We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place with lots of charm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Dios No Muere

Cafe Dios No Muere
La Esquina de Flores y Junin, Quito, Ecuador
+593 2-257-1995
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 580 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Ecuadorean, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Classical traditional Cafe located in the 17th Century Monastery of Santa Catalina. We also own a farm 2 hours from Quito and grown our own lemons, yucca, papa china, camote, bananas, oranges, coffee and cacao (chocolate).
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique place with lots of charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This piace is a real gem, the sort of place we love to find in our travels. Run by Matt from Louisiana, it has a small but terrific menu which Matt manages to put together from a tiny kitchen. Eat on the entry level floor and your in the middle of it! The three floors all have their own individual feel and there is a much sort-after table on the third floor in the window overlooking the street below, which is in a lovely part of the old city. Nice wine list, too. HIghly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hey Mates.....thank you for the comment. We enjoyed having you and as usual with Ausies....good travel stories from a country where its people know how to get around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dining adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We noticed that cab drivers often have never heard of the restaurants we were looking for based on Trip Advisor. This was no exception so make sure you know it is at the corner of Flores and Junin. As the other reviews state it is in a very old building and the floor plan is tiny but vertical. We headed up the wooden stairs to the dark second floor and the proprietar quickly lit the candles for great atmosphere- could almost feel what dining was like hundreds of years ago. On the owner's recommendation we shared everything - good idea. Started with the toasted cheese appetizer - rustic and delicious, followed by a sharing of the Argentinian style steak and the sausage plate. Sausages were tasty, varied, and even the blood sausage was good. One steak was done medium rare as ordered, the second thinner steak was a bit over cooked. The Chilean cab was smooth and delicious, bread pudding good but not great. Altogether a fun evening with food that fits the atmosphere. Go if you like a litle adventure with your food. Know that it is not a "fine dining" experience - think rustic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Owner at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the response and we appreciate your patronage. You " hit the nail right on the head"....we are not fine dining and have never pretended to be. Personally...if we had a fine dining establishment....we would require men to have a dinner jacket (without tennis shoes) and reservations. Just like the old days when there were REAL fine dining establishments. It is amazing that Tiipadvisor puts us in the same league as places like Theatrum which IS a fine dining establishment. I personally apologize for one of the steaks not being medium rare as they both seemed the same size. As for the Bread Pudding....maybe we did not put enough of our home made cane syrup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Walked into the quaint plc and was welcomed by the owner and beautiful opera music. I ordered the shrimp sandwich which was a bit salty but it was goooooooood nonetheless. The owner was nice enough to bag my sandwich and chips to go since I didn't want to walk back to my hostel in the dark (Quito can be a shady plc at night). I would definitely visit again when back in Quito.

Brook :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Owner at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the comment. If I remember correctly.....you were on your way to Cuenca by bus....hope you enjoyed it and it will be great to see you back at CDNM on your return to Quito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We found this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews. At that time it was #2 but has moved up to #1. Congratulations- well deserved! Situated in an old monastery in the old town each level is interesting with very cool eclectic furnishings. We ate on the third floor at a cozy table at a window looking over the street. The owner was very friendly and attentive. Based on the owner's recommendation we had the hot smoked cheese appetizer with some delicious bread and the meat platter with chicken, pork and an assortment of sausages accompanied by a nice red wine. Everything was fresh tasting and delicious. Enjoyed the decor, street view and classical music. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. The window seat seems to be the favorite spot. Please come back when I might have more time to talk about your adventures in Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Above Excellent, a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We saw the reviews and selected this resturant to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. A great choice. The owner went out of his way to be helpful and make it a great celebration.
The food is excellent. We had Quinoa Soup and Po Boys (shrimp and vegitarian). We were full after the soup and took most of the Po Boys with us. The owner is from Louisana and really knows how to make great Po Boys.
A lot of the ingredients used are grown on the owners farm and are organic, the owner laughs and says using chemicals is expensive so I grow organic.
The coffee is excelent and grown on the owners farm.
The figs and chesse as a dessert is excellent, I think the owner makes the cheese.

I was super impressed with the food and we sat on the third floor by the window. The street view was great. We lingered a long time and the owner said take your time, enjoy yourselves.

I plan to return !!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATtheEXPAT, Front Office Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We really appreciate your patronage and comments. We were so honored that you had chosen our humble "hole in the wall" for your 50th Anniversary. You are such a lovely couple and it was obvious why you have been married for 50 years. Our hats off to you and know that with our Quinoa soup...you will have another 50 years of a happy marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dios No Muere also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Dios No Muere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Dios No Muere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.