I was a young man in the 1980s. As for the "prawns" they are shrimp and we cook them "well" in order to give it a CRUNCH to them. But...the bread pudding may have been a little "done" on the bottom. I will talk to my wife about that! Nonetheless, we appreciate the nice tip you gave us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Top layer of salmon was totally burnt and was dry. Even the "oh-la-la" bread pudding was burnt! How can everything go so wrong? Only the yucca chips were palatable alongside my prawn sandwich, which was average. Even then, the quality of the prawns can be better too. Disappointing experience for a number one restaurant in Quito.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We really do not like being number one in Quito and if we were in ANY major city in the world....we would not be number one. So maybe your comment will bring us down a notch and we thank your for that. But....I will let you know that the Salmon is supposed to be burnt...that is why we call is BLACKENED SALMON. As for the Shrimp....you are the second person to ever complain about the shrimp overdone but it was the same nigth as you and maybe you guys were sitting at the same table! Do you konw each other????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Unusual Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here. The restaurant is tiny; the food with Cajun/Creole flavors was very good. The owner and family were very friendly and informative. The owner's farm supplies some of the ingredients and side dishes. A unique experience !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I am not quite sure how to take "unusual" but suppose with the four stars.....we will take it as "not bad"! We enjoyed having you here and it is always good to have Southeners visit us. Your daughter said she was going to New Orleans next week. Please send me an email if she gets a better Shrimp Po Boy which if she goes to my reccomended places....she will!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Interesting place. Have in the menu typical Ecuadorian dishes spiced a la creole (?¿). Also a great contrast of being in an old colonial building and listening to Low Armstrong. Obvious. the owner is from Louisiana. Nice place, but food could be better. Any how, if you have several nights, don't miss it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Director of Sales at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for the email but wish you had mentioned what exactly you ate so we could determine why it "could be better". I suppose we should be grateful you did not give us a lower rating. Anyway....it was nice to meet you and please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dios No Muere also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Dios No Muere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Dios No Muere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.