We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't leave this place...I didn't actually” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vibes Hostel

Vibes Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vibes Hostel to your Saves list
Vibes Hostel
Joaquin Pinto 132 y 6, de Diciembre | (two blocks away, from Plaza Foch ), Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't leave this place...I didn't actually”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was supposed to stay a couple of days and settled down for more than 3 weeks. The staff is friendly and helpful, my thoughts go to Simon in particular, I met a lot of great people and had lot of fun! Was a pleasure spending my time at the Vibs during my long stay i Quito.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
8
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Been here three times by now, and don´t think it´s the last time. Always helpful and friendly staff, the best guests to be living with and the atmosphere is incredible among every one. The perfect for single travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hostel was great and I met a lot of other really cool travelers here. I stayed here for 3 nights and the noise of the Foch didn't disturb my sleep. One should expect a little noise if staying in 6-8 person dorm but there definitely were not any drunk and rowdy people stomping around at wee hours of the morning.
The owner Santiago is really helpful with advice on how to get to various attractions around Quito. The hostel is conveniently located to the red bus line which can get you directly to Old Town and make for an easy transfer to the blue line which runs north of Quito to attractions such as Mitad del Mundo.

Overall this hostel is worth it if you are flexible individual and like to meet new and interesting people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Vibes for 5 nights and it was one of the most sociable hostels we have stayed at. The bar and common room was always buzzing with frequent pool and table football games. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was always somebody around if you had a question. The breakfast was good and the showers were nice and hot.
The main downside was it was very noisy! Especially because we were in the 8 person dorm next to the front door so we heard all the noise as people came in at 3.30am! Plus, some of the staff would make a fair amount of noise in the morning around 7am. Definitely not the hostel for you if you want a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the dorms at the from door, very noisy! Upstairs is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

nice comfortable hostel,located in mariscal tourist district.

great staff ,free breakfast ,very comfortable beds! good kitchen
nice bar downstairs although beers are expensive compared to many bars in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I´m really not sure where some of the people reviewing this place have stayed. My 2 weeks at Vibes was two of the best I´ve spent in one place!

Firstly Santi the owner is one of the most helpful and friendly people I´ve ever come across, always willing to pick you up or drop you off at the airport, spent half the day driving me round Quito looking at buses for Lima, and takes everyone to town when we want to leave the bar at night! Basically you can count on him to look after you. The rest of the staff, bartenders and reception, are equally helpful and always up for a good time. The location is great, a few doors down from a bus stop, right on the edge of plaza foch with everything you would need right there. The whole place is clean and well maintained with hot showers. The kitchen is great and well equiped and the lounge is perfect for those days where all you want is to sit comfortably and watch one of the MANY films on offer. The dorms are also comfortable and clean, the sheets being changed every other day it seemed! Breakfast is good with fuit and toast, tea coffee and juice. All you need.

Basically as long as you are looking to meet a bunch of great people, and have a good time, whilst experiencing what Quito has to offer - you will love it, and Santi will no doubt help you make the most out of your time there. It books up fast so get in there while you can, you won´t regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We read reviews on hostel world website before going here and that was a huge mistake. The reviews are clearly written by staff or owners. The hostel was a house that they have stuck bits of plywood up to make new rooms. There are terrible outside bathrooms and no hot water EVER. The noise in the hostel of people and doorbells and the fact that you can hear every little noise even in the next room is just nuts. We are staying in Quito 4 nights, but woke up from our very uncomfortable beds and got the hell out of there.

There are much nicer hostels for the same price. Try elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibes Hostel

Address: Joaquin Pinto 132 y 6, de Diciembre | (two blocks away, from Plaza Foch ), Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vibes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.