We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST DON'T!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quito Hotel Bonanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quito Hotel Bonanza
Save
You added Quito Hotel Bonanza to your Saves list
Pampa, Calle K-7-175 | Pomosqui, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 169 Quito B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“JUST DON'T!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The 'hotel' is nothing like it's purported to be. WAY outside town! There's mold/mildew on the walls of rooms, dog poop all over the yard, the food is erratic and not what most visitors would expect. Prices for tours or visits to things in Quito area are ridiculous, better to hire a taxi! It's really just a house that's had more and more rooms added onto it. They will also push you to sign on with them for visa help...don't do it. Nora's nice, but way too busy with visa stuff for people to even breathe. Pat is.... well, 'different'...
DO NOT ADVISE GOING HERE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is way outside of town. Photos on website inaccurate.Sheets,etc fine, but some of rooms have mold issues, etc. Nora's a great lady, but husband, Pat is not so hot! DON'T use their visa/immigration services! Nora way over-loaded by client load! Pat's pie-in-the-sky schemes and bragging about 'contacts' are ridiculous. Talks a lot about he's done this, done that, CAN do this or that...have heard since staying there that he is in some trouble with government? Wants payment upfront for visa services, then more, more, more. There are others, including attorneys, who will do your visa and ask for payment WHEN YOU HAVE YOUR VISA IN YOUR HAND! Much better than paying and not getting what you paid for! Nora is nice, but over worked. and this makes things difficult. Pat messes about on computer all day. ALSO..on website says free aiport transport...NEVER have we had free airport transport with them...also charges for tours excessive. Chart in room says over $100 EACH to go to Mital which is 10 min away...taxi driver took us (all) to it for $10 total.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the hotel from May 20th until May 25th. The old airport was close; however, it is now at least a 2 hour drive and well worth the $40.00 charge. We paid $75.00 per night, which included all 3 meals. Meals were great, everything so fresh.
We spent one day at immigration with Nora and another couple who were getting their final visas. We were continuing the work we started from Las Vegas for our pensioner visas. We had to return to sell everything, but can't wait to return to Ecuador.
The only problem we had was my husband has asthma, which the thin air caused him to have two bad attacks.
The rooms do not have radios or TVs; however, you are welcome to use the one in the house. A lot of the guest brought their laptops to stream movies. Rooms were a little small but very comfortable. My husband hogged the skylight!
A taxi to the Supermax was $6.00, which was more than fair.
We didn't have the opportunity to meet Patrick as he was in the states visiting relatives. Their neighbor, Ken, was extremely helpful. If you have questions, they will gladly answer them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the wings are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Do not stay here. Do not be deceived by the American Patrick who runs this property. Stayed at his property because of the reviews. We were told we would be picked up at airport, only to be charged $20.00 before we checked out. No other place we stayed, in or around Quito ever charged for pick up in Quito, no matter what the distance was. This place, at most, was a $5.00 cab ride. It seems that we charged because his wife had the car, but why should we have to pay for services were told were included.
Property over run with dogs...although it looks nice in pictures. Upon arrival they did not have our guaranteed rooms, changed us then charged us double the next morning. The owner, Patrick took our passports, for documentation, and held them when confronted about our room charges. We were called horrible names, threatened, felt trapped unless we paid what this American what he demanded, which we did because we had to leave.
He is full of lies, although his wife, Nora, is very pleasant, and works extremely hard.
This is not a hotel but a few rooms inside their house. Nothing is remotely near their house...you are stuck there.
Please beware, you too could be played, and pay the price, mentally and emotionally, on top of financially. This experience, which was at the end of our trip, left us drained and unable to focus on the great experiences of our trip to South America, for quite sometime.

Room Tip: Nothing good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location of the hacienda is beautiful and surrounded by mountains. It's grounds and gardens are lovely and picture perfect. Patrick and Nora went beyond treating us like guest but much more like close friends. We will continue staying with them when we travel through Quito.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Quito Hotel Bonanza. It was excellent. Niora is a great cook and Patrick is a wonderful host. The place is very homey, neat and clean with great accommodations. I would highly recommend this place. We also had great tours of scenic Ecuador.

Room Tip: each room has sky lights to see the moon and stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The so called hotel is a few rooms in the main house and a few more in an adjacent wing of the main house. The house is located in an expensive residential are of Quito. No restaurants or cafes in the walking distance. In fact there is nothing in the walking distance, but the tall stone walls and gates of other houses.

I stayed, for one night, in the main house, in a room with no fresh air, or TV, or radio. The closets had no hangers, but had a thick layer of dusts. There are a few dogs running around, and in the house. You can hear absolutely everything - other guests, dogs, the owners and their son, all sharing one room across from the one I stayed in. And awful chemical smell, probably from cleaning, but then god knows.

The hotel web site quotes different prices even for the same services, at different pages. I paid $60, which included the airport pick up and delivery and meals. I stayed at that place only because they advertised help with whatever, including the visa services (which have separate charges). In my case, the $60 charge was OK, but would never stay there for another night. Nor deal with them for their so called visa help. In my case, I paid $75 for being driven to the Immigration office and submitting my visa application. This was done, however none of their promised follow up services have ever come through. So, be careful in hiring them for their so called immigration expertise

Their food was adequate, but no more. And WAY too expensive for Ecuador. (The charge for breakfast - 2 eggs, fresh bread, and coffee, and no fruit, or juice, or cheese is $5, which is way too expensive for Ecuador. Their charge of $10 each for the lunch consisting in a sandwich with macaroni salad and sweet colored drink, and .the dinner consisting in a big plate of rice with a spoon of tough beef and banana is nothing short of outrageous for Ecuador).

They offer weekly and monthly rates and mediate some tour deals with other companies. If you want to live in Ecuador with other Gringos and pay around $50 for an excursion to the colonial Quito, which is around 1.5 hrs away, in a terrible traffic, than it is your place. Otherwise, stay at some small hostel for $15-25, walk around El Centro, and eat great Ecuadorian food.

Of course, you can always take the owner (an American) up on his offer of a 25% commissions for each guest recommended by you, and thus recoup some of your expenses. I refused

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main house - impossibly noisy, no fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quito Hotel Bonanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quito Hotel Bonanza

Address: Pampa, Calle K-7-175 | Pomosqui, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quito Hotel Bonanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.