We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Helbling

Casa Helbling
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Helbling
Save
You added Casa Helbling to your Saves list
General Veintimilla E8-152 y 6 de Diciembre, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 154 Quito B&B and Inns
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Not an easy place to find as there is no big sign but once that you find it you will feel right at home. They opened the cafeteria for us at midnight to warm us up with hot cocoa and a big smile. Overall a cozy place, very clean, and no annoying tvs. Free internet access, and the sheets really pleased us as they were lint free. Wooden floors over all are not squeaky, but the stairs are, specially if you step on them as a mad Germain :). Breakfast is not included but continental is only $3.50. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

By far the best value we had in Quito, you should book early if you would like to stay here, as it's likely that all of their better rooms will be booked up. They offer reasonably-priced rooms with or without private baths, as well as shared dormitories. The showers are warm and relatively clean, and the bed is comfy enough. I did not find breakfast to be a good value ($5 will buy more food outside the hostel), but everything else is a boon to the budget, and given Helbling's proximity to New Town, there's plenty of places to eat. The other guests vary in age, but tend to be older, some with families, which lends a polite, quiet atmosphere to the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Casa Helbling won us over for several reasons, the top being the owner's personality & helpfulness. Claus & Jessie speak fluent English & German were full of great recommendations for food accommodations as well as places to visit equipping us w/ a map & easy to follow walking directions. Claus even hunted down a vegetarian restaurant that was only blocks away & turned out to be our best meal in Quito. Claus's laugh is infectious & larger then life:[).
Conveniently located, large facility w/ lots of balconies & a well stocked kitchen. Breakfast was great & the rooms are large & comfortable. Internet access & two rooms that were stocked w/ books & maps.
When we arrived the airport transport was waiting as promised. Our room was always clean & we felt comfortable sleeping in the sheets (which we cannot say about other hostels we have stayed in), & the water was hot.
The floors were a little squeaky but hardly noticeable & w/ the great location the time we spent was right outside of the hostel at the market or enjoying great restaurants.
There is a enclosed seating area in front that allows smoking; however, we did not find it smelled inside the hostel or that the area confined the smoke. Being non smokers & sensitive to the smell we did not believe it was obtrusive or took away from our great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We've been traveling around South America for 9 months and Casa Helbling is the best place we've stayed at. It's slightly more expensive than other hotels in the Mariscal but the difference is in all the details and the service. The staff is helpful, kind and friendly, the rooms clean and the beds give you a wonderful night's sleep. It's also right outside the noise of the Mariscal so its nice and quiet. They're guest kitchen is also one of the best equipped that we've found in our travels. We loved this place so much that we in total have stayed there over 15 days! Go to Casa Helbling, you won't be dissapointed! It's the closest you'll come to a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010 via mobile

This hostel is well located near Mariscal but not right in it so it is quiet for when you want to sleep. The rooms are big and clean and the little touches like bedside lights and plenty of hooks and storage spaces are brilliant. The staff are all great, especially Claus, the water is always hot, and there are loads of places to hang out. It really is a brilliant place to stay if you're ever in Quito.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I came to Quito to study Spanish and my two week stay at Casa Helbling turned into a month. The location across from one of Quito's best language schools was perfect. About a 1km walk to the Mariscal entertainment area and close to public transport facilities getting around is a breeze.
The ambience of the hostel is extremely friendly and relaxed with lots of opportunity to socialise on one of the many patios or in the common areas throughout the hostel. The dining room has a blazing fire when the mercury drops and is a great place to catch up on email or have a drink.
Facilities are squeaky clean. Shared bathrooms are large and hot water is always available at reasonable flow rates (something of a rarity in Quito from what I understand).
The kitchen is large and well stocked with utensils as well as condiments.
Rooms are many and varied . Beds are firm and the decor is bright.
The owner, Claus, a long time resident of Ecuador, is knowledgeable about the country and can help in planning your trip. On top of that he's an extremely sociable character with a treasure trove of stories to entertain his guests.
All in all Casa Helbling was a great find that greatly enhanced my enjoyment of Quito. In terms of overall value this is one home away from home that is hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We booked this hotel by internet before leaving home. The owners, Klaus and Jessie are lovely people; very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is a huge old villa with lots of character. It's a maze of rooms and passages with lots of separate spaces and outdoor balconies and decks where you can sit.
There is a kitchen which is very small and for me, was inadequate. It always felt dirty and was poorly equipped. There is a laundry available.
Wooden floors make it noisey at night if people are moving around.
The biggest negative for me (and the reason why I moved after just one day) is that the smoking area is just inside the front door. It is enclosed and not open to the air. You have to walk through a maze of cigarette smoke to get into the building and somehow the smoke permeates all areas. You could smell smoke in the stairwells etc. Even the outdoor areas had ashtrays everwhere. Yukky for people who don't smoke.
Wireless internet is free but does not work in your room. You need to go to the room by reception.....right beside the smoking area.
This hotel is in the new town area of Mariscal. Klaus and Jessie advised us that after dark we should take taxis everywhere and not walk.
This was another reason we moved.....to the Old Town where it is quite safe to walk around up to 10pm at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Helbling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Helbling

Address: General Veintimilla E8-152 y 6 de Diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Helbling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.