We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be much better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Y Vino

Tapas Y Vino
Foch Plaza, Quito, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Ranked #470 of 580 Restaurants in Quito
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It used to be much better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been here for the first time in 2007 and by then it was really great. They had a lot of different tapas, good wines and the service was very personal. Last time I have been here was in June this year and the quality of the tapas was just terrible. The papas bravas were cold, the meat was terrible and there was no variety. And not to mention de quality of the wine, they used to have great wines but now they just give you the cheapest wine there is. Unfortunately now it is terribly overpriced for the quality of the food/ wine you get. I will never go back again...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place for wine lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

great place for wine lovers, the food is a selection of Spanish tapas with all kinds of Ecuadorian ingredients

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The wines were ok, but the food was not that good. We to sat around waiting for the food and wine, Sometimes we were given the wrong wine *cheaper than we padi fo*, the worst was when we were told we where there long enough and that there was a maximum time we could sit there and consume... we had been serve maybe 5 dishes and a couple of glasses of wine, So a nut shell it was an interesting idea of tapas and wine, but not worth the wait or the cost. Its located in the most busiest corner of the Mariscal section, lots of people and bars to choose from.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
“dont go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were there on the 13.9. The tapas are awful, included french fries, meat that could not be chewed and bad quality shrimps (had gum-like texture). And the desert (ball of ice-cream) isn't included. In total they had 10 dishes and bread. The wine selection was ok and they kept filing our glasses. All in all, not worth the money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

interesting idea, pay between $20-40 per person.(depending on the type of wine you choose) and eat as many tapas and drink as much wine as you want.
we were here twice, the first time it was great, the waiter kept bringing platters of tapas , filling our wine glasses and the service was very attentive. not the best tapas but decent. we felt like for the amount of food and wine we'd been served it was a good deal. our group had a great evening, we sat outside facing foch plaza and the meal, wine, service, company and people watching made for a nice memory.
when i returned to quito a few weeks later with other friends i recommended we head to tapas y vina and told everyone we'd have a great evening. however it was a different story this time, our waiter was awful, he was constantly disappearing. we sat around with empty plates for ages, our wine glasses empty for 10 minutes at a time and the whole experience was a drag. this time considering the amount of food and wine we'd received it felt like a bit of a rip off.
in conclusion this place is only as good as the waiter you get .
good waiter=lots of food and wine. bad waiter=not enough food or wine.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Y Vino also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Tapas Y Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Y Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.