We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa Amarilla to your Saves list
La Casa Amarilla
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Selva Alegre Oe5-70 | Entre Carvajal y Antonio de San Miguel y Solier, Quito 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 169 Quito B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I found la casa amarilla online and decided to book after reading other good reviews. We wanted a nice place, more of a boutique style, and not too pricey. I've now stayed twice and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Quito.

Jenny is a star. She treats each guest like family and wants more than anything for everyone to feel at home. The house is decorated with funky art and has a beautiful garden. We had a lot of problems with our flight being cancelled and Jenny didn't mind running us back and forth to the airport, even in the middle of the night. If you are traveling alone, in a group, or as a couple, this is a great find that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montanita, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Jenny was extremely helpful and kind. She provided maps of Quito and helped us with ground transportation. Everything was clean with nice hot water and a large, new shower. Our only criticism was the firmness of the beds, as we have found, is typical in many places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Jenny was so great to us. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, Jenny made tea for my girlfriend who was sick and drove us to get chicken soup for her, she ran around in the airport to try and locate my girlfriends lost cell phone.

The house itself is nice and clean. Breakfast was basic but very good. So worth the price, can't say enough good about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Amarilla for one night before leaving Quito to return to the US. We immediately felt that we should have spent more time here. The owner is very helpful and keeps the place immaculate. Our room was great with a gorgeous, brand new shower. The breakfast in the morning was simple but delicious. The only regret for us was that we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The owner of Casa Amarilla was extremely helpful and a joy to be around. She has created a place of refuge for a traveler that makes you feel like you are at home, yet she isn't intrusive or pushy. The room we had (a double on the first floor) was large,tastefully decorated and comfortable.. The bathroom was a nice size and well appointed. They furnish shampoo,conditioner, and bath gel in a dispenser in the shower - very ecological aware. Jenny will serve you breakfast no matter how early you have to leave to catch a plane. When we arrived at the B&B around midnight, she greeted us at the door and offered us a nice cup of tea.

I will definitely stay here again when I return to Quito.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Casa Amarilla is one of the nicest guest houses I have ever stayed! Jenny makes you feel as a part of her family and she serves excellent and big breakfasts!!
She helped us with planning daytrips and further travels. If we go to Ecuador again, we definitely go back!! Loved it :-).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Casa Amarilla is a gem. Jenny, the wonderful host, wants you to feel "Like you're at home," and you do. Through Casa Amarilla you can get a friendly, safe ride to/from the airport, and once you're there, you'll sleep in a warm, comfortable room. The showers are VERY hot (which can be rare in Quito), and Jenny is a wonderful hostess. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Selva Alegre Oe5-70 | Entre Carvajal y Antonio de San Miguel y Solier, Quito 0000, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Amarilla 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Come experience an unforgettable adventure. "La Casa Amarilla," built in 1948, is one of the last buildings of Modern Quito that survived the urban modernization movement. The building conserves the history of its era, which we remember fondly in Quito, a city declared by UNESCO as the first "World Heritage Site" Conveniently located in the modern sector of Quito in a safe and peaceful residential area, La Casa Amarilla offers a perfect jumping off point to move about the city. In a ten minute car ride you can the historical center of Quito. In a 25 minute (2 km) walk, you will encounter numerous tourist attractions such as "La Zona Rosa," located in La Mariscal, the city cable car "El TeleferiQo," various community parks, and the financial and commercial districts of Quito. The Trolley and Metrobus lines are located very close to the house and several regular bus routes pass nearby taking you to any destination within the city limits. LA CASA AMARILLA: SIMPLY THE OPTION!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Amarilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.