We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel manager is amazing, waited with me in hospital while i had food poisoning.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flores

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Flores to your Saves list
Hotel Flores
Flores N3-51 y Sucre, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 155 Quito B&B and Inns
Manhattan, NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel manager is amazing, waited with me in hospital while i had food poisoning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I don't get why someone would complain about being robbed at the hotel, welcome to Ecuador. Of course its not safe outside, neither are any of the other hotels. In fact i myself was robbed right outside of one of the top notch hotels in Quito.
That debate aside, the manager of the hotel was amazing. He literally took care of my while i had food poisoning, He went to the hospital and stood by me and made sure the doctors did their job. (in ecuador, even the doctors need to be babysat to make sure they are doing the right thing). Great guy and great doorman. Rule to travel in Ecuador. If you can't bear to part with it, strap it to your leg or shove it in your shoe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
1
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Hotel Flores is a fine, clean hotel but is has an obvious mistake - the staff does not know that you cannot steal peoples stuff! When we were checking out we discovered that someone of the personale had searched throgh out room (not cleaning) and then repacked it all. We imedeately discovered that it was the personale who stole the things, which the owner purely refused. We had clothes stolen, but it could be your camera the next time! It could only have been them, since they had the only other key and that was not in the reception for others to take. The police told us it had happened in this place before two times. Also, some one tried to mugg us just off the entrance of the hotel, therefore, generally, NOT A SAFE PLACE!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Had been recommended by a hostel in Latacunga -- that otherwise gave great recs -- and so I made a reservation the day before. Arrived in evening with scant time to meet up with friends or I likely would have changed lodgings immediately. Checked multiple rooms to find one that was somewhat clean. One after the other had hair and even jewelry (!) in the showers, dirty toilets (even unflushed), muddy floors, stained linen and bedspreads, etc.

The fellow working in the evening was very kind and tried to find me a decent room, and got me a roll of toilet paper (paper is usually rationed and they leave a small folded pile of paper on your towel in the room). The next morning, the man at the desk was surly about my leaving as I had planned to stay four nights. and when I tried to explain why -- given the fellow the night before had been so helpful and sympathetic -- he yelled, saying the hotel was for poor people (as if poor folks don't deserve a clean room!) and slammed the door in my face. There had only been one other occupied room, so I suspect the word is getting around.

This isn't even "a bargain" as there are other hostels and hotels that cost less in other parts of the city, or you can move two blocks down the road to Quito Cultural which costs $5 more but provides breakfast and is clean, attractive, comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I found the Hotel Flores in the Lonely Planet Ecuador guidebook. Compared to other places in the historic downtown area, it was the cheapest bet. Our room was fine - cable TV, hot shower, towels, the usual. If you are looking for a cheap night in Quito, with easy access to La Ronda, then this is a great place to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flores

Address: Flores N3-51 y Sucre, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.