We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Ecuadorean food from the coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Nuestro

Lo Nuestro
Av. Isabela La Catolica | y Luis Cordero, Quito, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 577 Restaurants in Quito
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good authentic Ecuadorean food from the coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Whenever in Quito I come here for empanadas de verde, ceviche, langostinos and other delicacies.
Some reviewers say this is not "haute cuisine". I say, dishes may not come decorated with orchids and in tiny portions, but you can't get more authentic flavor than this. Service was quite good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
“Nothing special - Lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Easter is Fanesca time in Ecuador. Fanesca is the traditional meal, a soup with a variety of beans. Fanesca can be really awesome, but also a disaster, so we picked a more upscale restaurant to get our yearly fanesca.
Lo Nuestro is a restaurant that serves traditional ecuadorean food and can be find in an areat with a lot of more sophisticated restaurants just behind the WTC.
Unfortunately Lo Nuestro was a bad choice. The fanesca was nothing special, thick and overcooked. It had red kidney beans to my surprise and that spoiled the taste.
Service was lousy as well. My wife ordered the Fanesca without the bacalao (salt cod), but still found pieces of it in her dish, waiters were more busy with themselves than with their customers, so there was a lot of waiving going on. When we expressed our concerns, the only reaction was silence, where as a sorry would have been appropiate.
Considering the upscale prices they charge, I expected something better.
Oh, before I forgot. Getting a little windy is normal after eating Fanesca, but this time I had to visit the bathroom a lot of times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Good option for a local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had a business diner in this restaurant. Good food, good service, excellent decor and location (in a charming neighborhood).

Although good, food is not exceptional (it is not what one can call "haute cusine"), but I highly recomend this place if you want something local that you will hardly find elswhere in the world, but in Ecuador.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A quiet and pleasant place for Ecuadoran cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good menu with reasonably well-prepared and affordable food. Friendly and helpful service. A little communication problem (ours, really) so we didn't all get what we thought we had ordered. However, no problema!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Pricey, you can get better Ecuadorian food for much less money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overpriced in general. Food is tasty but I can buy same food for much less money anywhere in Ecuador, won't go back there.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Nuestro also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Lo Nuestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Nuestro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.