We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't know Quito this is a good place to start!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Tambuca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Tambuca to your Saves list
Posada Tambuca
Luis Cordero E2-19 y Ulpiano Paez, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Lima, Peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you don't know Quito this is a good place to start!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were warmly received at 5:30 a.m. after an overnight bus trip. We enjoyed coffee and a snack while our room was prepared. We slept and went back for a great breakfast. When we asked if we could hire a car to see Otavalo and Cotacachi Yolanda got Carlitos to take us north for the day. It was a great trip with a personable guide and fabulous food in Cotacachi. The bed was the most comfortable of our trip with new linens (and the towels were new too.)We had a hard time getting up each morning. The shared bathroom was kept clean all day.The house is near great transportation; the city bus tour, and the commuter train line. There are lots of small restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    35
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
55
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We found this place on trip advisor and as we drove by taxi into a sketchy seeming neighborhood in the dreary late afternoon drizzle i wondered if we had made a mistake. NO mistake...this place was first rate. It is a hostel type hotel with a large shared bathroom, excellent hot water, nice big rooms, extremely comfortable beds (best in the last two weeks of hotels), and among the very nicest proprietors we have encountered in decades of travel. there is an ample kitchen for your own cooking if you want it, and a decent living room area with informative books and maps, excellent internet and it is very very quiet esp. for being so close to the nightlife of the Mariscal district. But do take a cab if you come in late.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The owners, Yolanda and Carlos, went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed every moment of our stay in Quito. They were helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to eat. The facilities are very clean and our room was comfortable. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

In January 2014, I returned alone for business and there was nowhere else I would stay besides Posada Tambuca. The location is perfect and Yolanda, Carlos and Carlitos took great care of me, especially when I got sick. Yolanda nursed me back to health. I don't think there's anything they wouldn't do to make my stay any more comfortable than it was. Breakfast is something to wake up to; you get to meet whoever came in the night before and get to know the people who are staying over the freshest eggs, coffee and juice you can imagine. Fresh squeezed juice like you have never tasted. Hammocks outside give you a place to relax under the brilliant sky of Quito and being in a compound makes you feel like you're in an oasis. No matter what time, day or night, you will be taken care of until Yolanda is satisfied. In fact, since I've stayed there for a combined total of 16 nights so far, she's essentially my Ecuadorian mom. My daughter and I are returning in August and can't wait to see them all again. If you're visiting Quito to experience Quito, do yourself a favor and stay at Posada Tambuca; you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Yolanda will take great care in choosing the best room that will suit your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We ( my brother and I) stayed a total of 4 nights in february 2013.
Carlos sr, picked us up at the airport. We were welcomed by Yolanda and we felt at home immediately. The whole family is so nice and helpfull. Carlos brought us back to the airport a few days later, very early in the morning to catch our plane to the Galapagos.
The house is old and therefore a little noisy. Especially in the front room. But the place is so nice that we took that for what is was.
Breakfast was great.
When we came back after 3 weeks, it felt like coming home. We had a lot of contact with Carlos sr, despite the fact that we know hardly 20 words in Spanish and the same for Carlos in English. But communication has never been an issue. Yolanda is like a mother, she is so helpfull.
Posada is well situated, an only a few blocks from Mariscal and from some very nice local restaurants.
Highly recommandated.
Thanks for all Yolanda and Carlos. One year later we did not forget about you and we hope coming back one day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I arrived to quito at some crazy hour of the morning and the owners son met me at the airport which was really nice and comforting. Although there was nothing wrong with this place, it really lacked any atmosphere or vibe. There are no common areas where you can relax and chat with others about their travel or things to do except the breakfast. Which if you are placed in the front room... Sounds like breakfast is in your room!! If you're looking for just a very simple bed and bit much more than this could be good. Be aware.... This place has shared bathrooms!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our South America adventure. We arrived late at night but Yolanda quickly answered the gate and showed us to our rooms, gave us drinking water and made sure we were comfortable. Her and her husband Carlos were amazing to us. We speak zero Spanish but you still feel like you're able to communicate.

The complimentary breakfast is good -- eggs, fresh juice, coffee, tea, croissants, fruit, and the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Because there are so few rooms, sharing a bathroom was not a big deal (and I typically prefer private ones). They were clean with hot showers (2 showers and 2 toilet stalls). The wifi is very good.

They went above and beyond to help us -- Carlos took us to Mitad del Mundo for a reasonable price and later went to the bus station by himself to buy our night tickets to Coca so we were good to go. Even though our bus was late in the night after we were supposed to check out, they let us stay in our room at no extra charge all day and gave us fresh towels. They let us use their phones and helped us call Spanish travel agencies to arrange our next trips. Carlos drove us to the bus station and waited with us until we were able to board.

This is the kind of business I love supporting. Thank you Yolanda and Carlos and family for such an amazing welcome to Ecuador!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Tambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Tambuca

Address: Luis Cordero E2-19 y Ulpiano Paez, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Tambuca wants to invite you to visit Quito city and to stay in our strategic and special place. Our team is looking forward to meet you and assist you, so your visit can be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Tambuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Tambuca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.